We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can't stop going here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shahi Palace

Shahi Palace
2527 S Shirley Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57106-4324
605-361-5050
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 328 Restaurants in Sioux Falls
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“can't stop going here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This strip mall restaurant has surprisingly great food and a casual but elegant atmosphere with brass kettles, white tablecloths and red napkins. And it is very reasonably priced for the quality. Have now been here 3 times - it's my favorite place for lunch whenever I can get there. I thoroughly enjoy the lunch buffet- curry chicken, creamy vegetable korma, basmati rice, crispy tender fish pakora, spicy green chili with homemade cheese, dahl, naan bread, mint and tamarind chutney. Everything tastes so good together. All entrees are gluten free and they have a halal meat certificate.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    18
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mankato, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Totally yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We recently ate here while staying at a nearby hotel, the food was wonderful and reasonably priced. Being from Minnesota, we all opted for the 'mild' spice and found it plenty tame for our northern palettes. The cracker bread they brought out 'complimentary' was a bit hot for us, but the waiter took note and kept our water glasses full! All of our entrees were very tasty, no problem to ask for more rice. We had the plain naan, and shared a carrot dessert.

I only wish we lived closer so it could be my new favorite restaurant!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Actually spicy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The food was great. When we got spicy it was actually spicy. The place looked pretty. Wait staff was ok needed to be more attentive.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“This is why you go "out" to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Tonight's dinner was the 7th time I've eaten at Shahi Palace...and the first time with people who have had experience with real (Punjab and Nepalese food).

The flavor, the service, the quality of all the food is consistently awesome and to hear others (first timers) absolutely RAVE is unusual. I mean...when was the last time you went out to dinner and everyone at the table carried on about how great the meal was (for more than 30 seconds)?

We got to meet the owner...and our server was pretty cool about teaching us Indian words for "Thank you" and "This is good!".

However, for the upper-midwesterner, try the sampler appetizer and start with the Chicken Tandoori. On the next trip, try Curry "mild" and work your way up; but recognize that "hot" with Indian cuisine is nothing like "hot" with Mexican or even Thai food...it's a different 'feeling' altogether. In fact, I think Indian "hot" is a lot easier to take than the raw chili-power of Mexican or Thai.

Anyway, the quality, uniqueness and fresh experience is why we go out to eat in the first place (why replicate what you can at home better and cheaper?) The servers answer questions well and the food is of the variety that one can easily see this place replacing American-style comfort-food (steak, burgers, pizza) altogether.

Go with a group and share food, too.

However, for an end-cap at a strip mall, don't expect the accoutrement of fine-dining. It's nice, but it kinda feels like a local Chinese restaurant - sparse, open dining area...but that's not the point. The food is why you go here and it will not disappoint.

AND, for those who are a little freaked out about anything outside of the norm...the place is clean, the food was well done, served professionally...I'd worry more about a Mall food court than Shahi Palace and I got the vibe the owner was especially sensitive about presenting his best-self to the the normally conservative and reluctant Scandinavian-Germans around here... ;)

Totally recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The food is so good and flavorful! I love Indian food, but am not great with super spicy foods, and they are able to accommodate all levels of spice for most dishes. We went for dinner with friends and ended up eating 'family style' to try all the great dishes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shahi Palace also viewed

 

Been to Shahi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shahi Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.