We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Place in Sioux Falls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shahi Palace

Shahi Palace
2527 S Shirley Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57106-4324
605-361-5050
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 332 Restaurants in Sioux Falls
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Favorite Place in Sioux Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Never had Indian food? Try the lunch time buffet, great way to explore. Service is as good as the food, not once have we not had an amazing meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    19
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pierre, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice introduction to Indian cusine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife and I have not had any real experience with Indian food but ate here based on reviews. We went for lunch and the noon buffet gave us an opportunity to sample different Indian dishes. This is not your typical assembly line buffet. It offers a small variety of items with excellent presentation. Our server explained the dishes to us and was very attentive during our meal. The small dining room, table settings, and decor give you a feel of fine dining. Based on our lunch experience, the Shahi should be an excellent dinner choice.
Don't let the strip mall location put you off. The Shahi Palace has a very nice interior, is clean, and has excellent staff. The Masala Chai tea was a nice new experience. We enjoyed our visit very much.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Recommended by a friend, my SO and I checked this place out last month. WOW! We had no idea! We went during lunch and ordered the buffet- aboslutely wonderful. First things first, the interior is gorgeous- white tablecloths, wine glasses, etc. However, our buffet was only 7 or 8 bucks. Every single thing we tried was better than the last- you must try the different sauces at the end, too! We will definitely be returning and highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“We would like to ammend our previous review...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

After eating the buffet lunch at Shahi Palace several days ago, we can no longer recommend it as one of "the city's best restaurants," as we did in an earlier review. It certainly does NOT deserve the high #8 ranking.

In previous dining found the food very appealing here. But on our last visit we found this: curry chicken without any curry taste with bits of torn chicken "scraps," pale Tandoori chicken that looked like it came from a takeout chicken deli and tasted like it had been recycled for a week on the buffet, and a number of bland vegetable dishes. The "highlight" of the meal was the Naan--like saying bread was the highlight of a meal at Perkins!

Not sure what's going on here but we suspect the restaurant is trying to squeeze costs and are instead ruining their food. The quality of the chicken is an indicator--it's hard to tell what kind of bird it really was!

Until Shahi Palace improves dramatically, we will not be back, and rescind our previous favorable review. We sincerely hope they make improvements to their food because this used to be one of our favorite restaurants in Sioux Falls.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“My favorite Indian Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This little Indian restaurant is serves the best Indian food I have had. The service is great too. You won't regret going there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shahi Palace also viewed

 

Been to Shahi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shahi Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.