We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shahi Palace

Shahi Palace
2527 S Shirley Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57106-4324
605-361-5050
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 332 Restaurants in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Deadwood, South Dakota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was my first time eating at Shahi Palace and it was wonderful. We had the lunch buffet, which was a nice variety of chicken and vegetable dishes all nicely presented. There wasn't a single thing that I didn't like, which is unusual, because I can be picky. Very friendly service too. I'll be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    19
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duncanville
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“An enjoyable Indian meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

As a couple who enjoy Indian food we were agreeably surprised to find this restaurant in Sioux Falls. The atmosphere is comfortable, the menu offered a wide range of choices in appetizers, entrees and breads typical of all the Indian restaurants we have enjoyed. The service was good without being intrusive. I had the tandoori fish tikka and my wife the chicken tikka masala along with paneer kulcha bread. Both our meals were good and enjoyable but not exceptional. The price was reasonable and if you enjoy Indian food this Shahi will not disappoint.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Reasonable Indian food in a very pleasant atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Shah Palace is a very reasonable choice for Indian food when in Sioux Falls. The atmosphere is very pleasant and I love the cricket match playing on the large screen tv's. The service was also very attentive, prompt and friendly. The food is reasonably priced but falls a bit short in quality. The best part of the meal was the appetizer, we choose the Shahi combination. The somosas were well presented and the variety was wonderful. The fried selections were not greasy at all. The shrimp vindaloo was quite spicy, but the sauce was otherwise somewhat boring. The shrimp was not fresh, it had been frozen. That is to be expected in an area far from the water. Much better was the chicken tikkha masala. The chicken was very tender and the sauce was really flavorful. We chose the paneer kulcha, this bread was wonderful. The cheese was delicious, the bread was moist and not overly baked. The rice was not good. It was burnt, dried out in chunks, and frankly disappointing. We didn't have dessert.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food. A real find in Sioux Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The food was great. The staff is very nice. They were even patient with my (slightly loud) two year old. It is a little too expensive to go all the time - but the prices are on-par with other Indian restaurants. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“We mopped up all the sauce with our delicious naan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Everything was first class, but very reasonably priced. Among our best Indian meals ever. The complimentary papudum was great. The naan was soft and springy and charred just right. The entree was delicious. The decor is modern and tastefully done. We loved the cricket match on the t.v. - a little extra Indian ambiance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shahi Palace also viewed

 

Been to Shahi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shahi Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.