We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lam's Vietnamese Restaurant

Lam's Vietnamese Restaurant
1600 E. Rice St., 901 E 62nd St., Sioux Falls, SD 57103
605-274-9898
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 325 restaurants in Sioux Falls
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
“Fresh and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I am a repeat diner at Lam's, mainly, because the food is delicious. But, also, the service there is always very prompt, the restaurant is clean, and the ambiance of the restaurant is pleasant. I am always puzzled why there is not more people dining there--probably because of the location. But, it is well worth the trip! The menu is not HUGE--but that is appreciated. The shorter list of options makes it so time and thought are put into each option on the menu. You really cannot go wrong. I personally love the seasonal themed rice noodle bowls.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    22
    11
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I've been traveling to the Sioux Falls area for a while, and we recently found Lam's. Our group all had Pho, and everybody LOVED it. The dining area is newly remodeled and the service was excellent. We will be back, over and over and over again. Most of us had a large bowl with extra noodles, and not one of us could finish.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Eat here 'Pho' sure!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch on a whim, looking for some food diversity. The exterior looks like it used to be a church, but the inside was cute and very friendly. The service was great and very nice. I ordered the Spicey Pho and it was delicious! There was heat, but not overpoweringly so. My beau had the Lam Special and he liked it all right, but I don't think he would order it again. The portions are huge and very well priced! I had to take half of my soup home with me.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice to Have Unique Choices in Sioux Falls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Been a supporter of this place since it opened it doors-the food is fresh tasting, appears to be healthy, is plentiful and well prepared. The menu selection is large and having this option in a city loaded with chain restaurants is appreciated.
We especially like the summer bowl menu option and spring rolls. What we have noticed over time, is the decline in service. During busy lunch and dinner service only two staff are on the floor and guests are constantly getting up to refill their own beverages. No one any longer comes to confirm that the food is properly prepared either. The atmosphere is bland, except for the salmon painted wall and the location is curious. If it's good food and vegetarian and gluten free choices you're craving, I'd recommend you try this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RV'n full-time
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really excellent Vietnamese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have recently developed an appreciation for Vietnamese food, thanks to Pho restaurant in our former hometown of Santa Clarita, CA. My wife found Lam's when we were passing through Sioux Falls (we're now South Dakota residents, although we RV full-time), and I'm really glad she did.

Down the street from the Morrell meat packing plant, Lam's is a clean, airy place. Our waitress was friendly, helpful and always available.

We shared the combination fried rice and beef stir-fried noodle, and they were both absolutely delicious. Fresh ingredients, well-prepared and cooked to perfection, neither greasy nor dry.... yummy!

The menu is comprehensive, and there were many selections we would like to have tried.

One of the nice parts of RV-ing full-time is always being able to try new restaurants and foods.... and one of the not-so-nice parts is having to move on and not being able to eat at the excellent places we find.... sort of a trade-off.

This is an excellent restaurant, and is on our list for our next trip through Sioux Falls.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lam's Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lam's Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lam's Vietnamese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.