We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really excellent Vietnamese food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lam's Vietnamese Restaurant

Lam's Vietnamese Restaurant
1600 E. Rice St., 901 E 62nd St., Sioux Falls, SD 57103
605-274-9898
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 324 restaurants in Sioux Falls
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
RV'n full-time
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really excellent Vietnamese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have recently developed an appreciation for Vietnamese food, thanks to Pho restaurant in our former hometown of Santa Clarita, CA. My wife found Lam's when we were passing through Sioux Falls (we're now South Dakota residents, although we RV full-time), and I'm really glad she did.

Down the street from the Morrell meat packing plant, Lam's is a clean, airy place. Our waitress was friendly, helpful and always available.

We shared the combination fried rice and beef stir-fried noodle, and they were both absolutely delicious. Fresh ingredients, well-prepared and cooked to perfection, neither greasy nor dry.... yummy!

The menu is comprehensive, and there were many selections we would like to have tried.

One of the nice parts of RV-ing full-time is always being able to try new restaurants and foods.... and one of the not-so-nice parts is having to move on and not being able to eat at the excellent places we find.... sort of a trade-off.

This is an excellent restaurant, and is on our list for our next trip through Sioux Falls.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    24
    12
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good, but nothing Spectacular”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The food was good and authentic, but I wouldn't call the food amazing. The hardest part was communicating with the waiters. This is not their fault, but most of the waiters speak barely any English, so it was hard to communicate our needs. The restaurant building itself was small and not special. Overall it was average.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of a few authentic Vietnamese restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised when my colleague took me to this new restaurant. Vietnamese iced coffee was much like Thai iced coffee that I was long craving for, and it really satisfied my craving. The main dish had many toppings and it was fulfilling. Would come back when in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“I Can't Wait to Return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We drive through Sioux Falls every year en route to Black Hills and Wyoming parks: sometimes stopping, sometimes not. Boy! From now on we will be sure to stop and time our meals just so we can eat at Lam's. It was the best meal of our entire vacation.

We had the summer bowl (noodles, fresh veggies and salad, pork, and shrimp), a bun boa (steamed bun stuffed with pork and egg), fresh spring rolls and a vegetarian bowl. Next time I want to try the pho (it was too hot outside tonight). Everything was great! The place is immaculately clean, the staff is friendly, the prices are reasonable and the food is healthy and delicious. I live in a much larger city than Sioux Falls, with ready access to lots of Asian cuisines including Vietnamese, but this was truly the best I'd ever had.

If your idea of a great meal is Applebee's or Cracker Barrel, you may not like this. But if you like trying new things, or if you're an old hand at Vietnamese food, try this. I bet you'll be happy. I just wish I was staying two nights so I could go back tomorrow.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“If I lived here, I would be a regular.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are visiting Sioux Falls for the first time this weekend. We looked up Trip Advisor restaurants and this was ranked very high. It was delicious and the people who work at Lam's are very friendly. We were very satisfied with our choice. I had the Spicy Caramelized Chicken and rice. Hubby has Spicy Shimp and Chicken with flat noodles. We ordered Shrimp and Pork Spring Rolls for an appetizer. I didn't have anything I didn't love. Definitely a place to go!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lam's Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lam's Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lam's Vietnamese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.