We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique taste” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khorasan Kabob House

Khorasan Kabob House
2412 West 41st Street, (Across From Best Buy), Sioux Falls, SD 57105
+1 605-338-0175
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 305 Restaurants in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Afghani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Khorasan Kabob House offers authentic Afghan Cuisine and fine handmade carpets. If you don't know Afghan cooking, you may find it somewhat similar to Indian. Kabobs are just a start--we offer a full menu of delectable middle-Eastern dishes. Most of them can be spiced to your personal taste.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unique taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I've had food from here awhile back and all I can remember was how good the food was and how tender and juicy it tasted. Absolutely delicious.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    21
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Afghan food....in Sioux Falls? Who knew:”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

As a vegetarian, there are some parts of the country where it gets a little tricky to find a restaurant with more than one vegetarian entree (besides salad). And, since vegetables taste better with great herbs and spices, that makes it even trickier. But, on urbanspoon I found recommendations for this little hole in the wall place that got really good reviews by the overwhelming majority of folks who ate there, and since I would be spending a week in a really small town in Minnesota with very limited choices for me, I looked forward to one final good meal for a few days. I was not disappointed. You almost miss the place (the sign is small and overshadowed by a computer store sign) but it is warm and cozy inside. They even plugged in the electric fireplace for me to help me thaw out a bit. The tea is wonderful (black chai with orange and cinnamon I think- I couldn't get a straight answer on the name brand so i think they mix it themselves) and the mung bean appetizer with rito (flatbread) bread was great ( definitely have it with the green chutney- adds a really nice punch but not one that will knock you out. I had the multiple vegetable dish entree with rito (rice would have been equally as nice) and it was delicious! The seasonings had melded well with each other and the veggies and it was really good on the flatbread. The baklava was served warm and was delectable. I must say it was a very tasty and satisfying meal to leave the 'big city' on as I headed to rural America for the week! (they have no alcohol and several of the dishes are halal- fyi)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Okay place - Only Afghan Place in Town?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Tried the Khorasan Chicken, fried and with bone. It was an alright dish, though I was expecting more. Excellent rice with almonds. The chutney was excellent. This was a take out order. I took a peek in the restaurant, a hole-in-the-wall kind of place, would have loved to sit & eat.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by someone we met at a rest stop about 100 miles outside of Sioux Falls. Fortunately we found it easily since it was close to the hotel. We did take out and the service and food was outstanding!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by it's cover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a delicious restaurant; a hidden gem. The exterior may look a little rough, but inside it is very charming and nicely decorated. The food was great. It is nice that you get to choose your own spice levels. Hopefully people continue to eat here so it sticks around!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khorasan Kabob House also viewed

 

Been to Khorasan Kabob House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khorasan Kabob House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.