We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUST do for families!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sertoma Butterfly House

Sertoma Butterfly House
4320 South Oxbow Avenue, Sioux Falls, SD 57106
605-334-9466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 29 Attractions in Sioux Falls
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Fosston, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“MUST do for families!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is the perfect place to bring young kids! Fun and educational... The butterfly house was a great experience and the marine center was awesome too! The kids had so much fun touching the sea creatures. We spent several hours here starting our visit at the adjacent park and then capping our time at the butterfly house in the reading room (another wonderful surprise).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    58
    17
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Little Pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I agree with other reviewers that the butterfly house is a little expensive considering what you get. Go to the zoo first in town, as it is a great place for the family for many hours of fun. Do not go to the butterfly house during peak weekend hours, as it is super packed and a little overwhelming with screaming kids. Best to go first thing in the morning on weekends or on the weekday. It has a small aquarium, moderately sized butterfly enclosure and some stingray's to touch in a pool. Kids like it. It only takes about a 30 minutes to go through the whole area. There is a little kids play area. It is a little odd you enter through the gift shop and leave through the gift shop. Definitely trying to the get kids to latch onto some gifts. The zoo is the same price or cheaper and way, way, way better experience.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Worth the Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

There is always an educated butterfly expert present to explain the evolution of the butterfly, what part of the world they come from and interesting facts on butterflies. This is a fun place for me to practice my photography...there are beautiful flowers, small waterfall, etc

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A little pricey for what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I can't remember for sure but I think it was around $20 for the 2 of us. You go into the Aquarium room. They have some totes where you can feel the different textures of Starfish. Then a small pool with some Stingrays you can touch them too if they get close enough or you have long arms.
Also A small saltwater tank with a viewing bubble you have to basically crawl into,must be built mostly for kids. And another saltwater tank along a wall like the one in my Dentists office. Then into the Butterfly room. Lots of different Butterflies Tropical plants and some small Quail wandering around really quite nice. It's to bad they didn't put this into their Zoo.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall Lake, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice little visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Saturday morning, grand daughters. A natural. Small aquarium with a touch tank. Helpful staff and a room full of butterflies. OK, the description starts pretty dull, but the calm I receive sitting in the butterfly room was worth the visit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sertoma Butterfly House also viewed

 

Been to Sertoma Butterfly House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sertoma Butterfly House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.