We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sertoma Butterfly House & Marine Cove

Sertoma Butterfly House & Marine Cove
4320 South Oxbow Avenue, Sioux Falls, SD 57106
+1 605-334-9466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 61 things to do in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy over 800 free-flying butterflies from around the world in the tropical conservatory. View hundreds of vibrant marine fishes and corals in over 10,000 gallons of aquariums, including the Pop-Up Dome Aquarium, Shark & Stingray Touch Pool, and Pacific Tide Pool. Experience interactive learning and relaxation with tropical butterflies and marine life. A year round tropical destination! The Sertoma Butterfly House & Marine Cove is a nonprofit organization, funded entirely by admissions, memberships, gift shop sales, and donations. Thank you for visiting and supporting our mission of learning, healing, and celebrating nature's beauty with tropical butterflies and marine life!
Prescott, AZ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Didn't expect too much but LOVED the variety of butterflys from all over the world. Great photo opportunities. The little Button Quail were adorable. Would go again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    68
    20
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wi
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Although a bit pricey, the butterfly house is amazing. Over 800 colorful butterflies are EVERYWHERE! Easily spent an hour + in there. The marine cove is nice too, but the butterflies are definitely the main attraction!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flandreau, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“visit to the Sertoma Butterfly House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Spend a very, very enjoyable afternoon touring the Sertoma Butterfly House in Sioux Falls, SD. I would highly recommend everyone with or without children to spend a couple of hours there and enjoy the beauty.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Peaceful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Although a little spendy for what you get right now, I'd say it's worth one trip. Beautiful butterflies and fish to see. People of all ages seemed to enjoy it and my children got a kick out of the butterfly that wouldn't leave my husband alone.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iqaluit, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I loved the butterfly house, thought it was such a great experience. I took my husband who is not all that in to butterfly's and such, but in the end he enjoyed it as much as I did. Love the fact that they have a touch tank with stingrays in it thought that was a great addition to the place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sertoma Butterfly House & Marine Cove also viewed

 

Been to Sertoma Butterfly House & Marine Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sertoma Butterfly House & Marine Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.