We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sertoma Butterfly House & Marine Cove

Sertoma Butterfly House & Marine Cove
4320 South Oxbow Avenue, Sioux Falls, SD 57106
605-334-9466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 21 Attractions in Sioux Falls
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy over 800 free-flying butterflies from around the world in the tropical conservatory. View hundreds of vibrant marine fishes and corals in over 10,000 gallons of aquariums, including the Pop-Up Dome Aquarium, Shark & Stingray Touch Pool, and Pacific Tide Pool. Experience interactive learning and relaxation with tropical butterflies and marine life. A year round tropical destination! The Sertoma Butterfly House & Marine Cove is a nonprofit organization, funded entirely by admissions, memberships, gift shop sales, and donations. Thank you for visiting and supporting our mission of learning, healing, and celebrating nature's beauty with tropical butterflies and marine life!
Green Bay, Wi
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Although a bit pricey, the butterfly house is amazing. Over 800 colorful butterflies are EVERYWHERE! Easily spent an hour + in there. The marine cove is nice too, but the butterflies are definitely the main attraction!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    59
    18
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flandreau, South Dakota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“visit to the Sertoma Butterfly House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Spend a very, very enjoyable afternoon touring the Sertoma Butterfly House in Sioux Falls, SD. I would highly recommend everyone with or without children to spend a couple of hours there and enjoy the beauty.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Peaceful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Although a little spendy for what you get right now, I'd say it's worth one trip. Beautiful butterflies and fish to see. People of all ages seemed to enjoy it and my children got a kick out of the butterfly that wouldn't leave my husband alone.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iqaluit, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I loved the butterfly house, thought it was such a great experience. I took my husband who is not all that in to butterfly's and such, but in the end he enjoyed it as much as I did. Love the fact that they have a touch tank with stingrays in it thought that was a great addition to the place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fun for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is an amazing place to visit! Not only are there beautiful butterflies to enjoy...there are beautiful aquariums filled with amazing fish to observe, as well as sting rays and sharks. A must-see for anyone visiting Sioux Falls, SD or living in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sertoma Butterfly House & Marine Cove also viewed

 

Been to Sertoma Butterfly House & Marine Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sertoma Butterfly House & Marine Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.