We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sertoma Butterfly House & Marine Cove

Sertoma Butterfly House & Marine Cove
4320 South Oxbow Avenue, Sioux Falls, SD 57106
+1 605-334-9466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 61 things to do in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy over 800 free-flying butterflies from around the world in the tropical conservatory. View hundreds of vibrant marine fishes and corals in over 10,000 gallons of aquariums, including the Pop-Up Dome Aquarium, Shark & Stingray Touch Pool, and Pacific Tide Pool. Experience interactive learning and relaxation with tropical butterflies and marine life. A year round tropical destination! The Sertoma Butterfly House & Marine Cove is a nonprofit organization, funded entirely by admissions, memberships, gift shop sales, and donations. Thank you for visiting and supporting our mission of learning, healing, and celebrating nature's beauty with tropical butterflies and marine life!
Iqaluit, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I loved the butterfly house, thought it was such a great experience. I took my husband who is not all that in to butterfly's and such, but in the end he enjoyed it as much as I did. Love the fact that they have a touch tank with stingrays in it thought that was a great addition to the place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    72
    21
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fun for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is an amazing place to visit! Not only are there beautiful butterflies to enjoy...there are beautiful aquariums filled with amazing fish to observe, as well as sting rays and sharks. A must-see for anyone visiting Sioux Falls, SD or living in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great stop for pics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you like taking pictures this is the stop for you. Nice and restfull with all the beautiful Butterfly flying around. Stopped for about an hour. It is warm and a bit humid so try not to go in the heat of August like we did!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Visual Stimulation at Nature's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The 700-800 butterflies of 25-30 species are thrilling for all ages and calming for babies. The marine cove with 12 tanks is a real complementary and engaging area with the touch pool (sharks, sting-rays & horseshoe crabs) and new bubble aquarium.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slayton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“beautiful butterflys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

we visited often with the grandkids. They love to have they butterflies land on them. We saw the different stages of the butterfly also. There are some fish there also.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sertoma Butterfly House & Marine Cove also viewed

 

Been to Sertoma Butterfly House & Marine Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sertoma Butterfly House & Marine Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.