We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sertoma Butterfly House & Marine Cove

Sertoma Butterfly House & Marine Cove
4320 South Oxbow Avenue, Sioux Falls, SD 57106
605-334-9466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 20 Attractions in Sioux Falls
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy over 800 free-flying butterflies from around the world in the tropical conservatory. View hundreds of vibrant marine fishes and corals in over 10,000 gallons of aquariums, including the Pop-Up Dome Aquarium, Shark & Stingray Touch Pool, and Pacific Tide Pool. Experience interactive learning and relaxation with tropical butterflies and marine life. A year round tropical destination! The Sertoma Butterfly House & Marine Cove is a nonprofit organization, funded entirely by admissions, memberships, gift shop sales, and donations. Thank you for visiting and supporting our mission of learning, healing, and celebrating nature's beauty with tropical butterflies and marine life!
Iqaluit, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I loved the butterfly house, thought it was such a great experience. I took my husband who is not all that in to butterfly's and such, but in the end he enjoyed it as much as I did. Love the fact that they have a touch tank with stingrays in it thought that was a great addition to the place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    59
    18
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fun for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is an amazing place to visit! Not only are there beautiful butterflies to enjoy...there are beautiful aquariums filled with amazing fish to observe, as well as sting rays and sharks. A must-see for anyone visiting Sioux Falls, SD or living in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great stop for pics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you like taking pictures this is the stop for you. Nice and restfull with all the beautiful Butterfly flying around. Stopped for about an hour. It is warm and a bit humid so try not to go in the heat of August like we did!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Visual Stimulation at Nature's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The 700-800 butterflies of 25-30 species are thrilling for all ages and calming for babies. The marine cove with 12 tanks is a real complementary and engaging area with the touch pool (sharks, sting-rays & horseshoe crabs) and new bubble aquarium.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slayton, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“beautiful butterflys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

we visited often with the grandkids. They love to have they butterflies land on them. We saw the different stages of the butterfly also. There are some fish there also.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sertoma Butterfly House & Marine Cove also viewed

 

Been to Sertoma Butterfly House & Marine Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sertoma Butterfly House & Marine Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.