We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sioux Falls best attraction” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sertoma Butterfly House

Sertoma Butterfly House
4320 South Oxbow Avenue, Sioux Falls, SD 57106
605-334-9466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 28 attractions in Sioux Falls
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Sioux Falls
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Sioux Falls best attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Starting 20 April 20-12, the Sertoma Butterfly House and Marine Cove will have a touchpool with horn sharks, horseshoe crabs and stingrays. With 16 aquariums with everything from pirhannas, seahorses, sea anemones, lion fish, cichlids, discus fish, whitemouth mouth morey eel, picasso triggerfish, burr fish, panther grouper, albino catfish, clownfish, tangs, wrasses, stonefish blemmis, pajama cardinals, rainbows, harlequin rasparas, and a variety of coal -- it's the place you want to go to first... and back again before you continue your vacation. In the flight room you'll see over 800 butterflies flying freely about the room -- probably 30-40 different species on any given day. there's also a theater room which shows a film either about fish or butterflies each day; as well as a children's library with hundreds of books, toys, some fish, and a skink. For those who like creepy-crawly things, there's even an assortment of taurantulas. Be sure to bring your camera!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    51
    14
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“An interesting stop while visiting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This is a well done butterfly exhibit with many different species. Spend a relaxing hour when visiting Sioux Falls. Friendly staff give valuable information. Worth a stop.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Worth checking out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I am from Omaha where we have a beautiful butterfly house in our zoo so I was a bit nervous about paying for two adults to get into this house. I'm happy to say it was worth every penny!

We came on a warm, but rainy spring day and I think this was perfect for a rainy day (or cold winter day) escape. It took us less than an hour to see everything, but even so we enjoyed our time.

The cashier was very friendly and gave us a brief overview of the facility as well as a butterfly identification chart that we could carry through with us. She also explained that a Sioux Falls man had donated all of his home aquariums to them and pointed us to the area where we could see them. They are also building a touching pool that will have rays in it (and maybe something else?) for people to be able to touch.

While this facility certainly can't compete with bigger aquariums in other midwestern towns (like Omaha's zoo, or the one in Chicago), the aquariums were pretty incredible when you realize that they were all in one person's home...the amount of space & time & care he had put into his collection was obvious. They were each in the ballpark of 500 gallons, and there were probably around 10 of them. They were all seawater aquariums and had beatiful assortments of fish, seashorse, anemones, urchins, etc.

They had a small exhibit of exotic cockroaches and tarantulas - totally not my thing but I think some people would really think it was fun to see them.

Then the butterfly house was great. The room the butterflies in is smaller than you'd think but there was still room to walk through. There are a few benches in there along the path so you can rest or take it all in. We met some really nice volunteers there who explained to us that the average lifespan of a butterfly is 3 months and they try to have 750 butterflies in there fluttering around at any one time. There were plenty of butterflies...they were all just moving around and beautiful. Loved the assortment they had. They had some beautiful flowers and shrubs in there & then supplemented those natural sources of butterfly food with cut up fruit so that you could see them up close. Some of the butterflied even landed on us! It was a really fun experiece. I was just amazed at how many there were fluttering around.

The butterfly house is located in a big park area, which we enjoyed exploring after we left the butterfly house. There was a bicycle path, a free outdoor activity center, and some hiking trails on the banks of the creek. I use the term hiking loosely - the paths were not strenuous at all but they were a bit muddy (the day was rainy), uneven, and narrow so might now be ideal for folks with disabilities or older folks who need even terrain. There was a wider, paved path a bit further from the stream that might be easier for people to explore.

For those of you who geocache there are some geocaches in this recreation area and we enjoyed spending some time searching them out. This area would be a great place to bring kids or have a picnic and extend your stay because the butterfly house won't take up too much time.

I would say expect to spend about an hour with the butterfly house, and then you could spend a lot more time exploring the surrounding area, if you wish.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

If visiting Sioux Falls you must visit this attraction. You are walking in with the butterflies. The butterflies are from all over the world. Amazing! Educational for children, there are butterflies hatching etc. Worth every dime.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great in the winter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

This is a great little spot in the SD winter months. The butterflies are in a warm humid atmosphere, so it is nice to take off your coat and snowboots, and visit "spring" for awhile. The butterflies are beautiful. :) They also have an aquarium now.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sertoma Butterfly House also viewed

 

Been to Sertoma Butterfly House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sertoma Butterfly House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sertoma Butterfly House to your Saves list