We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, clean and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valley Inn

Valley Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Valley Inn to your Saves list
Valley Inn
1000 S Grange Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Sioux Falls B&B and Inns
Key West
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good price, clean and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

passing through Sioux Falls when car trouble hit to had to get something unexpectedly. A lot of places were sold out but found this place on priceline. The front desk clerks were all very nice and helpful. Room was clean and AC worked great on a hot July night.
Didn't get a chance to try the breakfast but it looked good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey T, Public Relations Manager at Valley Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you were able to cool off from the hot July heat and enjoy your stay with us. We hope to see you return and try our breakfast!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This motel is just a block from the hospital. It's clean, basic and the staff is friendly. We stayed for 7 nights in a single w/ queen bed while my son was in the hospital. The room is not big, but it works. The staff was always helpful and friendly. The breakfast was basic but good. Yogurt, cereals, breads, muffins, bagels, fruit, coffee and orange juice. You can find something to eat.

The place is old and basic but it is clean and close to the hospital. WiFi was free and fast. We got the hospital rate of $66/night and that was reduced to $55/ night for the weekly rate. I would stay again.
There is no elevator but that did not matter to us. We needed the exercise. We could hear the people above us but I slept just fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey T, Public Relations Manager at Valley Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy you found our property clean and our staff friendly. We hope to see you stay with us again in your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hot springs, sd
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The Valley Inn is basic, but comfortable and clean. Perhaps most important is its proximity to Sanford Medical Center. Right across the street, so you don't even have to drive. And if you can't walk a block, the hospital has free valet parking! Valley Inn is also just a five minute drive to Augustana (about a mile south, straight down Grange) and I think two other colleges; since my recent visits were duel college/hospital trip, it was perfect. You will have to drive farther for restaurants and shopping, but if your primary focus is the hospital you couldn't ask for better. Also, the staff is super friendly and helpful and the price is right.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey T, Public Relations Manager at Valley Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy you found our hotel clean and convenient. We hope you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahpeton, North Dakota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I stayed at the Valley Inn for 4 nights, as my husband was a patient at the Sanford hospital The convenience of it was unbeatable, across the street from the hospital. I had a 'queen room'. Size was very good, bed comfortable, room very clean, could not of asked for more, except coffee in the lounge. I would definitely stay here again.

MjB Wahpeton

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey T, Public Relations Manager at Valley Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient while you husband was a guest at Sanford Hospital. I am sorry you felt our coffee was not of the best flavor. We are continually changing our vendors and will work on providing a more flavorful option.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very old. Has second floor but no elevator at all for handicap. Service was poor at best. Nor the best area to be in.Parking lot not big enough for motorcycle trailers. Park across the street. A sign says you will be towed even thou Valley inn says to park there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in Valley II so we could have a first floor room. The room was clean. The price was very reasonable. Rooms were a good size. Lounge rooms and outdoor portico made great picnic areas. It is in a residential neighborhood next to a hospital.

They never made enough coffee at breakfast, but I might stay here again.

Room Tip: Valley II smells a bit fresher. Valley I wasn't bad, either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey T, Public Relations Manager at Valley Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy you found our prices reasonable and enjoyed your stay. For your convenience, we do have coffee makers in the room but if you enjoy our breakfast coffee and see it's low, please feel free to let our staff know. We hope to be seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I had a family emergency so we had to find prompt lodging for the night, fortunately there was lodging across Sanford Hospital. Initially I was hesitant about getting a room at Valley Inn from the exterior but the room was quite decent. The beds were comfortable, had a fridge, was clean, shower/bathroom was clean. I had no complaints about the room. Being a non-smoker as well as the rest of my family the one concern would be to designate a smoking area for smokers that is AWAY from the entrance. We had to hold our breaths while running to get inside the building! Hopefully it is resolved in the future.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Inn

Address: 1000 S Grange Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Valley Inn Sioux Falls, located at 1000 S. Grange Avenue, is conveniently located within walking distance of Sanford Health Center. The Sioux Falls hotel offers 63 non-smoking rooms. Each room is equipped with refrigerators and 32-inch flat panel TVs. The hotel serves a free deluxe continental breakfast each morning and offers free WiFi to hotel guests. The hotel features a business center, guest laundry facilities and a shuttle to and from Sanford Health. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.