We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very old. To far away from expressway” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Valley Inn

Valley Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Valley Inn to your Saves list
Valley Inn
1000 S Grange Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Sioux Falls B&B and Inns
Milford, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very old. To far away from expressway”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Very old. Has second floor but no elevator at all for handicap. Service was poor at best. Nor the best area to be in.Parking lot not big enough for motorcycle trailers. Park across the street. A sign says you will be towed even thou Valley inn says to park there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in Valley II so we could have a first floor room. The room was clean. The price was very reasonable. Rooms were a good size. Lounge rooms and outdoor portico made great picnic areas. It is in a residential neighborhood next to a hospital.

They never made enough coffee at breakfast, but I might stay here again.

Room Tip: Valley II smells a bit fresher. Valley I wasn't bad, either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey T, Public Relations Manager at Valley Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy you found our prices reasonable and enjoyed your stay. For your convenience, we do have coffee makers in the room but if you enjoy our breakfast coffee and see it's low, please feel free to let our staff know. We hope to be seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I had a family emergency so we had to find prompt lodging for the night, fortunately there was lodging across Sanford Hospital. Initially I was hesitant about getting a room at Valley Inn from the exterior but the room was quite decent. The beds were comfortable, had a fridge, was clean, shower/bathroom was clean. I had no complaints about the room. Being a non-smoker as well as the rest of my family the one concern would be to designate a smoking area for smokers that is AWAY from the entrance. We had to hold our breaths while running to get inside the building! Hopefully it is resolved in the future.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

If you're lucky enough to get a room in the new building then your stay could be ok.

If you get stuck in the older building then expect a lesser enjoyed time and if you get one of the old rooms - look elsewhere!

It was 105 outside and the room had old stinky carpets and no air conditioning!

No pool; no fitness center; very basic breakfast.

Need to find the staff - look outside to the smoking corner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I made reservations at the Valley Inn to spend a couple of days to see a friend in the hospital. I made note of this in my reservation, and the receptionist made sure I had a quiet room and offered a wake-up call.

The room was clean, pleasant, and with a very good bed.

The breakfast was very adequate. It was there I found out that many of those in the hotel had friends/family at one of the Sioux Falls hospitals. The hotel even gave a a special rate for extended stays due to medical reasons.

I would recommend this to those who need the thoughtful care Valley Inn provides.

Room Tip: A second-floor room in the second building provides a very quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpls
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We have stayed at the Valley Inn previously when in Sioux Falls for medical reasons. Can't beat the location, right next to Sanford, but the rooms were what I would call spartan. Very happy to stay in a renovated room last week, and it is so much nicer! Not all the rooms have been renovated, so it would pay to request that when you plan to stay there.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorage
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

SUPERB service and convenient location to the Sanford Hospital. The staff really made me feel welcomed during an emergency medical visit home. Rooms are clean and comfortable and within easy walking distance to many locations. Didn't get to try the breakfast but heard that it was a nice amenity as well. This hotel is a good value! I would recommend this property and will stay there again if in Sioux Falls area.
Many thanks to the management and staff for making a difficult emergency trip home a more comfortable one.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Inn

Address: 1000 S Grange Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Valley Inn Sioux Falls, located at 1000 S. Grange Avenue, is conveniently located within walking distance of Sanford Health Center. The Sioux Falls hotel offers 63 non-smoking rooms. Each room is equipped with refrigerators and 32-inch flat panel TVs. The hotel serves a free deluxe continental breakfast each morning and offers free WiFi to hotel guests. The hotel features a business center, guest laundry facilities and a shuttle to and from Sanford Health. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.