We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never judge a book by its cover.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valley Inn

Save Saved
You added Valley Inn to your Saves list
Valley Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Valley Inn
1000 S Grange Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Sioux Falls B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Never judge a book by its cover.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I had a family emergency so we had to find prompt lodging for the night, fortunately there was lodging across Sanford Hospital. Initially I was hesitant about getting a room at Valley Inn from the exterior but the room was quite decent. The beds were comfortable, had a fridge, was clean, shower/bathroom was clean. I had no complaints about the room. Being a non-smoker as well as the rest of my family the one concern would be to designate a smoking area for smokers that is AWAY from the entrance. We had to hold our breaths while running to get inside the building! Hopefully it is resolved in the future.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

If you're lucky enough to get a room in the new building then your stay could be ok.

If you get stuck in the older building then expect a lesser enjoyed time and if you get one of the old rooms - look elsewhere!

It was 105 outside and the room had old stinky carpets and no air conditioning!

No pool; no fitness center; very basic breakfast.

Need to find the staff - look outside to the smoking corner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I made reservations at the Valley Inn to spend a couple of days to see a friend in the hospital. I made note of this in my reservation, and the receptionist made sure I had a quiet room and offered a wake-up call.

The room was clean, pleasant, and with a very good bed.

The breakfast was very adequate. It was there I found out that many of those in the hotel had friends/family at one of the Sioux Falls hospitals. The hotel even gave a a special rate for extended stays due to medical reasons.

I would recommend this to those who need the thoughtful care Valley Inn provides.

Room Tip: A second-floor room in the second building provides a very quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpls
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We have stayed at the Valley Inn previously when in Sioux Falls for medical reasons. Can't beat the location, right next to Sanford, but the rooms were what I would call spartan. Very happy to stay in a renovated room last week, and it is so much nicer! Not all the rooms have been renovated, so it would pay to request that when you plan to stay there.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorage
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

SUPERB service and convenient location to the Sanford Hospital. The staff really made me feel welcomed during an emergency medical visit home. Rooms are clean and comfortable and within easy walking distance to many locations. Didn't get to try the breakfast but heard that it was a nice amenity as well. This hotel is a good value! I would recommend this property and will stay there again if in Sioux Falls area.
Many thanks to the management and staff for making a difficult emergency trip home a more comfortable one.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Inn

Address: 1000 S Grange Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Valley Inn Sioux Falls, located at 1000 S. Grange Avenue, is conveniently located within walking distance of Sanford Health Center. The Sioux Falls hotel offers 63 non-smoking rooms. Each room is equipped with refrigerators and 32-inch flat panel TVs. The hotel serves a free deluxe continental breakfast each morning and offers free WiFi to hotel guests. The hotel features a business center, guest laundry facilities and a shuttle to and from Sanford Health. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.