We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sioux Falls Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mama's Ladas

Mama's Ladas
116 W 11th St, Sioux Falls, SD 57104-6304
605-332-2772
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 330 Restaurants in Sioux Falls
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Iowa
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“A Sioux Falls Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

If you don't like enchilada's, this isn't the place for you. Three kinds of enchiladas and that's pretty much it.

If you don't like homemade sangria, this isn't exactly a top drawer wine bar although there is a limited beer and wine menu.

If you don't like chips, salsa and/or guacamole, this probably wouldn't be a place you would enjoy.

If you don't like cozy little unique "hole in the wall" atmosphere kinds of places, you might want to avoid Mama's Ladas.

But if you really like awesome enchiladas, refreshing sangria, and chips with pretty good guacamole and acceptable (kind of mild) salsa in a true tuck away corner of old Sioux Falls, this place is a gem.

Finally, with reference to other reviewers, yes, we've been to Latin America quite often and we'd just observe that 1) Mama's Ladas doesn't even pretend to be a Mexican restaurant and yet 2) it is still reminiscent of a relaxed Latin cafe only serving great American style enchiladas and salsa in a true South Dakota style.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    16
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A fun setting with delicious enchaladas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We visit Sioux Falls a couple times a year and always try to include a stop at Mama's Ladas. Its small size, exposed brick walls and limited menu are part of the charm. But that wouldn't matter if the food and sevice weren't good... but they are. This time we stopped for a late lunch on Saturday. We found a table right away, and enjoyed among the four of us the chicken and beef enchaladas, plus the new chicken nachos.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal and ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

They had us at enchiladas. Which is good because 3 kinds of enchiladas is all they have on their menu! They actually do have a couple of other items, including chips, salsa,and guacamole, but enchiladas are their claim to fame (hence the name). We tried one each of the beef, chicken and broccoli/ricotta, and all were delicious. The guacamole and salsa were very good, too. The salsa was a little unusual, having olives as an ingredient, but tasty. We got the minimalist menu, but still think they should add black or pinto beans to make it feel more like a meal. Enjoyed the fun decor, with the brick walls and colored lights hung from the ceiling, and the funky flair. The basket of mini candy bars offered at the end for dessert was a nice touch, too. Only thing that wasn't so great was the service. Not that the waitress wasn't professional. She was good, but kind of, well, "brisk" and lacking warmth. We kind of felt rushed. We were the last customers in the restaurant, and we left a half hour before their closing time, but maybe they were trying to close up early.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Not feeling it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I like the simplistic approach of the menu. One of my favorite places to eat only serves tacos.
Two with chips (no salsa) $12 bucks, I felt it was a a little expensive for what it was.
The Resturant is cozy and the service was excellent.
Not a secret melt in your mouth kind of felling.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An experience you should try at least once”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I had been hearing such good things about this place and thought we have to give it a try. It's definitely a quaint little hole in the wall. Luckily we went when it was off hours, thanks to someone's recommendation... very, very and I mean very limited seating. So if it's busy, expect to wait.

We ordered the Tostada Crisp ($3.25) it had tons of cheese on it... if your lactose intolerant you may want to pass on this one, but still it was pretty tasty never the less. For our entrée we each ordered a half size enchilada, one chicken the other beef ($6 ea.), we both thought the chicken was better.

For the full experience make sure you take a trip to the restroom. My husband had gone first to wash his hands and when he came back told me that I needed to go... I won't ruin it for you by telling you why, but it defiantly will give you something to talk about.

If were downtown and need to catch a casual meal we might go again, but it won't be the first on my list for Mexican in Sioux Falls.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Ladas also viewed

 

Been to Mama's Ladas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama's Ladas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.