We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Except For Potential Housekeeping Intruder” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5300 South Grand Circle, Sioux Falls, SD 57108   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%!
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Drake
1 review
“Great Hotel, Except For Potential Housekeeping Intruder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights for his business, September 10 and 11. On the morning of September 12 at 7:23 a.m., someone from the housekeeping staff tried to use their key to access our room. They didn't call out "Housekeeping" or anything else - until I threw on a robe and opened the door. She (Housekeeping employee) was already trying to go into another guest room across the hall and yelled "Housekeeping" my way. To the best of my knowledge, check-out time is 12 noon at this location... so why would someone be trying to clean our room at 7:23 a.m.? My husband was in the shower and I was getting dressed. Luckily I had the lock across the door... but I shouldn't have to worry that someone will come in the room - especially at that time of day. And I shouldn't have to put the 'Do Not Disturb' sign out to ward off the housekeeping staff when the room was paid through noon that day. Unfortunately, we were pressed for time and had to catch a flight out, so I was unable to report the issue.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSFSD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Lisa-WritesReviews,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn during your recent visit to Sioux Falls. I apologize that you were disturbed by a staff member prior to departing our hotel and hope that it did not negatively affect your entire stay. With the information you provided to us earlier, it appears that a member of our housekeeping staff accidentally swiped their key in your lock rather than a neighboring room when they were doing a routine vacant room check. Our policy for cleaning rooms is to not enter any guest rooms that have not checked out with the front desk prior to noon so that we are not disturbing our guests. As a traveler myself, I know how annoying this can be. I am very sorry that you were disrupted before this time and can assure you that it will not happen during future stays.

Sincerely,

Bryan Ahlers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    55
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
71
43
16
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times now and it has been a nice experience all 3 times. It is a very Nice Hotel with a very Friendly staff, clean rooms and the hotel appears to be kept up very well. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSFSD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave feedback about your recent stays with us. It is satisfying to know that we have taken care of you during each of your stays and that you would recommend our hotel to other travelers as well. We appreciate your patronage and looking forward to hosting you again soon.

Sincerely,

Bryan Ahlers
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were very pleased with the following: cleanliness of the hotel, appearance of the hotel lobby, cleanliness of the pool (including no overwhelming chlorine smell!), the service staff was excellent. While we did have to pay for breakfast, it is not very expensive for adults, and kids eat free!! And the food is amazing!!! It tastes delicious and the serving portions are huge! We would have had to pay the same amount or more to go get a gross breakfast at some fast food restaurant. Overall we were extremely pleased with our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSFSD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Melissa J,

Thank you for your wonderful compliments about our hotel following your stay with us. We are delighted that you were able to enjoy so much of what we offer, especially clean accommodations and attentive service. Our breakfast does focus on providing fresh food at a reasonable cost. All items, including cooked-to-order ingredients, cut-fruit, and pastries, are prepared fresh in our kitchen each morning as opposed to most continental breakfasts. We look forward to having the chance to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Bryan Ahlers
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I was in town for business and this hotel was great. It was in a good location and very clean. I am 6 months pregnant so comfort is key on my travels, the staff was great at providing me with extra pillows and even a toothbrush.

I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSFSD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Lisa K,

Thank you for rating your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy that we could make you comfortable during your time here as this is very important to us. We appreciate you choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Bryan Ahlers
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Sioux Falls was the final destination of our trek through South Dakota. We started in Rapid City four days earlier and kept heading East, stopping at all the site-seeing spots along the way. TA recommended this hotel (and we had stayed at the one in Rapid City to start our trip). These hotels are pretty good. The rooms are big, bathroom is reasonable, and they have the new-fangled adjusto-bed. The buffet is reasonable priced and is much better than continental. We didn’t have the chance to test out the restaurant/bar but they looked like a reasonable value as well. Wi-fi is free, which is always a plus. The hotel was only 10 minutes away from the airport and was also close to several dining options. We tried to go downtown but, being Labor Day, nothing was open (shoulda called first). Based on our experiences with the two we stayed at I would definitely consider a Hilton Garden Inn for future lodging.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSFSD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Curtis S,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent vacation across South Dakota. We really appreciate your thorough review of your stay and are glad that it was pleasant overall. It sounds like you were able to enjoy some of our many amenities including wi-fi, the Garden Sleep System bed, and cooked-to-order breakfast in our restaurant. If you ever return to South Dakota, we hope to accommodate you again!

Sincerely,

Bryan Ahlers
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Mound, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We've stayed here multiple times and have always found it pleasant, clean, and reliable. There is a pool and hot tub, both in good condition. The staff is helpful. The lobby is nice and big and clean. Close to shopping/eating and easy to find from I-229.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSFSD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Amy V,

Thank you for being a loyal guest of the Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South. We are excited that you enjoy your stays with us so much that you return time after time. Serving guests like you is a pleasure and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Bryan Ahlers
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed on our way back from a South Dakota wedding. The lobby area was very spacious and welcoming. The location was very convenient to freeway access and shopping. The room was very refreshing after staying at some really dive hotels in the middle of nowhere on this trip. Appreciated the fresh clean linens and welcoming comfort of the pressure adjustable bed. I appreciated that my reservation was all prepared and check in took two minutes tops.

One comment is that the coffee in the lobby was cold and not refreshed. Could have been I just caught it in between, but it is a minor detail.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSFSD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Worldwidewonderland,

Thank you for your great feedback regarding your recent visit to the Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South. We are very glad that your stay was pleasant in all areas, including check in and cleanliness. These areas and others are important to us and our guests alike. We hope to have the chance to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Bryan Ahlers
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South

Address: 5300 South Grand Circle, Sioux Falls, SD 57108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
#1 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
#2 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.