We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but a few oddities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5300 South Grand Circle, Sioux Falls, SD 57108   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%!
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Nebraska
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but a few oddities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I recently stayed here for two nights. The hotel is located just off I-229 and Louise Avenue adjacent to a McDonalds and a small strip mall with a Juice Stop, Panera, and a few other shops. Some fine dining restaurants are located nearby.

The check-in staff was friendly and the hotel grounds (exterior and interior) were very clean. There is a reception room for weddings, etc. and a small grill for meals. We did not dine here.

We had one of the Junior Suites. There was a separate bedroom, but no door separating it from the hallway and a small living area with a nice pull our double bed. There was a small fridge and coffeemaker. Each room had its own desk and television. The bathroom had a tub/shower combo and was between the living room and bed room. The pool was small (directly under our room) and the workout facility had nice Precor machines and some weights.

A couple of things I did not like - which may have been related to our room choice. First, the vent for the A/C was on the top of the wall opposite the bed (bedroom). When it was on, the cold air blew straight down on the bed, making it very cold. I kept getting up to turn it off, but then it would get too hot. Then, I'd wake up and turn it on and freeze. Bad design for certain. Also, the 3 junior suites are right above the pool. You could hear kids yelling, but it was not very loud. Something to consider though as the pool is open 5:00 am to 11:00 pm so depending on your preferences and the number of people using the pool, it has the potential to be disruptive. The parking is nice, but was full both nights we were there (Friday and Saturday) meaning I had to choose between parking on the opposite end of the hotel by the reception area (which was also busy with wedding receptions) or park in one of the many "compact only" spaces. I parked in the compact spaces with my SUV, half feeling guilty, and have mad that there were about 10 compact-only spaces, but zero cars in them. I felt better the next morning when half the spaces were taken and every single one was an SUV. I pondered the question of whether a hotel next to an interstate with no more than about 100 rooms would ever fill 10 compact spaces and, in fact, whether they were needed at all. The spots were the same size as the rest of the spots (all quite narrow).

All in all, I liked the hotel, trust the brand, and would stay here again but not in the suites.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSFSD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Jason G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave detailed feedback about your recent stay with us. Feedback such as this is what we use to make our hotel continually better. I am already looking into the vent and parking suggestions you made. I am happy that you found our service and accommodations satisfactory overall. For future stays, feel free to explore our other room types. We do have spacious 2-room suites which give you the privacy of a door. We look forward to serving you the next time you travel to Sioux Falls.

Sincerely,

Bryan Ahlers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    54
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
69
42
15
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn last weekend for my son's wedding in Sioux Falls. I had made my original reservation back in April and then later added an additonal night and found the front desk and phone staff very helpful with both. Check-in and out was easy and our room and all the public areas were clean and very well maintained. Also, their wedding reception was held at the hotel and the food was delightful, service staff were great too!
Great experience overall!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSFSD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear jmonwood,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure hosting your son's wedding reception at our hotel. We are so happy that you and your guests enjoyed their time here. We hope that we can accommodate you again sometime soon.

Sincerely,

Bryan Ahlers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in August, work related. Check in was easy, we were offered cold bottles of water and warm cookies. There was a big softball tournament going on in town as well, and lots of teams were staying here. In the 3 nights we stayed there, I never heard a peep out of the teams, cudos to the players, families and hotel staff for keeping things quiet!

Bed was very comfortable, TV worked well (we watched a lot of Olympics!)

We did not eat here but did have drinks in the bar a couple of nights. It would be nice if it could stay open longer in the evening.

Easy to get to in a great part of town near the mall and loads of shopping.

Courtesy van was helpful and easy to use, employees were always very friendly. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSFSD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear matischer,

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. It is our goal to make sure each and every guest who enters our doors experiences the same hospitality as you. We look forward to having you as our guest the next time your travels lead you to Sioux Falls.

Sincerely,

Bryan Ahlers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The Hilton Garden Inn is within 1-2 miles of numerous restaurants of every choice and taste. It is also close to shopping and to most major business yet it is just outside the ring of congestion and in a fairly quiet location so as to get a peaceful nights sleep. The facility was clean, the rooms are well appointed, it was quiet (walls not too thin), plenty of elbow room in the rooms and the overall hotel facility was neat and tidy. The only fault I could find is you have to pay for a cooked to order breakfast vs. a free breakfast and the elevators could afford to be kept cleaner. Otherwise, the staff was friendly and everywhere else was clean, including the pool area, the gym and laundry areas. I'd without any doubt stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSFSD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear PlainsPolarBear,

Thank you for the feedback you left about your recent stay with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff takes pride in the accommodations we have to offer. Regarding breakfast, we do charge a nominal fee because we put more emphasis on the quality of food we offer to our guests. Nearly all items available are prepared fresh in our kitchen as opposed to arriving pre-packaged. Fruit is cut and pastries are baked each morning and omelets, pancakes, and potatoes are cooked fresh as you order them. Look for our Bed and Breakfast package when booking your next stay so you can eat breakfast for half price! We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.

Sincerely,

Bryan Ahlers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Recently assigned Sioux Falls, SD in my territory and had to pay a visit to my office there. As usual, choosing a HGI was a good choice. Hotel was super clean, great location and staff was helpful. Very rarely can you go wrong with a HGI and this property is superb.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSFSD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear smcptravels,

Thank you for being a recent guest of the Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls. It is our pleasure accommodating guests such as yourself. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to serving you again and again in the future.

Sincerely,

Bryan Ahlers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

So disappointed by this hotel. We arrived to check and they didn't have our reservation. We booked through the hilton website and brought the confirmation email. She blamed the error of the website and said next time we should call in our reservation instead of doing it online and she said she didn't think she could even refund us. The manager was called and said he couldn't do anything for us.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSFSD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
AmyH150,

Thank you for leaving feedback about your recent reservation with us. I am extremely sorry that we were unable to locate your reservation upon your arrival at our hotel due to a reservation glitch and that our hotel was sold out. The staff of the Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls would have loved to have had you as a guest at our hotel. I am glad we were able to find alternate accommodations at another 3-diamond hotel with available rooms on the night of your stay. We hope that should your travels lead you to Sioux Falls again, you choose to let the staff of the Hilton Garden Inn show you the fine hospitality we provide on a daily basis.

Sincerely,

Bryan Ahlers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We actually had our daughter's 6th birthday party there. The hotel is sparkling clean, the staff is wonderful, and very helpful, and the rooms are really nice. We were there on a Saturday night, and while the hotel had a lot of guest, it was nice and quiet. The beds were really comfortable, and the presidential suite is HUGE. We had a sleepover in it, after the party with 9 little girls, and everyone had plenty of room. I highly recommend the Hilton Garden Inn Hotel, if you are traveling through Sioux Falls.

Room Tip: Get the Presidential Suite. It is fabulous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSFSD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear momtomonkeys,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and your girls had a night of fun. Our staff enjoys hearing stories from our satisfied guests so they know that their service makes a difference. We hope to accommodate you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Bryan Ahlers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South

Address: 5300 South Grand Circle, Sioux Falls, SD 57108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
#6 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.