We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Sioux Falls!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5300 South Grand Circle, Sioux Falls, SD 57108   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%!
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Fargo, North Dakota
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Sioux Falls!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in August, work related. Check in was easy, we were offered cold bottles of water and warm cookies. There was a big softball tournament going on in town as well, and lots of teams were staying here. In the 3 nights we stayed there, I never heard a peep out of the teams, cudos to the players, families and hotel staff for keeping things quiet!

Bed was very comfortable, TV worked well (we watched a lot of Olympics!)

We did not eat here but did have drinks in the bar a couple of nights. It would be nice if it could stay open longer in the evening.

Easy to get to in a great part of town near the mall and loads of shopping.

Courtesy van was helpful and easy to use, employees were always very friendly. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSFSD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear matischer,

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. It is our goal to make sure each and every guest who enters our doors experiences the same hospitality as you. We look forward to having you as our guest the next time your travels lead you to Sioux Falls.

Sincerely,

Bryan Ahlers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    48
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
60
38
13
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The Hilton Garden Inn is within 1-2 miles of numerous restaurants of every choice and taste. It is also close to shopping and to most major business yet it is just outside the ring of congestion and in a fairly quiet location so as to get a peaceful nights sleep. The facility was clean, the rooms are well appointed, it was quiet (walls not too thin), plenty of elbow room in the rooms and the overall hotel facility was neat and tidy. The only fault I could find is you have to pay for a cooked to order breakfast vs. a free breakfast and the elevators could afford to be kept cleaner. Otherwise, the staff was friendly and everywhere else was clean, including the pool area, the gym and laundry areas. I'd without any doubt stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSFSD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear PlainsPolarBear,

Thank you for the feedback you left about your recent stay with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff takes pride in the accommodations we have to offer. Regarding breakfast, we do charge a nominal fee because we put more emphasis on the quality of food we offer to our guests. Nearly all items available are prepared fresh in our kitchen as opposed to arriving pre-packaged. Fruit is cut and pastries are baked each morning and omelets, pancakes, and potatoes are cooked fresh as you order them. Look for our Bed and Breakfast package when booking your next stay so you can eat breakfast for half price! We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.

Sincerely,

Bryan Ahlers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Recently assigned Sioux Falls, SD in my territory and had to pay a visit to my office there. As usual, choosing a HGI was a good choice. Hotel was super clean, great location and staff was helpful. Very rarely can you go wrong with a HGI and this property is superb.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSFSD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear smcptravels,

Thank you for being a recent guest of the Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls. It is our pleasure accommodating guests such as yourself. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to serving you again and again in the future.

Sincerely,

Bryan Ahlers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

So disappointed by this hotel. We arrived to check and they didn't have our reservation. We booked through the hilton website and brought the confirmation email. She blamed the error of the website and said next time we should call in our reservation instead of doing it online and she said she didn't think she could even refund us. The manager was called and said he couldn't do anything for us.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSFSD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
AmyH150,

Thank you for leaving feedback about your recent reservation with us. I am extremely sorry that we were unable to locate your reservation upon your arrival at our hotel due to a reservation glitch and that our hotel was sold out. The staff of the Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls would have loved to have had you as a guest at our hotel. I am glad we were able to find alternate accommodations at another 3-diamond hotel with available rooms on the night of your stay. We hope that should your travels lead you to Sioux Falls again, you choose to let the staff of the Hilton Garden Inn show you the fine hospitality we provide on a daily basis.

Sincerely,

Bryan Ahlers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We actually had our daughter's 6th birthday party there. The hotel is sparkling clean, the staff is wonderful, and very helpful, and the rooms are really nice. We were there on a Saturday night, and while the hotel had a lot of guest, it was nice and quiet. The beds were really comfortable, and the presidential suite is HUGE. We had a sleepover in it, after the party with 9 little girls, and everyone had plenty of room. I highly recommend the Hilton Garden Inn Hotel, if you are traveling through Sioux Falls.

Room Tip: Get the Presidential Suite. It is fabulous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSFSD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear momtomonkeys,

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and your girls had a night of fun. Our staff enjoys hearing stories from our satisfied guests so they know that their service makes a difference. We hope to accommodate you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Bryan Ahlers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

My wife and spent a night here recently as part of a romantic getaway weekend. We had attended a wedding reception at this hotel a couple of years ago and had been impressed then, so we were interested to see if an overnight experience would match up. Happy to say, this hotel did not disappoint!

The staff made a great first impression on me even before we checked in. The night before we were to arrive, I had asked if I could leave a floral arrangement there as a surprise for my wife when we checked in. They were extremely accommodating of my request and agreed to keep it overnight in their cooler. When we checked-in on Friday night, there it was waiting for us and fresh as the night before. It definitely got our getaway off to a good start... thank you!

Upon returning from our Friday night activities about 9:30, we grabbed beverages from the lounge (well-made and reasonably priced), and were happy to see that the pool and hot tub were open till 11 PM. This part of the hotel, also, was first-rate with both pools very well maintained and plenty of towels.

Our room had a single king bed which was extremely comfortable. The room was about average size for this price point but it was spotlessly clean, extremely quiet and beautifully appointed, We especially appreciated the shower (with plenty of hot water at high pressure), and that the room maintained a comfortable, constant temperature through the night without a noisy HVAC unit roaring non-stop as we have experienced at other hotels.

Because of other scheduled activities we spent barely 12 hours on the property so we weren't able to take advantage of other amenities and facilities like free Wi-Fi, the fitness center or made-to-order breakfast buffet ($9.95 per person). But from all we could see, those experiences would have been just as enjoyable.

I do need to mention the only glitch of our stay, which was check-in and check-out were both a little ragged. Check-in took a long time considering we were the ones checking in and our reservation had been made several weeks in advance. When I went to check out, I was informed that I had been overcharged, followed by another slow and awkward process to get my refund back. That being said, at least they acknowledged the overcharge and made it right. This being said, I need to stress that all the front desk personnel I dealt with were extremely friendly and appeared to be well trained, so I'm assuming perhaps the delays were caused by computer issues or some such.

The location of this hotel is exceptional. WIthin 2 minutes you can be on I-229 (the major bypass around the city of Sioux Falls), and you are a 10-minute drive or less away from literally dozens of dining options and the Empire Mall, as well as the park where the annual JazzFest and many athletic tournaments are held, and a large church that hosts many group events (including the one that was part of our weekend getaway). If you choose not to dine on-site and you don't have ground transportation, there is a McDonalds, a Panera and several other eating options within a 3- to 5-minute walk away.

My wife and I have each stayed at a lot of hotels over the years we agreed that the Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls is without question the best hotel in town and one of the top 3 or 4 hotels we have ever experienced, regardless of price point. We will definitely be recommending it to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSFSD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear fender78,

Thank you so much for the kind words you left regarding your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay and consider us the "Best Hotel In Town." Our staff strives to satisfy every guest that walks through our doors and we make continual improvements to our facility to ensure it is a high-quality market leader. We hope to accommodate you again during your next weekend out!

Sincerely,

Bryan Ahlers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, South Dakota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Staff was semi-enthused. It was late at night, and the front desk agent seemed more interested in getting back to his phone then helping us. However, the room was excellent. It was an enjoyable view of the parking lot, but with the curtains closed it is a normal HGI Room. Especially enjoy the beds. Upon check out, the front desk lady was MUCH more happy and nice, and seemed to truly enjoy her job. Would probably stay here again, but would check in earlier and not deal with the crabby night people.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSFSD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear RayceCar,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We enjoy hearing what guests have to say about our hotel after their experience here. I am happy that your stay was pleasant overall. Your additional feedback about our staff has been noted and passed along to the according individuals to acknowledge the level of service they are currently providing. Thank you again and we hope to accommodate you again the next time your travels lead you to Sioux Falls.

Sincerely,

Bryan Ahlers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South

Address: 5300 South Grand Circle, Sioux Falls, SD 57108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
#1 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
#7 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.