We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang for your buck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3500 Gateway Blvd., Sioux Falls, SD 57106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Bang for your buck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Very comfortable 1 night stay on our way through to Mount Rushmore. Even though the room was slightly smaller than other Red Roofs we had previously stayed in, it was still well presented and extremely comfortable for our much needed nights rest. Has all the amenities you would like for a pit stop on the road and they also include a continental breakfast in the mornings which was welcoming. The front desk were also friendly upon arrival and check out.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear TravellingPiglets,

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn in Sioux Falls as your resting place during your travels. We are pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our rooms and the friendliness of our staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Stacy Patridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    93
    45
    13
    5
See reviews for
66
80
38
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Village
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our room was ok. Internet not so much. Our friends stayed in the handicap room and the shower was filthy. Left over soap from previous occupant. Check in and out was messed up. We made reservations for 4 rooms but the girls couldn't get it straight that each couple paid for their own room. We were charged for one couples room and by that point we said to forget it and they paid us later for their room

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Melody B,

We are very sorry to hear about the billing issues you were having it is not standard practice. We do have a few new front desk workers and we will be using this issue as a training module to improve those issues. We are also sorry to hear that the handicap room was not up to par, we will be re-tiling all of those rooms to ensure a cleaner experience. We hope that you give us an opportunity to better serve you in the future. Thank you for choosing the Red Roof Inn in Sioux Falls.

Stacy Patridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed one night in July. The room offered the basics - clean room, good bed, great shower, functioning AC. Everything except connection of an iPad to internet worked perfectly. We did not use them, but an iron and ironing board and a flat screen tv were in the room. The staff were very cordial and responsive to all our needs. The room was quiet. There was no bad odor encountered.
The morning breakfast was not elaborate (no eggs or bacon), but it offered bagels, toast, muffins, rolls, waffles, oatmeal and raison bran, milk, juice, and coffee - very tasty.
If value of a hotel room could be actually quantitated this hotel offered more value per dollar charged (~$70 for one night) than any I can recall.
We would not hesitate to stay at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Littlechuckie,

Thank you so much for choosing Red Roof Inn in Sioux Falls as your resting location during your travels. I am happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our rooms and the friendliness of our staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Stacy Patridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus Falls, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed at the Red Roof Inn for the Gary Allan concert. I rented the Dakota Suite. I was surprised by the size of the suite for what the amount of money I paid. It was only $10.00 more per night. It was spacious and very clean. It is very close to all the shopping centers and close to the interstate. I enjoyed my stay here and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Spend more for the Suite, they only have one though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear ajohnson2726,

Thank you again for choosing Red Roof Inn in Sioux Falls as your resting location during your travels. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our rooms and the friendliness of our staff. Our location is another bonus. We hope to see you again soon!

Stacy Patridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Convenient location. Clean room. Nice breakfast. Helpful, friendly, and outgoing staff. After 30 minutes, staff even called us to make sure the room was satisfactory. A small gesture like bottles of water upon check in and check out were appreciated. This is what makes Red Roof Inn a good value.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Debbie9960,

Thank you so much for choosing Red Roof Inn in Sioux Falls as your resting location during your travels. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Here at Red Roof we take great pride in the cleanliness of our rooms and the friendliness of our staff. Our location is another plus. We hope to see you again soon!

Stacy Patridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lupton, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Sorry bu this hotel employees are really bad I reserve a room trough priceline and due to bad weather and road closures on june 17 2014 we were stranded on the road on our way to Sioux Falls South Dakota, and we spend almost 7 hours waiting for the state troopers to open the road,
and then they turn us back to another town and we spend the night in our vehicle, due to lack of hotel rooms and the day after we finally went trough Sioux falls, obviously the 17 at night I called the hotel to cancel well guess what? when price line called back the hotel to be sure it was cancelled they told the customer service guy from priceline that we were there check in and check out, so you can imagine what the guy from priceline told me, now I called the RED ROOF INN to ask them why do they said that and their answer was if you did not call before 5:pm we can`t cancel like I have to guess that the weather was going to be bad. With this I will never reserve anything at this franchise.

Room Tip: chose some where else not at this one.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear federico h,

I am sorry to hear that you and your family had such a bad trip with the weather situation. I am also sorry that we were not able to refund your room to you. With all online reservations the hotel does not have access to the guests credit card information. We receive a service card from the online travel agency and that is the card we charge. We would of helped you cancel your reservation with Priceline if we had know you were stuck in a weather situation, if you would have contacted us on the date of arrival. Our cancelation policy is before 4pm on the date of arrival, now I do know that the third party online agency's require a 24 hour cancelation. Again I am sorry that this experience has left a sour taste and I hope that in the future you give an opportunity to serve you better. Please remember when booking to always call the hotel directly.


Stacy Patridge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My daughter forgot her purse in the breakfast area. We were two hours into our westward trip across South Dakota before it's loss was noticed. A call to the motel confirmed that Jeremy had noticed it, tried to locate us in the parking lot, but then took it behind the front desk. When we returned, everything was intact. Our trip was delayed, but not miserable! ;-)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Inga48192,

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn in Sioux Falls as your resting place during your travels. I am very happy to hear that Jeremy was able to locate your purse and keep it safe for you until you returned. We hope to see you again soon.

Stacy Patridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls

Address: 3500 Gateway Blvd., Sioux Falls, SD 57106
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sioux Falls
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sioux Falls
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
#16 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
#17 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great Sioux Falls location! Red Roof Sioux Falls is located 1/2 mile from Empire Mall, and within 5 miles of University of Sioux Falls, Augustana University, Avera McKennan Hospital, Air National Guard, Sioux Empire Fairgrounds, Sioux Falls Arena and Sioux Falls Stadium. Red Roof Sioux Falls is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair and more. We feature free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi high-speed internet throughout the building, a fitness center on site, coin laundry, a suite, and interior corridors. Complimentary coffee-house style coffee, tea and USA Today in the Lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.