We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second stay was as good as the first” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3500 Gateway Blvd., Sioux Falls, SD 57106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Our second stay was as good as the first”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Our second stay in past eight months. Simple basic motel in a very, very convenient location just off the I-29 freeway and 41st. The facilities were in good condition and clean. Although our room was facing the freeway it was quiet enough for sleep. Good bed. Every staff person we saw was friendly. The breakfast is minimal-Belgian waffle, cold cereal, oat meal, small muffins and breakfast rolls, coffee and juice typical of this price range. Free WiFi worked for us.

Room Tip: Our room was in the east side facing the freeway but was still quiet enough for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Robert B,

Glad to hear that your a returning guest, and we hope you continue to stay loyal to us. With our easily accessible location right off I-29 we are able to provide quick access to shopping, dinning, and entertainment in Sioux Falls growing night life. During your next visit with us please make sure you try our biscuits and gravy, we thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again soon.

Stacy Patridge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    97
    45
    13
    5
See reviews for
68
82
39
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Waukee, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel is old but has been recently remodeled. No frills room but it is clean and well kept. The staff is courteous and prompt with service. Hot breakfast every morning. The rates are reasonable and the location is excellent. Easy access to restaurants and shopping as well as local attractions.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room away from the steps leading up from the lobby, they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Rebecca W,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our hotel with others. You are correct when you talk about our location being close to shopping and dining. We have shared your comments about the staff and we thank you for the compliments. The hot breakfast is new, along with the updates to the property you experienced while you were here. Thank you again, and see you on your next visit to the Red Rood Inn Sioux Falls.

Stacy Patridge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We were at the hotel staying while visiting our daughter and her family. Our daughter booked the room for 1 night and we decided that we would stay an additional 3 nights because we were impressed with our stay up to that point. Rooms were clean and good breakfast bar. She booked thoses nights with her credit card thru expedia. We came back from a stressful day about 9:30 pm to find our room key would not work so we took key to front desk the lady their reprogramed our same key so we got in our room to find out all our belongings had been moved out. We went back to front desk and the ladies said they had moved our belongings to a store room because the room had not been paid for which is not true. We found all our belongings in a store room on a cart and in plastic garbage bags. The ladies at the desk said we would have to talk to the manager in the morning. We talked to the manager the next morning He was of no help at all. All he would do is blame expedia. I tried to get a receipt all he would say is he could not give us a receipt because it was booked thru expedia even though we did get a recieipt for the first night, which was also booked thru expedia. By the time we got everything back in the room that evening it was about 11:30 pm We also asked the manager why he did not call us before moving all our belongings He said he did not have the right phone number which I do not believe was the case. Not a happy stay for us to say the least.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear ROGER G G,

I am so sorry for the interruption and misunderstanding with your reservation information. When a guest books through a third party website like Expedia, Orbitz, or Priceline I would like to let you know that the hotel does not get your personal information. We get the name of the guest that booked the room and a pre-paid one time use credit card provided by the online company. I am truly sorry that you were upset with your stay. Here at Red Roof we try to provide our guest with the up most customer satisfaction but I see we have missed are mark with you and I hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you the next time your stay requires a room in Sioux Falls.

Stacy Patridge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I went to Sioux Falls to see some family just this past weekend. I had never stayed with you guys until then. It was a great first impression. The staff was wonderful and welcoming. The room spotless. I hope to return soon. Keep up the good work.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Klee1984,

First impressions are lasting impressions for guests and other travelers. Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your "First Impression", from the friendly, welcoming staff to the clean comfortable room. We definitely look forward to your next visit to Sioux Falls and coming back to see us.

Stacy Patridge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed on a Saturday night with my wife and dog. Things were going well until the drunkards started wandering the halls. The noise started about 11:30 which caused my dog to jump out if his bed and bark at the door. We calmed him down and we went back to sleep. At 1:30 it started again when the bar patrons were returning. We heard every car door slam, every room door slam and every inebriated individual walk the halls and tell their buddy "how hot that girl was". We had our door knocked on twice, both of which sent my dog into hysterics. Around 3am I decided it wasn't worth waiting them out so I got up to go tell the front desk to ask them to return to their room when I found the noise makers STANDING BY the front desk (my room was only a few doors down from the lobby).
Rather than cause a huge scene I decided I could drive the 3 hours home and get some peaceful sleep.
Overall the room was clean and comfortable, But if you are a light sleeper, beware, as sound proofing materials must have been invented after this hotel was built. And if you are looking for a party the lobby is the place to be (around 3 am anyway).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear 836Larry,

We are truly sorry that your visit with us was disappointing. The noise disturbance that caused your pet to become unsettled is not standard for us. As for the guest in the lobby when you came to talk to the front desk clerk Alex, we can assure you she was advising them to keep down the noise, because we have other guests in the hotel. She left other staff members a note advising us of the situation, in hopes that we would have been able to make our guests feel more confident in the way we handle situations like this. We do hope that you will come back and see us again very soon. Again our sincerest apologies.

Stacy Patridge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I stayed here two weekends in a row i even forgot my cell phone on Tuesday night and they kept it safe for me until I returned in 5 days. I found all the staff very helpful and friendly. Great location to food and shopping

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Michelle F,

Thank you for sharing your experience you had at our location with other travelers. It was a privilege to hold on to your property for you, until your next visit and if you should leave something behind again we will be happy to take of that for you as well. I value our guest and that's what we call going the extra mile. Thank you again.

Stacy Patridge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I've stayed here a few times recently, because of the good value. The rooms have been fully updated and are always clean. We got a deluxe room on a weekend for under $70, which included a microwave and fridge. The staff is friendly. There is breakfast in the morning. ...Nothing to complain about in my experiences.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Dkamjfish,

Thank you for the wonderful review. I have shared it with the other staff. We enjoy having you stay with us. We would also like you to know for your next stay that we have upgraded our breakfast to include waffles and biscuits and gravy. Hope to see you again soon!

Stacy Patridge,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls

Address: 3500 Gateway Blvd., Sioux Falls, SD 57106
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sioux Falls
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sioux Falls
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
#16 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
#17 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great Sioux Falls location! Red Roof Sioux Falls is located 1/2 mile from Empire Mall, and within 5 miles of University of Sioux Falls, Augustana University, Avera McKennan Hospital, Air National Guard, Sioux Empire Fairgrounds, Sioux Falls Arena and Sioux Falls Stadium. Red Roof Sioux Falls is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair and more. We feature free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi high-speed internet throughout the building, a fitness center on site, coin laundry, a suite, and interior corridors. Complimentary coffee-house style coffee, tea and USA Today in the Lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.