We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special but good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3500 Gateway Blvd., Sioux Falls, SD 57106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 49 hotels in Sioux Falls
GreenLeadersBronze level
Selby, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nothing special but good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed for one night on October 12. Room is comfortable but only 2 bath towels. Might be tough if a couple is staying in room! Quiet in the place at night, but front desk implied this is not always true! Breakfast is small - NO waffles! Only hot item was hard-boiled eggs. No pool. Exercise room [didn't use]. Location is handy to mall, Interstate, etc. AAA rate of $53 was decent. If you're not looking for ANY frills, this is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Top [second] floor is always my choice, to avoid possible noisy upstairs neighbours
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Nothing special but good value,

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn for your stay in Sioux Falls. We pride ourselves on providing friendly, professional service at a competitive rate. We are always glad to hear that we made someone's stay comfortable. We hope that you will choose Red Roof the next time you visit Sioux Falls.

Stacy Patridge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    81
    35
    12
    3
See reviews for
53
61
37
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Luther, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

After driving 16 hours we were ready for a good night sleep. This place was wonderful. We had stopped at several places to check prices and then I remember I had a coupon that I picked up from a rest area down the road. Sure came in handy. We never pay over $85.00 dollars for a room so the coupon helped out. Breakfast was basic but what more do you need when you are traveling? Front desk was very friendly and we will return.

Room Tip: picked up a coupon travel book at a rest area and I found a coupon for this hotel. Help us out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Penny K,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Red Roof Inn. We enjoy providing friendly, professional service that is worthy of "wonderful" reviews. We appreciate your patronage and we hope that you will consider Red Roof Inn your home away from home on your next stay in Sioux Falls.

Stacy Patridge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, PA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Inside, it is not as bad as it looks outside. We chose it as a money saver on our trip out west. It was a bargain at about $65 for 2 adults. Not much of a breakfast but there is a very nice Perkins Pancakes a 5-minute walk away. Those at the front desk were very nice and aimed to please. When we got there, parking was almost impossible ... had to park on a curb away from the building. One mobile home parked sideways, taking up about 6 spaces ... that was not appreciated. The room was surprisingly clean, and bed was comfortable..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear marinedad71,

Thank you for posting such a great review of our Red Roof Inn. We pride ourselves on providing friendly and professional service, clean and comfortable rooms and a affordable price. We like to give our guests great reasons to come and visit again. We hope that you will stay with us on your next trip to Sioux Falls.

Stacy Patridge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shediac, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a warm reception upon arrival to the motel. It took only a few minutes to get registered. The room was comfortable and appealing to the eye. We had a good nights rest. We were travelling South Dakota for several days and the girl at the reception was very interested in our travels and wished us well when we left. She even offered to help us get a room for our next night and our destination. We had to decline...not knowing where our next destination was going to be! A Red Roof Motel will definately be a place we'll look for when we go on vacation next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Claudlen,

Thank you for sharing you thoughts of our hotel and your vacation stay with other travelers. We hope you had great stays at other locations and that your South Dakota visit was more then you expected. We are happy to see we have won over another traveler into looking to stay only with Red Roof Inns. We hope to see you again very soon.


Stacy Patridge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Very happy so far with our extended stay- a diamond in the ruff for sure! My husband is staying there for business- he says the beds are super comfy and it is really clean. It has everything he needs! The management is fabulous!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Sassypantsfreckles,

Thank you for your kind response to your stay at Red Roof. We appriciate your continued patronage and support. We look forward to future visits from your and your family and hope that we can continue to make them great.

Stacy Patridge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

What a great experience, felt nice to be in a hotel that has it together. The personnel are great, polite, respectful....all around a wonderful group of people with excellent customer service skills. That goes for the whole staff. Rooms are cozy and comfortable, and very clean. I will be definitely staying here again and recommending to all my friends and family.

David D.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear David D,

Thank for the great review. We had so much enjoyment having you and your team stay with us. We look for to your next visit.

Stacy Patridge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We attended a wedding in nearby Parker, SD and the closest hotels available were in Sioux Falls. We found the Red Roof Inn on the internet and the reviews were excellent. Let me throw in my own EXCELLENT rating for this hotel. From the front desk to the custodial staff, everyone was smiling and helpful. Zee (and Siri) helped us find used book stores nearby using her own smartphone. I hear she even stayed up making home made muffins and bringing them in to work for breakfast! Ross at the front desk assisted us in entertainment venues in the evening by providing directions and maps. We would DEFINITELY stay here again! It was clean, quiet and made for a restful night's sleep after 1200 on the road.

Room Tip: If you intend to get in a workout, try to be close to the exercise room. No weight machines but plen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear marinedad71,

I have shared your comments with Zee and Rod in regards to how helpful they were to you and your family. Zee is very considerate of her fellow staff members when it comes to making treats for her housekeeping staff. Rod has been with us for a couple of years now and his helpfullness has gone along way with most guests. He is always a happy smile at such a late hour. Thank you for the wonderful review and we look forward you next visit.

Stacy Patridge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls

Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls Hotel
Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Red Roof Inn
Address: 3500 Gateway Blvd., Sioux Falls, SD 57106
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sioux Falls
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sioux Falls
#9 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
#15 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great Sioux Falls location! Red Roof Sioux Falls is located 1/2 mile from Empire Mall, and within 5 miles of University of Sioux Falls, Augustana University, Avera McKennan Hospital, Air National Guard, Sioux Empire Fairgrounds, Sioux Falls Arena and Sioux Falls Stadium. Red Roof Sioux Falls is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair and more. We feature free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi high-speed internet throughout the building, a fitness center on site, coin laundry, a suite, and interior corridors. Complimentary coffee-house style coffee, tea and USA Today in the Lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.