We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but don't bite on the Pizza Propaganda; it's terrible” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3500 Gateway Blvd., Sioux Falls, SD 57106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 48 hotels in Sioux Falls
GreenLeadersBronze level
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice place, but don't bite on the Pizza Propaganda; it's terrible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Had a nice stay at this property while visiting the Sioux Falls Jazz Festival for the 1st and LAST time. The rooms are clean, modern and well cared for. The maids were friendly, the Front desk staff (all but one blond girl; we checked in a couple hours before the Festival started) were friendly and helpful, but this Pizza place they put ads in the room for....I forget the name but I think "boss" was in it. I talked to a couple of the maids the next morning after check in and asked them who's making the best pizza and they cheerfully said the name of the pizza place in the ads placed in the room. They also mentioned how incredible the chicken was. So we ordered it, and the Pizza was SOOO mediocre; I don't think it's unfair at all to compare it to Little Caesars, which I consider the worst of all the chain pizza places. The chicken, however, was THE WORST fried chicken I ever had. Dried right out, greasy and tasteless....at 4pm? Really? There has to be some link between the hotel and this chain. DO NOT ORDER from there!! Anyway, like I said, the rooms are better than average, and the service just fine outside of flogging the lousy pizza place and the weird tendency of the hotel management responding to every Trip Advisor review, good or bad. The festival? Well, it was free. But not smoke free, so we won't be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Rink64,

We are happy to see that your stay and your room were satisfactory. We would like to say that we are not in partnership with Boss' Pizza we just like to promote local business. As for the response to every review on trip advisor good, or bad, we like to let the guests know that we are listening and that we care what all travelers have to say. We are sorry that the festival was not the biggest hit of your trip. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you for telling others about your experience here in Sioux Falls.

Stacy Patridge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    90
    38
    12
    5
See reviews for
61
76
38
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I would definitely stay there again. Pleasant atmosphere and clean everywhere. We were returning from a trip in Portland. The front desk clerks were friendly and helpful. Met all my expectations. I was stop at a Red Roof Inn the next time I need a hotel room.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Denise S,

We strive to make every guest feel as welcome as we made you feel. We are happy to see that we made the trip from Portland an enjoyable one. We have shared you comments with the housekeeping staff and the front desk staff. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with other travelers. We hope to see you again soon.

Stacy Patridge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We always stay at the Red Roof Inn!! The team is great and the rooms are really nice and they just updated stuff for better your needs. We love the Red Roof Inn in Sioux Falls and will continue to stay here!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Paula K,

Thank you for writing a review and allowing others to see just what you think of the Red Roof Inn SIoux Falls. We truely enjoy seeing you and your family. It has been four years since you started coming and staying with us and we feel like we have watched your family grow just like you have watched our property change for the better. Thank you again and we will see you again soon.

Stacy Patridge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

In town visiting friends. Have used Red Roof before and have not been disappointed. The two at the desk when I checked in were very polite. The room had nothing wrong with it. While the place was booked solid (glad I had a reservation) the noise level was acceptable for an evening and quiet overnight.

Green Features: The option was available, and I took advantage of, housekeeping did not change the linens.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Cjbeun,

We would love to welcome you and your family back again when you come to Sioux Falls to visit. Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers to see. We have shared you comments with our staff, and we are happy to know that even with a full house that things were quiet for you. Thank you again and can't wait to see you again.

Stacy Patridge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildrose, North Dakota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The front desk personnel was incredibly busy, tasked with keeping the front desk going plus the breakfast room operating smoothly. Still both of the women were pleasant and ready to help. I appreciated that! Now, how about those shower heads? C'mon, those went out in 1970. The water pressure was non-existent. Fix it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear leslie d,

Thank you for the comments in regards to how well the front desk staff were able to multi-task and keep a smile on thier faces for the guests. You are correct the shower heads have got to go, and that is why we just finished replacing them this week. Thank you again for your comments and we hope that you will come back soon to try the new showers.

Stacy Patridge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
big thicket Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I booked a non-smoking queen bed room using "hotelsONE" but this Red Roof Inn gave us a smoking room with a standard size bed. Our room was at the very farthest end of the building where the WiFi signal was not working. I could log on to the hotel's WiFi but could NOT get on the internet from there. In the hotel lobby the WiFi and Internet access system worked just fine.

Another problem with this room (number 145) - it was 6 feet shorter than all the other rooms in that wing of the hotel. This was to make room for the staircase leading to the second floor. The staircase ended right in front of our door so people were clomping up and down all night long and going in and out the exit door to the outside that also was right next to our room door. Other room doors in the area were slamming all night long because of the very powerful springs that keep the room doors closed.

Room Tip: The rooms at the far end of the first floor do not have non-smoking signs on the doors. Although our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear biggestfoot,

I am sorry if you felt that we did not honor your non-smoking room request. I can assure that room 145 is a non-smoking room. Yes it is next to the back door and the back stairs. If this caused you a problem we would of been happy to move you to a different room. Again I am truely sorry for any inconvience this may have caused you and your family. I hope you will give us the oppertunity to better serve you the next you come to the Red Roof Inn.


Stacy Patridge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I needed a place to stay in Sioux Falls, SD, and went online to find a hotel. When I saw what the Red Roof Inn was charging ($67.00 for a Monday night), I called them to make a reservation. When I got to my room, it was great! Nice, clean, and pretty quiet (Interstate 29 was about 150 feet away, so I really didn't hear the traffic). If I ever have to stay in Sioux Falls, SD, this is where I am going to stay.

Green Features: The Red Roof Inn practices being green. They have a card in the room that will tell you what they will do in being green.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Lonnie G,

We are so happy the we enticed you with our low rates and then impressed you with our clean accomodations. Thank you for choosing the Red Roof Inn and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Stacy Patridge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls

Address: 3500 Gateway Blvd., Sioux Falls, SD 57106
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sioux Falls
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
#14 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
#14 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great Sioux Falls location! Red Roof Sioux Falls is located 1/2 mile from Empire Mall, and within 5 miles of University of Sioux Falls, Augustana University, Avera McKennan Hospital, Air National Guard, Sioux Empire Fairgrounds, Sioux Falls Arena and Sioux Falls Stadium. Red Roof Sioux Falls is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair and more. We feature free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi high-speed internet throughout the building, a fitness center on site, coin laundry, a suite, and interior corridors. Complimentary coffee-house style coffee, tea and USA Today in the Lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.