We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3500 Gateway Blvd., Sioux Falls, SD 57106   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Wanted a nice, cheap place to stay in for one night. The motel is very nice for the price. Comfortable beds, nice desk space, small clean rooms. Few items for breakfast, but once again due to price you can't fairly expect a huge variety. Desk personel were friendly (but I gotta say, after a long day I just want to check in my room not be told how crappy your computer system is) only negative was the parking. When I got back at 1am there was no where to park.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Dear Aaron,

I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Sioux Falls Red Roof. We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, I hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Stacy Patridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    97
    45
    13
    5
See reviews for
68
82
40
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We had an advanced reservation and checked in after 9:00 pm. We were assigned room 140, a nonsmoking standard queen. Upon opening the door, we were greeted with a musty smell and a room that was so small that there was barely enough room to walk around the queen bed. The room was right next to several smoking rooms and was three doors away from an unsecured outside entrance that had in and out traffic all night. Interstate 29 was the view from our room and the noise from passing cars and trucks was very loud until the early morning hours. At 2:00 am a couple decided to take a loud verbal disagreement into the hall which erased any hope of sleep for about an hour. We needed to be on the road early, so I went to breakfast when it opened at 7:00 am. There were some bagels with cream cheese, mini muffins, doughnuts, coffee and bananas. The bagels were colder than room temperature and there was only one toaster with two bread slots which already had people waiting in line. There were trays available so you could take your food to your room (eating space was very limited). Positives were that our small dog was accepted without an additional fee and the room cleanliness was OK; however, it was not a restful nor comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear Traveling Solo,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sioux Falls Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the noise and unpleasant smell you experienced.

I can assure you that corrective measures will be taken to ensure a similar situation does not occur in the future. I am also aware that if the room was available we would have been more then happy to have moved you. As for the south entrance door, have have replaced the lock mechanism three times and have a fourth one on order, so we are aware of the issue. At Red Roof, it is our intention to have your confidence in our abilities to prevent similar problems in the future. Please know that we value you as our guest and appreciate your business. Thank you for sharing your concerns and I hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you at Red Roof the next time your travel plans require lodging.

Stacy Patridge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

The property looks good, and the room was clean and inexpensive, but the beds were not very comfortable. Also their continental breakfast had to be the skimpiest we have come across in out travels. No cereal, 1 slice of bread, a couple of cut bagels, and little else. We had a reservation and we always ask for a higher floor. We were given the second floor, but no elevator which is hard on a guy with 2 replaced hips to navigate.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear Gregg42,

I am happy to read that you liked our building and rooms. I am also happy that you shared your concerns with us. I agree stairs can be troublesome for a few, and we would have been happy to have placed you on the first floor if requested. As for breakfast; fruit, toast and juice is a good snack to start the day. Just to let you know we will be adding a few more items like; milk, oatmeal and cereal. I would like to invite you to follow our Facebook Page for Red Roof Inn of Sioux Falls, so that when your travel plans require it you can see the progress and changes we have made to our property. Again thank you for your comments.

Stacy Patridge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, South Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed at the Red Roof because we got stranded because of the weather. We wanted to get home, but the snowy roads wouldn't allow it. We saw the Red Roof sign and decided to try it. We were so happy with the clean rooms and the friendly staff that we are going to stay there every time we are in the area. Really clean rooms and an excellent value. Loved it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
I am sorry to hear that the weather conditions prevented you and your family from getting home. I am however thankful for your wonderful review, and kind words. I look forward to seeing your more often weather permitted and all. Thank you again for your time and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truman MN
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Real nice room at good rate. Breakfast was ok! Parking can be a challege if you get back late.
Lots of places close by to eat. Close to the shopping mall. Seems to be a pretty safe part of town as well.

Room Tip: Call direct for the best price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
We at the Red Roof know that the economy is tough so we strive to keep the best rates available to our guest. We may not have a big breakfast but we do offer clean and affordable rooms, with the best practice of GUEST SERVICE being our number one commitment. We encourage you and other travelers to please send as much feedback as possible to us, in order to help us get even better. Thank you for your time and please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisseton, SD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Traveling late and finding a coupon for this Red Roof Inn, we decided to pull off for an unplanned stay. Everything was so positive we have continued to make this our Sioux Falls motel of choice. The staff has always been courteous and helpful, the facility is clean, beds so comfortable, and the breakfast adequate to get one off on a good start. We also appreciate the dog being with us for no extra charge. We highly recommend the Red Roof Inn of Sioux Falls!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for being a continued guest at our Red Roof Inn. Guest service is the priority that we strive to excel at. Please continue to come see what new and exciting things we are going to have in store over the next year. We are expanding our breakfast because I have listened to the calling of our guests wants and that seems to be the focus, "After all breakfast is the most important meal of the day". Not to mention the exciting yet challenging remodel we have instore to become more modern with the times. I enjoy ALL feedback the good and bad from our guests so I learn what areas we excel at and which areas of the property we can imporve at. So thank you again for being a continued guest and as always please give us your opinion, it will only make us stronger.


Stacy Patridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Booked the room not quite sure what to expect for the price. Pleasantly surprised! Staff was very friendly, bed was great and room/bathroom was very clean. No built in hairdryer but I survived. Didn't miss paying for a bar/restaurant - just went next door. Food was great! Will come back again w/my hairdryer next time!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy P, Manager at Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for the excellent review. At the Red Roof Inn we try to provide you with a knowledgable staff to help make your stay as comfortable as possible. We were very excited to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future! We have a great many of our guest rave about the local bar/resturant next door. I recommend them to all our guest when possible. I will also pass on the great review to my other team members, because without them this would not be possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls

Address: 3500 Gateway Blvd., Sioux Falls, SD 57106
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sioux Falls
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sioux Falls
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
#16 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
#17 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great Sioux Falls location! Red Roof Sioux Falls is located 1/2 mile from Empire Mall, and within 5 miles of University of Sioux Falls, Augustana University, Avera McKennan Hospital, Air National Guard, Sioux Empire Fairgrounds, Sioux Falls Arena and Sioux Falls Stadium. Red Roof Sioux Falls is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite countertops, a comfortable easy chair and more. We feature free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi high-speed internet throughout the building, a fitness center on site, coin laundry, a suite, and interior corridors. Complimentary coffee-house style coffee, tea and USA Today in the Lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Sioux Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.