We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet friendly, people friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites South to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites South
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3216 S Carolyn Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Pet friendly, people friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

There is no such thing as a perfect hotel and I'm convinced that if the hotel has a decent staff your chances of having a pleasant stay are pretty good. There is no such thing as a perfect hotel room! We traveled with a medium sized dog and found the room, clean (no short curlies in the bathroom), plenty of places to walk the dog (there is a large field out the back door of the hotel and to the left about a block away where you could throw a ball for Fido). The staff was incredibly friendly - even the workers who were hanging out in the breakfast area waiting for their shift to end were friendly.

There's a beautiful dog park a short drive away, fully fenced with a large and small dog area. It was flooded the day we were there but from what I could see it looked like it may have been 2 acres of land.

I would stay here again because like I said above, there's just no "perfect" room but the price, location, and friendliness of the staff made it good.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    28
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
22
13
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Our family spent a night at the Quality Inn & Suites South on our way back from the Black Hills. We had our small dog with us and had spent the past few days in the "dog room" at the last hotel (which were not pleasant). What a relief to be allowed to stay in a clean, updated hotel room. The kids acted like it was a 5-star hotel and didn't want to leave the room. The pool is quite small but looked clean. The beds and pillows were great. I had my best night's sleep during the whole trip. The only reason I am not giving the stay full marks is because the breakfast was lacking. The eggs looked plastic and the ham was so dry it curled around the edges. The gentleman helping with the breakfast, however, was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, South Dakota, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We decided at the last minute on Saturday evening to go to Sioux Falls and I was looking at motels close to the Empire Mall because that's where we were going on Sunday. We called the Quality Inn and were able to get a room at a great rate for the same evening. Upon arriving at the motel and checking into our room, everything was good, we had a room with 2 queen beds and each bed had 4 pillows on them, so that's one thing we didn't have to get from the front desk and we normally do at other motels. Room was nice and updated also, the only minor complaint was that when we showered after being in the pool, there was no bath mat in the tub, so it was real slippery and I had to be careful not to fall. Continental breakfast the next morning was good also, glad to see eggs and ham along with the regular stuff. I could not get the remote to turn off the tv when I was ready to go to bed so I had to turn it off by hand, and the alarm clock was set faster than our watches or cell phones. Beds were real comfy also, I definitely recommend staying here. Will definitely consider it next time we go to the mall

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonner Springs, Kansas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

If you want a nice room close to the airport, but some distance from everything else, this is the place to stay. The rooms are spacious and clean and provide amenities to make your stay comfortable. Its distance from restaurants and other facilities needed by a traveler reduces its attractiveness for anyone interested in staying in the area very long.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here while visiting family in the Su Fu area, and wanted something close to shopping and their house both, this hotel fit the bill and was in our price range.

Enjoyed staying here as it was really relaxing and quiet. Although located close to the highway we didn't hear any of that noise at all. Front desk was pleasant and helpful and we enjoyed the breakfast each morning.

They did need to fix a walk way from the back parking lot to the side door, it was a little muddy/wet.

We will definitely stay again if the need arises.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar, Minnesota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Had a good stay at this location. The room was comfortable and had all I needed. The room had a nice work station, good wifi, and a good choice of television channels. I did not use the fitness center and pool but I will on my next visit. The front desk staff was very pleasant and accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

When checking in we thought we had reservations at the Comfort Inn which was next door. We were surprised our reservations were at the Quality inn. They have not disappointed us. Front desk personnel were friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms are clean, newly remodeled and comfortable. Definitely quiet. Our only complaint is the bathrooms are small. Good value for your money. I'd stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites South

Address: 3216 S Carolyn Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites South 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.