We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once they find you a clean room, it's ok.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge North

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge North
5100 N Cliff Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57104 (Formerly Comfort Inn North)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #48 of 48 hotels in Sioux Falls
Winnipeg, MB Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Once they find you a clean room, it's ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We checked in really late at night, and it took 3 tries to find us a room that was made up. The first time we were given keys, and walked into a room that we thought had people in it. After the third time the front desk guy came with us to make sure the room was good. Since we were just there to sleep it met our needs, but the next morning, I heard people complaining that the staff had entered the room to catch him smoking in a non-smoking room, and then kicking them out. Apparently they had just walked into the room. I can't comment, as we didn't have that experience and what I heard was second hand, but just be careful when staying here. Breakfast was awful, stale bagels.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    11
    10
    10
See reviews for
12
11
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brigham City, Utah, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stopped for the night traveling during Sturgis bike week.

Room was clean, breakfast was adequate, price was right.

I would stay again.

I really don't know hat to say to meet the two hundred word minimum but I guess I can ramble on about why I can't understand why I can't just make a few simple comments and move on.

We were not looking for a five star experience, but did not have to pay a five star price. I hope that is two hundred words.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a week ago the girl at the front wasn't trained on how to split payment. Tonight same issue plus the girl answered her cell phone while checking us in and carried on a conversation then wasn't sure where our rooms were located in the building!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Poor help at desk. Made reservation early. Had two rooms,one was poor and one was horrible. Asked for a different room due to animal stench,NO rooms available. Stayed there twice before and tolerable,has went DOWNHill. WILL never stay there again. Should be reimbursed CASH for at least one of the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, WI
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were just looking for a place to sleep. The positive, the breakfast was decent and the hot tub was nice. The negative, I'm not sure if they recently shampooed or what the problem was, but the floor of our room felt damp and the room smelled musty. The pool needed to be cleaned. The staff was friendly. I rated the room poor because of the floor/room smell.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Well the negative reviews I have read span over several years. It's too bad that nothing has changed! Worst hotel we have ever stayed in! I have stayed in several ChoiceHotels this year and was shocked by the condition of this place. I called Choice to let them know what this place is like and that they should be embarrassed to have this hotel under their name!!! Check in took 30 minutes, the girl at the desk just kept saying "I am new here...I don't know how to do that." The lock on the outside door was broken so anyone could walk in and out all night long. Our room smelled of mold and stale cigarettes. There was dried urine on the toilet, obviously not cleaned from the guest before. Holes in the wall in the bathroom and the shower curtain dangling from the wall, couldn't close it at all. Water pressure non existent in the shower. Alarm clock and smoke detectors broken. It was just GROSS! We didn't check in until 10:30 p.m. after traveling all day and would have normally complained to the front desk but all we wanted to do was sleep and get up and leave. We were leery about sleeping on the beds since it was clear that they didn't clean the room. I also felt that "we get what we pay for" but then I changed my mind. I paid for a decent place to rest and I did not receive that! I wish I would have read up on this place before I booked it. I was looking for something close to the Interstate and I just assumed that any ChoiceHotel would be decent...I was wrong.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel! Disgusting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We booked this place as a stop over on our way home from a lenghty trip. As such, I looked for cheap, an boy o boy did I get it.
First the good: Close to the Intersate, close to a Perkins, Arbys, McDonalds and gas stations, and the girl who checked us in (On the evening of July 11th) was very friendly and helpful.
The bad: This place reeked....badly. The hallways smelled old and musty, the pool was tiny and was full of debris(Its an indoor pool, how does it get full of stuff?!?). The room, while admittedly spacious, was old, tired, smelled funny, and I was a little reticent to even take my shoes off. The carpets were that gross, and the A/C, which was set for "Max" was blowing warm air. Boy was that an uncomfortable night.
We set our alarm clock for 7am...By 7:15am were were packed, checked out, and back on the interstate. We couldn't get out of there fast enough.
Be warned. And believe the crappy reviews on here. This place needs a big overhaul.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
Free Parking, B...
Show More
7.1 mi away
Days Inn Empire
Days Inn Empire
#29 of 48 in Sioux Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
6.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#35 of 48 in Sioux Falls
3.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
7.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sioux Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sioux Falls Airport
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
7.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sioux Falls
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sioux Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge North

Address: 5100 N Cliff Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57104 (Formerly Comfort Inn North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 48 hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.