We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hard to find, reservation not as it should be” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Sioux Falls

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Sioux Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sioux Falls
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4501 W Empire Place, Sioux Falls, SD 57106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #21 of 49 hotels in Sioux Falls
Kenora, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very hard to find, reservation not as it should be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a very hard hotel to find - glad I had a GPS. The lobby and breakfast area look like they have recently been updated. The breakfast consisted of hot and cold items and had a good variety of offerings. The room seemed very dark and was on the small side but it was clean and comfortable. I had asked for two side by side or adjoining rooms as we were a family of five and wanted everyone to have a bed to sleep in. I had received an email from the manger that this had been booked. When we arrived our rooms were at opposite ends of the hotel. The front desk clerk was unsympathetic stating that she "didn't do the room assignments." One of our rooms was two doors down from the pool. The sound from the pool continued until midnight - adults partying until it shut down. The lobby computer was so slow that I gave up trying to use it. The wi fi seemed to work OK on the cell phone? The parking lot was torn up to be repaved but it didn't create any problems. I would probably choose a different hotel if I were to visit Sioux Falls again.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor by the pool - very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Samanthandtravismom,
Thank you for your feedback of the Fairfield Inn Sioux Falls. I'm sorry that you had trouble finding the hotel. Please also accept my apology that your room assignments were not as expected. I understand how frustrating that would be and for that I am very sorry. We hope the next time you find yourself in Sioux Falls that you will give us another chance to make up for this.

Sincerely,
Darin P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    25
    14
    6
    0
See reviews for
26
14
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cordova, Tn.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I enjoyed the motel even though it was on business. I had a king room (pillows weren't very comfortable) with plenty of room - micro -refg. with a roll out desk partition for your laptop or what ever - large screen TV - plenty of channels to surf. The breakfast consisted of numerous items: waffles - 5 kinds of cold cereal - oatmeal with raisins - walnuts and brown sugar to mix too your liking. coffee little weak. had boil eggs - scramble eggs - with sausage - plenty of condiments to add to eggs - salsa - cheese. Strawberries - syrup for waffles. The staff was friendly and willing to help with your problems. Local and USA morning papers.

Room Tip: Rooms on west side face I-29 and are noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for one night, passing through Sioux Falls on our way back home.

The hotel is located behind the Empire Mall and next to Toys R Us. It's a little hard to find the entrance and is easiest to get off at the Empire Mall (41st St) exit and follow the road around to the back of the mall by Sears. From there, go through the Toy's R Us Parking lot for easiest access to the hotel parking lot.

We arrived a little early, around 2:30 pm on a Saturday evening and both of our rooms were ready and right next door to one another. The staff was very friendly and they had cookies and coffee available.

The entire property looks like it has been updated. The rooms and carpeting are done in a nice brown and teal with darker woods. The TV's are flatscreens and they do have a small fridge in the room along with the usual amenities. The beds were comfortable with white linens making everything look very clean. They do have an indoor pool on property which my daughter enjoyed after a long day of travel.

Breakfast in the morning was from 6 to 10 am and they had a large selection of items including scrambled eggs, sausages, waffles (even chocolate ones!), yogurt, cereal, breads/pastries, fruit, and a selection of drinks. Very pleased with the selection as it has something for everyone.

I enjoyed the location, which was close to great restaurants like the Texas Roadhouse plus the mall which has lots of stores and a decent food court. For the price you pay, this is a great option and close to I-29 for ease of travel. This was perhaps one little negative, as some of the rooms do face the interstate and are a little noisier. Will stay again when in Sioux Falls!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Outlets everywhere and accessible! If you're you like us, you have lots of devices that need to charge. Very modern room and comfortable. Kind of a retro feel. Staff was nice and the breakfast in the morning was good. Lots of variety. It was a little bit off of i-90 but not too far.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Very new construction. Rooms are very modern in design with lots of space and outlets for all the stuff that needs charging. Two Tv's, desk, nice couch, fridge, microwave. Little far south of i90 but in a large mall so lots to find near by.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were on a ten day trip out west and back, so we stayed at quite a few hotels. This was the poorest one. Both the bathroom door and room door squeaked, to the extent we thought Herman Munster might pop out. The number of tables in the breakfast area was not sufficient for the number of rooms. So folks had to stand and eat. Lastly, the coffee was the weakest I have ever tasted...luckily Starbucks was close by. We did stay at other Fairfield Inns on our trip that were nice, this one just isn't a good value. Look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is properly maintained
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear UP-Paddler,
Thank you for your review of the Fairfield Inn Sioux Falls. I apologize we did not provide you with the experience you expected while staying with us. I have addressed the squeaky doors with my maintenance team. Also, I am sorry that there was insufficient room for your family at breakfast. Please allow us the opportunity to exceed your expectations during your next visit.

Sincerely,
Darin P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed her 2 nights while getting our license renewed and it was great. My only recommendation is for staff to get familiar with policies regarding paper work needed from Hotel for renewal. The front desk staff not confident in this procedure. But the stay, the room, the food, was excellent, We would recommend to our friends and will stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Sioux Falls

Address: 4501 W Empire Place, Sioux Falls, SD 57106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
#21 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Sioux Falls 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off of I-29, our hotel in Sioux Falls, SD is situated next to the Empire Mall and The District entertainment venue. Within minutes from us is the Sioux Falls airport, Augustana College and the University of Sioux Falls. We offer a short commute to the popular attractions of Falls Park, Great Plains Zoo, Sioux Falls Arena, Sanford Pentagon and downtown Sioux Falls. Enjoy the local sports that includes: USHL Sioux Falls Stampede, NBADL Sioux Falls Skyforce, American Association Sioux Falls Canaries, USF Cougars and Augustana College Vikings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Fairfield Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Sioux Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.