We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2501 S Shirley Avenue, Sioux Falls, SD 57106 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Sioux Falls)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Eagan, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We brought several teams from our basketball program from Minnesota to stay at this hotel. We played at the Sanford Pentagon which was about 10-12 minutes down the highway. This hotel is conveniently located near every restaurant ever created (just kidding, but there are a TON of options), the highway, gas stations, and the mall. The staff were so friendly and accommodating. When we checked in, we needed a handicap accessible room that wasn't selected when we booked, they were able to fit our grandparents into an appropriate room. Our rooms were spacious, comfortable, and very clean. The hotel overall was fantastic, there were two buildings - just lots of space. The elevators are a little slow, but that isn't enough to deter you from staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for the wonderful comments about our Holiday Inn Express in Sioux Falls! I hope you had a wonderful weekend.

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    37
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
46
23
6
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beatrice, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was a great hotel!! It was clean, modern, the breakfast was wonderful!! The staff was very helpful and friendly. The pool and hot tub area was spacious and well kept! We will definitely stay here again when passing through!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express in Sioux Falls! Your comments mean a lot to our staff, owners and future guests! I appreciate that you took the time to review our property. Have a wonderful weekend!

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The staff here is amazing! Thank you for being so wonderful! Hotel is clean and located within walking distance to the Empire Mall, Outback Steakhouse, Movie Theater, Cracker Barrel and several other places to eat. I would choose this hotel over and over again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you! I really appreciate the WONDERFUL comments and I will make sure to share them with my staff. We strive to make sure every guest leaves here satisfied! Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express in Sioux Falls! We can't wait to see you again!

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agar, South Dakota, United States
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights on business. The hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly. It's situated a couple blocks from the mall but within walking distance to some nice restaurants and shopping. I didn't eat there but the breakfast looked pretty typical, breads, muffins, cereal, juice, coffee some hot hot foods also. The beds were really comfortable. There were some rambunctious kids on my floor but overall it was quiet throughout the stay. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments on our Holiday Inn Express in Sioux Falls! I appreciate that you took time out of your day to review our hotel.

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coarsegold, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Even though the first of our 3 nights was not stellar the staff accommodated us very well and the remaining stay was flawless. Can not say enough good things about the staff, comfort and cleanliness of the property. Excellent location with good food within walking distance and shopping nearby. Complimentary breakfast was better quality than most. We were so satisfied that we stayed again on our way back thru the area. A definate "stay there again" for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am glad to hear that even though your first night was not perfect, we were able to make up for it the rest of your stay. I appreciate your business!

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We were traveling through the area and only stayed one night but it was terrific! I stay in alot of HIE due to work discount and this is one of the best. I mentioned to the clerk at check-in that our previous night was horrible because of kid groups, so he put us in the back, quiet area, and on the top floor as we requested. It was wonderful! The room was just what we expected, very clean. The free breakfast was one of the best I've seen, so many choices and so much room to sit! The staff member brought us out some fresh eggs, and was so kind. When I checked out, I asked if this was a new place because it seemed like it, the clerk said 'no', but that the owners do a great job of staying on top of things. It shows, very nice place and I would stay here again in a heartbeat! It was also close to so many places to eat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review of our Holiday Inn Express in Sioux Falls! The items you mentioned that you love are why many of us choose to work here. Wonderful owners, caring staff, a clean safe property - it's what we expect and what we strive to provide to every customer! Thank you for choosing our hotel!

Mellanie Larson
General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Clean comfortable room. Price was good. Plenty of very good places to eat within walking distance. Staff very helpful and friendly
Will definitely stop here again when going through again. Breakfast was also very well stocked.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our Holiday Inn Express in Sioux Falls! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to return visit!

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall

Address: 2501 S Shirley Avenue, Sioux Falls, SD 57106 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Sioux Falls)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
#12 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls, a city rich in history and a regional hub for corporate and retail services. The history of Sioux Falls revolves around the cascades of the Big Sioux River. The falls were created approximately 14,000 years ago when the last glacial ice sheet redirected the flow of the Big Sioux River. With our hotel's convenient location, you will find us easily accessible to many attractions such as the Empire Mall, Sertoma Butterfly House and Outdoor Campus, Falls Park, the Washington Pavilion and Wild Water West Amusement Park. We are also conveniently located by many restaurants such as Ruby Tuesday and corporate locations such as banks, hospitals, Joe Foss Field Airport, and the Ivy Room Conference Center. Our hotel offers limited shuttle service to the airport and other corporate locations. While in Sioux Falls, make sure to sit along the banks of the mighty Big Sioux River at Falls Park, our city's namesake. While there you can check out the Horse Barn Art Gallery and Falls Park Tower. Welcome to Sioux Falls, the heart of America! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.