We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2501 S Shirley Avenue, Sioux Falls, SD 57106 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Sioux Falls)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“A nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Usual Holiday Inn Express standard.
Clean and comfortable rooms
Microwave, fridge and coffee maker.
Good size pool with plenty of seating (room a little hot - pool a little cold!)

Good range of food at breakfast - usual HIE choice plus a few extras - apple sauce, cake balls and danishes.

A 10 minute drive through historical downtown area to Falls park - worth a visit.

Plenty of shops and restaurants all close by.
Plenty of parking.

We were given a couple of bottle of water on check-in as recognition for being Rewards members - a nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls! I greatly appreciate your comments and want to thank you for your business!

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    43
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
25
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is a nicely appointed hotel, indoor pool, hot tub, and decent gym facility. Rooms are not recently renovated but clean with all the amenities needed. Hotel does have an odd layout and elevator system, best to ask which elevator take you to the right area as the levels are not all connected. Staff recognizes priority members and has excellent customer service. The people behind the desk are quick, efficient, and courteous. This hotel I located close to a plethora of restaurants ranging from chain to fine dining Italian/steakhouse. My travel plans were changed due to weather and they were more than accommodating. I had planned to call them after leaving a day early and forgot. They called me well after check out time and asked if I would be returning since the room was empty. I replied no and they were more than happy to remove the extra night fee. Will be back in 2 months. Fun Fact, Sioux Falls is 5 hours from Mt. Rushmore but you can drive thru the badlands to get there, this is my next road trip when out there for business.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our property! I greatly appreciate it.

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester,mn
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stopped for one night to meet up with grandparents for baby's birthday. (Equidistant for Rochester MN/Lincoln NE) the staff was so nice and helpful. Great location-close to all Sioux falls attractions and very close to the mall. Tons of food options within walking distance including the always yummy cracker barrel. Gas station across the street and wal mart down the road.room had a fridge and micro which is so handy. Breakfast yummy and plentiful like always. Only two minor negative things ...the pool towels were not replenished often and the front entrance was sloppy wet thanks to the melting snow. Overall a very pleasant stay for a great price. One thing to note.. if you're in a business executive room and have to make up the sofa bed, the bedding is in the kitchenette cabinets!! Would definitely stay again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for the review! I greatly appreciate it. I stopped in on Saturday night on my way out for supper and one of my front desk clerks mentioned that we were running low. It was only 8 PM, so that is a huge concern for a weekend. I did order some on Monday morning and they are due to be in by the end of this week. I hope you will come stay again when it's warmer and there is no snow...Have a great day!

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Airport shuttle service from Sioux Falls airport was great, the driver was personable and helpful. Check-in was a breeze and I was recognized for being a Priority member. Room was well appointed, comfortable beds and good pillows. Bathroom was clean and stocked. Breakfast offerings including hot and cold, good coffee and juices. Overall good place to stay, conveniently located near restaurants, other amenities.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our property! I hope you have a wonderful day, stay warm!

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Old feel. Bad lighting in the room. The heater took a long time to warm up the room. Good internet access and average breakfast. Water pressure was good. OK for a business trip. Easy trip to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry that you found our hotel average - at best. The owners, as well as our management team and employees strive to provide the highest customer service and a high quality product. In fact, our owners consistantly spend money on making our quality top notch. We got a new case goods last fall, and brand new 37 in and 40 in TVs two months ago. Our fitness center was remodeled last fall. We are planning on replacing our sofa sleepers as soon as our order is ready. Everything else was updated just under two years ago. We provide a large assortment on our breakfast bar, beyond what our brand requires. We were able to figure out from your name and location that you stayed in rm 306 and I did have our maintenance person, Greg, check out the heater in that room this morning. He did find an issue with the HVAC. Someone had went into the unit itself and changed the fan from automatic to on, which caused the heating issue. Thank you for bringing that to our attention. We will be sending you a gift certificate in the mail for a free night stay due to the inconvience that that may have caused. I appreciate your feedback and hope that you will become a loyal customer in the future.

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgis, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Because we were traveling on Christmas Eve, I wanted to make sure my two young children still had the "Santa Claus" experience. I contaced Mellanie, the GM of this property asking if I could mail some "santa" gifts that she could put in the room before we arrived. When we checked in the gifts were sitting in our EXTREMELY CLEAN room along with a letter from Santa that her staff had written. My girls were beyond excited!!! It was so special to them!!! Mellanie and her staff went above and beyond to make sure my girls had their visit from santa. I also wanted to say that we were traveling to Minneapolis on Christmas morning and Lance at the front desk was excellent. He gave us several recommendations of places to eat and things to see and do there. This entire staff was great. The housekeeper we saw on Christmas morning was so pleasant as well as the breakfast ladies. We appreciated this staff working on Christmas Day!!! Kudos Mellanie and staff! You guys are one of the best in the business!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for the kind words! It was our pleasure getting your room ready with your packages and a letter from Santa! We had a lot of fun coming up with ideas of how to make it look official! I appreciate the review! Mellanie Larson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn for business. Very friendly front desk people greeting you at checkin/checkout. Room was warm and comfortable when first walked in. Large room and had a great night sleep. Good breakfast and frienly breakfast staff. Good location. Will stay again when back in town!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpsf, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property. I appreciate the feedback. Have a Happy Holidays!

Mellanie Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall

Address: 2501 S Shirley Avenue, Sioux Falls, SD 57106 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Sioux Falls)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
#13 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls, a city rich in history and a regional hub for corporate and retail services. The history of Sioux Falls revolves around the cascades of the Big Sioux River. The falls were created approximately 14,000 years ago when the last glacial ice sheet redirected the flow of the Big Sioux River. With our hotel's convenient location, you will find us easily accessible to many attractions such as the Empire Mall, Sertoma Butterfly House and Outdoor Campus, Falls Park, the Washington Pavilion and Wild Water West Amusement Park. We are also conveniently located by many restaurants such as Ruby Tuesday and corporate locations such as banks, hospitals, Joe Foss Field Airport, and the Ivy Room Conference Center. Our hotel offers limited shuttle service to the airport and other corporate locations. While in Sioux Falls, make sure to sit along the banks of the mighty Big Sioux River at Falls Park, our city's namesake. While there you can check out the Horse Barn Art Gallery and Falls Park Tower. Welcome to Sioux Falls, the heart of America! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls At Empire Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.