We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Price Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Sioux Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Sioux Falls to your Saves list
Residence Inn Sioux Falls
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4509 W Empire Place, Sioux Falls, SD 57106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minnesota
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good Price Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

There are three Marriott properties next to one another, so if you're a Marriott person, lots of choices. The breakfast was their normal buffet but was nice, food was hot. They seemed very interested in that we were comfortable and had what we needed. The hot tub was nice. Our room was again, the typical suite. That said, it was clean, quiet and very comfortable.

Room Tip: This Residene Inn isn't easy to see from 41st street. It's tucked behind the mall. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    29
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
42
21
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Residence inn is very clean and the staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Stayed at the Inn because the mother in law fly's to SD every couple years. The Inn is located in the perfect location for shopping and food. Perhaps if we stayed on the top floor I'd give one more star on the rating? Till after midnight I could hear the people and kids above our suite. I suspect to save money they did not sound insulate properly? Next is a major deal. The internet sucked. Sold 5 bar connection signal but had dial up speeds. We couldn't netflix or hulu. When I pay $200 a night I expect a quiet room with high speed internet. I will not stay here again! I was to upset to eat breakfast so cannot comment. It did look like a good variety.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiouxFallsRI_AGM, Assistant General Manager at Residence Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to submit a review with us. I would like to apologize that your stay didn't meet your expectations. It is our goal to ensure every guest enjoys their stay with us and leaves with us as a preferred destination in Sioux Falls.

Just to address some of your concerns, I am sorry there was noise above your suite. Is this something that you reported to the desk? As with any hotel, there will be loud guests from time to time, but generally our staff does a fantastic job of addressing any noise complaints. I can also assure you that we did insulate properly and did not cut corners to save money. I believe that the approximate $2 million we just spent on our renovation shows all of our guests that we are dedicated to providing the best product we can for them. As far as your internet, I apologize. We have been working hard with our provider to get our services upgraded as we know that internet is essential for all guests, both short-term and long-term.

I would again like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. However, I am confident that if you would give us another opportunity we would be able to exceed those expectations as we did with many of the other reviewers on here.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Dan Meyer-Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stopped at this residence inn while traveling through on a family vacation and we got a large suite that had ample places for my 3 kids to sleep. We had a great time staying at the hotel. The room was really nice and the staff was great. The breakfast was slight above average for a Residence Inn. They served the typical selection of waffles, sausage, cereal, fruit, etc. The prices for our room were great when you consider that to feed my family of five breakfast costs at a minimum of $30-$40, and breakfast was included with our hotel stay. In addition, the large room meant that we didn't have to get two rooms. The ultimate test of whether of satisfaction is whether you would stay there again and without hesitation, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiouxFallsRI_AGM, Asst. General Manager at Residence Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. I am glad to hear that your suite accommodated your large family well and that you found great value in our hotel. I also appreciate your kind words about the staff and service. We are always wanting to make sure that all guests share the same great experience with us so your feedback is really appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

They offer good deals on their suites. Staff is very friendly. Rooms are clean and well kept. When we had a problem with a room (water leak) they were very good at making things right for us by reducing our bill and making sure everything was ok with us.
Furnished breakfast each morning was good. I would recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiouxFallsRI_AGM, Manager at Residence Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. We have recently put the finishing touches on our multi-million dollar remodel giving us the most up-to-date, best product offered my Marriott. We have a great deal of pride in our service and the work we do so I am glad to hear that was a big part of your enjoyment with your stay. We do apologize for any inconvenience the water leak had caused, but I am glad to hear you left satisfied. We look forward to your return trip to Sioux Falls!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We decided to try the Residence Inn in Sioux Falls even though we had read they were remodeling. We were not disappointed with facilities and were never bothered with any construction noise. Our room had been recently completed and was very nice. the manager's social hour was wonderful and the food and service was great. The hotel is a little hard to find as you have to wind around the shopping center and other hotels but we would return here if we are staying in Sioux Falls. Since we were staying on an e-certificate the price was that much more enjoyable. They should be done with remodeling soon if not already.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiouxFallsRI_AGM, Assistant General Manager at Residence Inn Sioux Falls, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
I want to thank you for the kind words. As you said, we have been undergoing renovation which we are hoping to finish up in the next 4-6 weeks.

We have put forth a great deal of effort and time to ensure that all guests have the same type of experience as yourself. A stay where great service, great rooms and delicious food are provided free of excess noise and any remnants of a renovation. I am so pleased to hear that despite the renovation, you still had a great experience staying with us.

Again, I want to thank you and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Sioux Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We recently moved to Sioux Falls. We needed a long term place to stay for the month of August while we purchased a home. We enjoyed our stay. Our place included 2 bedroom and 2 bathrooms and a kitchen (and 3 flatscreen TVs!). Breakfast was served downstairs each morning. Dinner was also served Monday through Thursday. We had the option of daily house cleaning. The room was recently renovated. They were renovating the 2nd floor during our stay. Coin operated laundry machines were available as well. The hotel was in a location that was close to the mall and other points of interest were not far. The price was pretty reasonable for a long term stay. The staff were very friendly as well. Overall it is a pretty good deal. Would stay here again and would recommend it to others. Thanks for the great service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This was our first visit to Sioux Falls. After a 13 hour drive we were welcomed with the smile and laughter of Jenn. She made sure we were aware of the complimentary dinner times and breakfast times.
Our room was very accommodating with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Extra towels were provided just as we requesting during reservations and everything looked great.
The first evening we had a business meeting. The construction workers had accidentally set off the fire alarm. Things were handled in a very orderly manner and the alarm was silenced as soon as everything was "all clear" so guests could get out of the heat and back to their rooms. (side note... We never heard or saw the construction but apparently it was there!)
Our second evening during dinner CJ was very helpful with movie theater locations and fun conversation. The dining room was kept very clean and the food was nice.
When traveling for a living we find hotels which are friendly and clean. We will most definitely be returning to the Residence Inn Marriott each time we stay in Sioux Falls!

Room Tip: The two bedroom suites are excellent for families and traveling business partners
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Sioux Falls

Address: 4509 W Empire Place, Sioux Falls, SD 57106
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Sioux Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a pet friendly and extended stay hotel in Sioux Falls, SD, we offer ideal comfort and amenities for your home away from home. The hotel is located off of I-29 next to the Empire Mall and The District entertainment venue. We are a 10 minute drive from many businesses including: Sanford USD Medical Center, Avera McKennan, Augustana College, University of Sioux Falls and the Sioux Falls airport. While staying with us, enjoy the local attractions and events of the area at the Falls Park, Sioux Falls Arena and Sanford Pentagon. Local sports teams includes USHL Sioux Falls Stampede, NBADL Sioux Falls Skyforce & the Sioux Falls Canaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sioux Falls Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Sioux Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.