We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Great, but not bad..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Carnaval Brazilian Grill

Carnaval Brazilian Grill
2401 S Carolyn Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57106-4302
605-361-6328
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Carnaval Brazilian Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 332 Restaurants in Sioux Falls
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: W Jeanne Dr
West Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not Great, but not bad..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

I guess I have have been spoiled, b/c I have been to the Brazilian steakhouse in NYC..

Carnaval was OK. The meats lacked the special spicing that makes the flavors really special. Many times the meats offered were so overcooked i could not even get anything cooked medium.

I suppose there is nothing better in Sioux Falls

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    28
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is a place where you can seriously overeat! As the waiters bring more and more meat around, you will be trying to decide whether you want more steak, pork or lamb! The salad bar is extensive as are the side dishes. Well worth the price!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, SD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Brazil, Here We Come”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Most restaurants serve the same old thing and when you find something out of the ordinary, you just have to try it out. Carnaval is such a place. Gauchos serve you a continual supply of meats that they cordially cut from skewers at your table and you must guard against too much food. Indicators at each table alert the waiters to come to you even though they're not usually needed. How about a dessert of deep-fried bananas?

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Sioux Falls!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I can't say enough about the Carnival Brazilian Grill in Sioux Falls, SD. You'll begin your evening with a properly trained server, who will provide excellent customer service and attend promptly to your every need. Starting with the salad bar, try the tomatoes and cheese, then don't pass up the pineapple mango dressing, it's fantastic! I typically skip the "hot bar" with mashed potatoes, soup, and whatever else they are offering and jump right from the salad to the Gauchos! Try the Parmesan steak, it's to die for! The house sirloin is also very good, as is the lamb, and the chicken. When the grilled pineapple comes around, TAKE IT, every time! Ha!


We seriously love this place, and try to spend as many special occasions dining here as finances permit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, South Dakota, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what you get”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The food was very good, when we got some. The waiters travel around the room offering entrees. We seems to always get the tail end of everything they had so it was kind of dry

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnaval Brazilian Grill also viewed

 

Been to Carnaval Brazilian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carnaval Brazilian Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.