We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4304 W. Empire Place, Sioux Falls, SD 57106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #16 of 48 hotels in Sioux Falls
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This SpringHill Suites is top notch. It has a modern, hip, clean feel to it. The beds are quite comfortable, and the overall feel to the room is spacious. The staff was also very helpful and friendly. Great location too - easily accessible from the interstate, within walking distance of the mall and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear EMarq,

I appreciate your wonderful review about the SpringHill Sioux Falls! Thank you for taking the time to let others know about your great experience, and I hope to see you back with us again when you are in Sioux Falls.

Sincerely,

Sara Lussman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    32
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
38
27
8
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This hotel was very, very clean. The bathroom fixtures were polished to a shine. This was the largest bathroom I have seen in a chain hotel and very modern. The room design was perfect for one guest or multiple guests sharing the space. The bed was very comfortable too. The hotel staff was very friendly and efficient. I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

The hotel is basically in the parking lot of the Empire Mall with shopping and restaurant choices just a few steps away.

Room Tip: The area is busy and congested near the mall so any room will have similar street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear BrendaG60,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us at the SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls. I'm so pleased you were able to enjoy our convenient location, spacious accommodations, and friendly staff. Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to having you here again!

Sincerely,

Sara Lussman
General Manager
SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed for one night on our way to the Black Hills, and were very pleased with our experience at the SpringHill Suites in Sioux Falls. The property is modern and well maintained, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was much better than any we have had at comparable hotels. We would definitely stay there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear nancyg,

Thank you for letting us know how great your stay was at the SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls! I hope that you had a wonderful trip out to the Black Hills and look forward to you staying with us again when you are in Sioux Falls next.


Sincerely,

Sara Lussman
General Manager
SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was our first road trip to Mt. Rushmore from Chicago and decided to stay overnight at the SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls. Finding the hotel off I-29 at exit 77, 41st Street, was easy, but getting to the parking lot around W Empire Pl on a private road by the shopping mall requires a sharp eye. The staff was very friendly and very helpful and check in was quick and easy. We forgot our toothpaste and they were very nice to provide a toothbrush and paste as needed. The room was clean, neat and very comfortable considering the outside temperature was in the 90's. Though our room faced the highway, we did not notice any excessive noise. The bathroom was very clean with fluffy towels and had a comfortable shower that did not seem to skimp on water pressure. The front desk staff was very helpful in finding directions and suggestions for dinner and attractions. The morning free breakfast was delicious with fresh fruits, breads, eggs, turkey sausage, waffles, oatmeal, cereals, yogurt, coffee and other items to satisfy any traveler. We enjoyed our stay for one night that on our return trip back to Chicago we booked another night. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our second stay at the hotel was a room facing away from the highway. However, we did not really no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear hamayama,

Thank you for your recent review on your stays at the SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the accommodations, friendly staff, and great new breakfast so much that you booked a second night on your way back from Mt. Rushmore! I hope you enjoyed your trip from Chicago and appreciate your business at our location; I look forward to your next stay when you pass through town.

Sincerely,

Sara Lussman
General Manger
SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was a one night stop over from the Black Hills to home. I found this hotel to be very modern and new (five years old). The pool area is really small, we walked over to the Courtyard right next door because theirs was bigger and they had a hot tub also. We also ate there as the Springhill suites has no bar/restaurant. They did have a nice breakfast in the morning though. The room was nice, we had a king with a pull-out couch. Roomy and clean. They made good use of all space in the room. Nice bath with shower stall, no tub. Staff was friendly. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear TravelfromDuluth,

Thank you for taking the time to let others know about your stay at the SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls. I appreciate all your nice comments and am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel especially the modern design, friendly staff, and great breakfast that is offered. Please come back and stay with us next time you are passing through!

Sincerely,

Sara Lussman
General Manager
SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
311 helpful votes 311 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night during a two-week road trip and it was excellent for our needs, particularly being a relatively new build. Though not downtown Sioux Falls, it is located in an all too typical American out-of-town commercial area with the Empire Mall within walking distance and a small number of chain restaurants nearby. There do not appear to be many hotel choices in the proper downtown district of Sioux Falls so this sufficed. The décor is modern and pretty minimalist in a good way! The room was very spacious and well appointed with an excellent, large shower room. The staff were friendly and helpful though the lady at Reception was unable to provide local maps and seemed unsure where to look, perhaps she was new. That aside we enjoyed staying and were pleasantly surprised by the variety and quality of the breakfast; it actually matched the photographs in the elevator! We walked to the Texas Steak House for dinner (see separate review), which was about five minutes across the large parking lots and was the only decent looking place to eat, within walking distance.

Room Tip: Just bear in mind that the hotel is not downtown per say but is next to the Empire Mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear travelpassion,

Thank you for taking the time for writing a review on the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Sioux Falls. It is fantastic to hear that our modern, spacious rooms met your needs and that our front desk team was able to assist you with the local area! We have recently changed our breakfast with many new healthy options so I'm glad that you enjoyed our offerings. Your kind words are much appreciated, and I hope you come visit us again when you are back in Sioux Falls!

Sincerely,

Sara Lussman
General Manager
SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stopped here on one night of a long road trip. It's a typical Springhill which we like because we have 3 kids and need the space.

Rooms are nice. Be advised that our room at least did not have a tub but only a shower. My only gripe is the shower was a bit dirty. There was some mildew and what looked like ground in dirt on the shower base.

Breakfast was good. It included eggs, sausage, fresh grapes and strawberries, ham, cheese, oatmeal, Greek yogurt, name brand cereal (including Kashi and Kellogg's granola), and typical breakfast breads and muffins.

Staff was fine but not overly friendly.

This hotel is a good option. We paid less than half what we paid for a nice as nice place in Rapid City, so we felt like we got a good deal here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear ProfandMom,

Thank you for your nice comments in regards to your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. I'm happy to hear you found great value in our property including the spacious suites as well as our new breakfast. Thank you for staying with us I hope that you will come back and stay again on your next trip to South Dakota!

Sincerely,

Sara Lussman
General Manager
SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls

Address: 4304 W. Empire Place, Sioux Falls, SD 57106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
#8 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
#14 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Sioux falls is new as of June 2008. With a modern new design, this hotel's guest rooms are 25% larger than a regular hotel room. Complimentary Breakfast, complimentary internet and 37 inch flat panel HDTV's in all rooms are a few of the amenities. With a fitness center, pool and a location adjacent to the Empire Mall, the SpringHill Suites is perfect for your families weekend getaway. Complimentary airport shuttle is also provided during certain hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.