We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4304 W. Empire Place, Sioux Falls, SD 57106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed for one night on our way to the Black Hills, and were very pleased with our experience at the SpringHill Suites in Sioux Falls. The property is modern and well maintained, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was much better than any we have had at comparable hotels. We would definitely stay there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear nancyg,

Thank you for letting us know how great your stay was at the SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls! I hope that you had a wonderful trip out to the Black Hills and look forward to you staying with us again when you are in Sioux Falls next.


Sincerely,

Sara Lussman
General Manager
SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    39
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
43
31
8
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was our first road trip to Mt. Rushmore from Chicago and decided to stay overnight at the SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls. Finding the hotel off I-29 at exit 77, 41st Street, was easy, but getting to the parking lot around W Empire Pl on a private road by the shopping mall requires a sharp eye. The staff was very friendly and very helpful and check in was quick and easy. We forgot our toothpaste and they were very nice to provide a toothbrush and paste as needed. The room was clean, neat and very comfortable considering the outside temperature was in the 90's. Though our room faced the highway, we did not notice any excessive noise. The bathroom was very clean with fluffy towels and had a comfortable shower that did not seem to skimp on water pressure. The front desk staff was very helpful in finding directions and suggestions for dinner and attractions. The morning free breakfast was delicious with fresh fruits, breads, eggs, turkey sausage, waffles, oatmeal, cereals, yogurt, coffee and other items to satisfy any traveler. We enjoyed our stay for one night that on our return trip back to Chicago we booked another night. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our second stay at the hotel was a room facing away from the highway. However, we did not really no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear hamayama,

Thank you for your recent review on your stays at the SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the accommodations, friendly staff, and great new breakfast so much that you booked a second night on your way back from Mt. Rushmore! I hope you enjoyed your trip from Chicago and appreciate your business at our location; I look forward to your next stay when you pass through town.

Sincerely,

Sara Lussman
General Manger
SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was a one night stop over from the Black Hills to home. I found this hotel to be very modern and new (five years old). The pool area is really small, we walked over to the Courtyard right next door because theirs was bigger and they had a hot tub also. We also ate there as the Springhill suites has no bar/restaurant. They did have a nice breakfast in the morning though. The room was nice, we had a king with a pull-out couch. Roomy and clean. They made good use of all space in the room. Nice bath with shower stall, no tub. Staff was friendly. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear TravelfromDuluth,

Thank you for taking the time to let others know about your stay at the SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls. I appreciate all your nice comments and am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel especially the modern design, friendly staff, and great breakfast that is offered. Please come back and stay with us next time you are passing through!

Sincerely,

Sara Lussman
General Manager
SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night during a two-week road trip and it was excellent for our needs, particularly being a relatively new build. Though not downtown Sioux Falls, it is located in an all too typical American out-of-town commercial area with the Empire Mall within walking distance and a small number of chain restaurants nearby. There do not appear to be many hotel choices in the proper downtown district of Sioux Falls so this sufficed. The décor is modern and pretty minimalist in a good way! The room was very spacious and well appointed with an excellent, large shower room. The staff were friendly and helpful though the lady at Reception was unable to provide local maps and seemed unsure where to look, perhaps she was new. That aside we enjoyed staying and were pleasantly surprised by the variety and quality of the breakfast; it actually matched the photographs in the elevator! We walked to the Texas Steak House for dinner (see separate review), which was about five minutes across the large parking lots and was the only decent looking place to eat, within walking distance.

Room Tip: Just bear in mind that the hotel is not downtown per say but is next to the Empire Mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear travelpassion,

Thank you for taking the time for writing a review on the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Sioux Falls. It is fantastic to hear that our modern, spacious rooms met your needs and that our front desk team was able to assist you with the local area! We have recently changed our breakfast with many new healthy options so I'm glad that you enjoyed our offerings. Your kind words are much appreciated, and I hope you come visit us again when you are back in Sioux Falls!

Sincerely,

Sara Lussman
General Manager
SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stopped here on one night of a long road trip. It's a typical Springhill which we like because we have 3 kids and need the space.

Rooms are nice. Be advised that our room at least did not have a tub but only a shower. My only gripe is the shower was a bit dirty. There was some mildew and what looked like ground in dirt on the shower base.

Breakfast was good. It included eggs, sausage, fresh grapes and strawberries, ham, cheese, oatmeal, Greek yogurt, name brand cereal (including Kashi and Kellogg's granola), and typical breakfast breads and muffins.

Staff was fine but not overly friendly.

This hotel is a good option. We paid less than half what we paid for a nice as nice place in Rapid City, so we felt like we got a good deal here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear ProfandMom,

Thank you for your nice comments in regards to your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites. I'm happy to hear you found great value in our property including the spacious suites as well as our new breakfast. Thank you for staying with us I hope that you will come back and stay again on your next trip to South Dakota!

Sincerely,

Sara Lussman
General Manager
SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was highly impressed by the large space each room had. The beds were comfortable and the furniture was well maintained. Front desk staff is friendly and welcoming. However, I did have one complaint. My friends and I stayed at this location for a small get together. Around check-out time, we started loading up our cars and needed to leave some items in the room. When we returned to grab the rest of the stuff, the cleaning service was already turning over our room. We hadn't even checked out yet. I appreciate the promptness of their service, but I thought it was extremely rude since we still had many things in the room.

overall, this experience was great, minus the service incident.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Tina C,

Thank you for your review on your stay at the SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls. I am happy that you enjoyed the large room accommodations and how welcoming and friendly the front desk staff was. I appreciate your comments in regards to your check out as I will follow up with our housekeeping team. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you back again!

Sincerely,

Sara Lussman
General Manager
SpringHill Suites, Sioux Falls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great staff, great rooms, top notch breakfast. Good stopping place! Good stopover place. Accommodated late checkin. No problems. Had King suite: pull out coach was what you would expect. Only big enough for one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara L, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Gshey,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments about our great staff, rooms, and top notch breakfast which is new! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for letting others know as well. We look forward to seeing you again at the SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls!

Sincerely,

Sara Lussman
SpringHill Suites
Sioux Falls
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls

Address: 4304 W. Empire Place, Sioux Falls, SD 57106
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
#13 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Sioux falls is new as of June 2008. With a modern new design, this hotel's guest rooms are 25% larger than a regular hotel room. Complimentary Breakfast, complimentary internet and 37 inch flat panel HDTV's in all rooms are a few of the amenities. With a fitness center, pool and a location adjacent to the Empire Mall, the SpringHill Suites is perfect for your families weekend getaway. Complimentary airport shuttle is also provided during certain hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Sioux Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.