We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem near the Badlands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Circle View Guest Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scenic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Circle View Guest Ranch
Save
You added Circle View Guest Ranch to your Saves list
20055 East Highway 44, Scenic, SD 57780   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wake Forest, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A real gem near the Badlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

Don't let the name ranch fool you. It wasn't a typical ranch but was a house specifically build for a B & B. It was still a fun place to stay and we would recommend it to people that want something different than a motel. The house had great views and a large seating area, a kitchen for the guests, and large game room with foosball, pingpong and games. There was plenty of room to spread out. We did not have any kids with us but it seemed like it would be a great place to stay with kids. We had the king size bedroom which was very nice. We did get to feed the donkeys that came by in the evening for a visit. The breakfast was great and we enjoyed it out on the porch. Any and Philip we nice hosts and we got to visit with other guest from many locations. There is not much in the area as far as restaurants so get something before you arrive.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    34
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
73
60
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Allendale, New Jersey
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

At the end of our extended family South Dakota vacation, we took a poll to see which place we'd enjoyed the most. Hands down, it was the Badlands and the Circle View Ranch. Nice new, clean sleeping quarters, hospitable hosts, chickens and burros, awesome breakfast...what more could you ask for?

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

Our recent stay at the Circle View Ranch though only for one night was pleasant, comfortable and made extra special because of the delicious breakfast and the opportunity to share our meal with people hailing all from over the country. Knowing that the Ranch was a bed and breakfast, I guessed correctly that there might not be shampoo, conditioner or a hairdryer, so I was not disturbed at all as were some of the earlier reviewers. Our room and bath were very clean and the long bench in our room made it easy to use our two large suitcases.

We flew in to Rapid City drove the approximately one hour to the Ranch and leisurely toured the Badlands. It was definitely a good strategy since we were able to see the sights and then attend a night presentation by the National Park ranger. Amy recommended the local eatery in the park area which was surprisingly good; buffalo burgers are available to the adventurous and more ordinary fare is there for the fainthearted. The next day we drove to Wall for the famous drugstore and then on to Custer which made access to Mt. Rushmore, the Jewel Cave and the State Park easy.
Due to time constraints, my only disappointment was that were not able to spend more time at the Ranch. I would have loved to have seen the donkeys and taken a walk down to the river.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

The Circle View Guest Ranch was conveniently located right next to the Badlands National Park. The ranch is perched on top of a butte which looks out over a river.... great for walking around and enjoying the scenery, especially when Hank the dog is your tour guide!

The breakfast was amazing! Our favorite part was the peanut butter granola and blueberry pancakes. This is the place to stay if you want to see Badlands National Park. There was WiFi available in addition to a computer in the common room.

We went through the park and of course stopped in Wall to see the drugstore. Recommend stopping at a grocery store in Wall before heading back to the lodge for a few reasons - you can pick-up carrots for the burros and get some snacks! The only negative was that the town of Scenic has absolutely nothing in it! We would recommend getting pizza in town instead of going to the only restaurant up the road.

Hank the dog and Cowboy the cat were extremely friendly and the highlight of our stay. Hank was the perfect tour guide and walked us down to the river. The burros did come up to the lodge at night and loved the carrott treats.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We had an absolute wonderful time at the ranch. The setting is beautiful. Rooms were very clean. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. My 8 year old daughter played Uno with a boy from Germany - he spoke very little english, but they got through the game with some giggles. It was one of the highlights of her trip. Some of our party stayed in the "Homesteader's Cabin" and loved it. Not for everyone - no electricity or indoor plumbing, but they enjoyed it.
We drove into Scenic, got a pizza at the Wagon Wheel Bar, not expecting much. It just might have been the best pizza in South Dakota! (I have eaten my share - my parents live there.) We brought our pizza back to the ranch, opened a bottle of wine and ate at the picnic table outside. As soon as we sat down, the burros walked over and watched us eat. The table is sitting on an aluminum platform, the burros won't walk on it. Very cool.
The only complaint I had was the lack of shampoo or soap in the room, and we really weren't shown around much - just kind of left on our own - which isn't all that bad....We will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

Beautiful views on the butte, can see for miles. Booked this room for something different and thought our kids 12, 11, and 9 would enjoy the room to roam after being in the car. The kids enjoyed the game room, computer, and games in the common living area. Our room was very cramped (5 in a 2 bed double) but clean and we didn't spend much time in there anyway. The breakfast was AWESOME, we sat outside and enjoyed the cool breeze and views. My daughter thought feeding the chickens was great fun however the burros stayed out in the field and we were told they only come up at night. So a bit disappointed about that since it is such a big deal on the website. Plus, I read somewhere on the website that you could "fossil hunt" and when I asked where to go, was told only professionals really find anything and you had to go way far away. I had really psyched up my youngest about this prospect only to find out that the claim wasn't really true. I couldn't find it on the website when I got back home so maybe they took it off?? Only compaints were: no shampoo or conditioner in the room, good thing I had some available. By the time I noticed, it was after hours and didn't know where to go or who to ask for some. Also, when we booked were told our 5th person could sleep on the floor and extra bedding would be provided. Not done and once again didn't know where to go to get help. After check in, didn't see anyone around. The only other thing was that they must have turned the A/C off sometime during the night and we woke up sweating and stifling in our room. After breakfast when we realized that they had the windows open downstairs, we opened ours as well. Wish we had known during the night as we would have slept much better. Other than these fiew minor things, we enjoyed our stay here. I just mentioned them because other reviewers state that this place is "perfect" but we did not experience that.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Missouri
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

We booked the Circle View for three nights mainly due to the great reviews found here on tripadvisor. These people weren't wrong! In fact, I'm not sure words can adequately describe how happy we were with our Circle View Ranch experience. If you want easy access to commercialized tourist-centered restaurants and activities...this isn't the place for you. If you want an authentic family vacation experience unlike any other...then book now!

Here's the short list of highlights:

fabulous views (the sunset during a thunderstorm was awesome)

out-of-this-world breakfast (the best meals we had the entire vacation, hands down)

game room (our boys, 7 and 5, couldn't wait to get there everyday and hang out with the other kids)

outdoor adventure (our two boys loved climbing the mini-mountains all around the ranch, next time we'll make more time for exploration and check out the river)

great company (Phil and Amy felt like old friends and it was such a pleasure to get to know the other guests from all over the country)

That is my short list of highlights...I could go on! We used Circle View as our home base. Although we did have to do some driving it was totally doable to hit the attractions in the Black Hills from here. Next time, though, we'll plan to spend more time relaxing here. Quit researching and book this place for your next SD vacation now. We'll definitely be coming back and bring our friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Circle View Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circle View Guest Ranch

Address: 20055 East Highway 44, Scenic, SD 57780
Location: United States > South Dakota > Scenic
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Scenic
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay with friends high atop our butte on our ranch that borders Badlands National Park. Clean, casual lodging in our 9 room guest house with full kitchen use, Wi-Fi, game room, AC and the biggest view in South Dakota! Rooms have queen or king beds and private bathrooms. Bonfires, ranch tours, homestead cabin and full breakfast served daily. Come stay with the local cowboys and make your vacation more memorable, you'll be glad you did. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Circle View Guest Ranch Hotel Scenic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Circle View Guest Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.