We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful find! Exceptional customer service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Gateway Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Gateway Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Gateway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1721 N. LaCrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful find! Exceptional customer service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

My husband and I came to Rapid City for a combined business/pleasure trip. We were originally booked at the Quality Inn across the street, as that is where his class was being held. We were not happy with the room there, so we decided to find another hotel. We happened to walk into the Grand Gateway first and were extremely pleased! Jeremy was our first contact at the front desk, and he couldn't have made a better first impression. He showed us an available room and temporarily held it while we canceled our reservations across the street. When we came back to book our room, he took almost 20 minutes explaining all the sights around Grand Rapids (there was no one waiting at the time, so he was not ignoring other customers). The rooms were clean and comfortable.

What really impressed us the most was the welcoming, friendly staff. Everyone from the cleaning staff, to the front desk, to the managers had a smile. We were not familiar with the area, so we were often at the front desk asking for recommendations and directions, and not once did we interact with someone who wasn't willing to take the time to help. Because of the helpful staff, we were able to see things we would have otherwise missed--like the Thursday night street parties downtown. (We were buying trolley tickets on a Tuesday evening, and a gentleman at the front desk let us know that if we went on Thursday, we'd be able to take in the weekly outdoor summer celebration---fun!) I really felt that the staff was not only concerned that we have a good stay in their hotel, they were concerned that we had a good stay in the Rapid City area as well.

My husband and I have both worked customer service jobs in our careers and know that all too often customers pass along negative experiences and keep quiet about the positive ones. We had an exceptionally good experience at this hotel and would stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    100
    65
    25
    36
See reviews for
128
108
19
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

We were thrilled with our stay at the Grand Gateway in Rapid City-as others have mentioned, the location is convenient and the staff is very welcoming and helpful. We loved the atmosphere of our clean, inviting room and our 2 kids were in heaven with the pool and great waterslide. The onsite Perkins -in which we ate at twice-had fast service and great food! We will be recommending this hotel to anyone we know of that is heading out on a trip to the Black Hills and we will be back-Thanks so much for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

My friend and I stayed there for 6 days. I cannnot say enough nice things about the hotel. First, the staff was very nice and very helpful with any questions we had. Second, our room was wonderful. Very clean and well kept every day. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel which is open 24 hours and also, the hotel also has its own coffee bar. There is also a nice lounge in the hotel when a cocktail is needed after a day of siteseeing. This hotel is also located close to the interstate , which is another plus. We would definetly stay here again and recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellsville new york
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

I was so glad that our group booked the rooms at this hotel....this hotel was above & beyond what I expected...the front desk personel was super, sales & housekeeping was great, all the employees made sure we had everything we needed, the beds were great, the rooms were very clean, and great place to relax. Perkins & Cheers was excellent, & it was great having them attached for room service. Shuttle took us everywhere we needed to go, never late, & always polite. I enjoyed the recommandations the front desk offer us while we staying in the Black Hills.
If you want a great place to stay, this is the place...I WILL BE BACK!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rapid city
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

1) My husband and I booked a room for our valentines get-away online. We were told the price would be $80 and we thought that was a pretty good deal! Once we got to the hotel, we were informed that the cost was actually $100 and that they had made a mistake. We decided we would like to cancel out room only to find out that instead of paying $100 and staying, they would add another $25 onto our bill. So $125 for a room we weren't going to use.
2) Next there was no remote in our room and when we called down to the front desk, we were treated very rudely....the man who can to our room was very unpleasant. We decided to not let it ruin our night and went out.
3) The beds were very uncomfortable that night and their "special pillows" only succeeded in giving my husband and I back pain!
4) We planned on having our 2 year old twin nieces come and swim in their pool but were told that they would have to sign in and that the charge would be $10 per child!!! They explained that it was for the use of the pool AND the slide, but the slide only runs from 5pm to 10pm and our nieces would be there at 9 am. The price did not change.
5) Lastly - and most disappointedly, a week after we stayed, we noticed a charge on our credit card bill for $275 to the grand gateway hotel. Wondering what the charge was for, we called and were told that it was for damages to the walls. For the wall paper on the walls. Livid my husband explained that there was no damage that that we spent very little time in the room.The conversation continued. The clerk also stated that "you didn't even sign a 'responsibly for waivers' agreement" which obviously wasn't given to us. Even though the agreement wasn't signed, the Grand Gateway Hotel proceeded to charge our credit card the extra $175. When we asked to speak to the General Manager, we were told that he was out and nothing more.
All in all, we would have simply decided to keep quiet and never visit this hotel again. But being charged $275 for a room that we thought would be $80 and wasn't worth $60 is ridiculous.

Do yourself a favor and avoid hassle on your vacation....DO NOT STAY AT THE GRAND GATEWAY!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelS.Dak, Owner at Grand Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2009
You see, what Im about to tell you, will enlighten what really happened. So what really matters to us, is that all our guests are treated equally and can fully enjoy their stay! I can’t say it enough, having a great hotel & personnel that exists to make sure your stay is totally taken care of is what really matters to us! And when guests come back again, again and again because they had a great stay with us, makes our day!

So with that, this particular guest(s) booked a Federal Government Rate ID REQUIRED over the internet, at check-in they failed to have proper identification. That is the reason for the rate discrepancy. Naturally, when checking-in we ask all Federal Government Employees for their Government ID and Government Issued Credit Cards. When they were unable to produce the appropriate identification they paid our “Best Available Rate” which was $20 more and what all other guest are happy to and easily pay; at this point they became frustrated and wanted to cancel. Interestingly, we can easily credit these adjustments back to the Guest when they fax or mail us a copy of the required identification.

It is our opinion that the guests went to the room and were angry about the situation. Threw something against the wall that punctured the wall paper and sheetrock, afterwards when they checked out Housekeeping noticed the destructive vandalism and reported the incident to management. None of the incidences was ever created by the staff. The Staff was simply being fair to all our other guests, treating them with integrity and respect they deserve.

So thank you for allowing us to fulfill and complete this concern. Allowing, other guest that are considering staying at the Grand Gateway Hotel, fully understand and know that it’s impossible to make sure everyone who stays at that Grand Gateway Hotel has an exceptional experience and that we really care about you and your time away from home!


Thank you,

Judd Uhre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosser WA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

We went to Rapid City to visit our son. Thought we'd found a good deal with this hotel through Expedia. IT WAS HORRIBLE!!! There were BED BUGS! We stayed one night and my husband woke up with a few bites. I joked that it was bed bugs. The next night we stayed , and in the morning he was covered in bites. We looked it up online, sure enough, BED BUGS! We checked out early, clerk could care less. They would not refund our third night reservation. Expedia did nothing either when we complained. We were never reimbursed for the night not spent there or the nights sleeping with bed bugs. Many phone calls to hotel management with promises to take care of things, and then never would call back. I would not stay here if it was freezing outside and it was the only shelter!!!!!

  • Liked — Nothing, all together worst hotel experience!
  • Disliked — Bed bugs
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelS.Dak, Owner at Grand Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2009
We totally got your story about bed bugs... We want to thank you for your comment we will look very closely into what happened, take the necessarily steps and ensure that this never happens. Our guest loyalty is our 1 one priority and we are 100% committed that everyone find our hotel totally satisfactory. Curiously, we recently purchased new beds and sheets.

Regarding value, we totally realize nearly all of the competition in our luxury scale hotel division is forced to pay expensive royalty fees to their franchiser, failing to compete with the streamlined value and service the Grand Gateway can best provide.

Our mission is creating a space where you can easily come and deeply relax, melting your stress away at the Grand Gateway Hotel. empowering you to enjoying the pleasures, treasures and gifts that travel brings into your life. Today, when you book your room, know you are in quality, comfort and value at the Grand Gateway Hotel.

We are doing everything their is to do, and if you have a request simply let us know at your arrival and we will totally accommodate you.

We exist to provide you with the environment to create a joyful, alive and delightful experience while you stay at the Grand Gateway Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

This was the last hotel stop on a girls' weekend in South Dakota. After a long day of driving all over Western South Dakota, I was glad to pull into the parking lot of this hotel. The location is right off the freeway, which is convenient.

Because it was cold and rainy, I might have been a bit crabby when we got to this hotel. I was a bit annoyed to find that the on-site Perkins was not accessible from inside the hotel. Instead, you had to walk outside in order to get there. Since we had to go outside anyway, we decided to head over to the nearby stretch of restaurants instead.

The room we had was two doubles. The decor was bordello-lite. It was a bit odd and made it a bit dark in the room. However, the beds were pretty comfortable. The bathroom was a bit cramped.

The hotel also boasts a water slide that was, unfortunately, not running that day. We peeked into the pool area, but did not see much action in there. If you have kids, I'm sure that it would be a hit. There is no breakfast with this hotel, but you can print off boarding passes in the lobby.

The hotel is about 15-20 minutes from the airport, which makes it a pretty good location. I'm not sure if I will ever return to the Rapid City area, but I would consider this hotel for a return visit if I did.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelS.Dak, Owner at Grand Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2009
Thank you for your comment and for staying at our hotel. I must apologize for any mis-understandings you have.

Perkins restaurant & bakery is connected to the hotel. You can find it right behind you when you come to check in at front desk. They are open 24 hours and famous for there splendid breakfasts!

Our pool area is so large that its know for the "quiet alternative" for families. The Grand Gateway Hotel is known for this because many families enjoy hearing one another while they socialize with their guests and watch there children roar down the 135 foot water slide. From what we have been told this simple enjoyment is unavailable in other hotels.

Yes, our hotel is centrally located to everything in Rapid City, from Mt. Rushmore and the black hills attractions, to the airport, From downtown nightlife & restaurants to wallmart & the Mall. We have everything you need! We even have totally FREE transportation!

Thank you again for staying at the Grand Gateway Hotel!

Judd Uhre,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Gateway Hotel

Address: 1721 N. LaCrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Gateway Rapid City
Hotel Grand Gateway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Gateway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.