We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Gateway Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Gateway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1721 N. LaCrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Wyoming
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

we enjoyed our stay. very clean, fancy rooms, the pool was very nice, we stayed one night and we enjoyed our stay, we would stay here again. We really like our room, it was big and the bathroom was clean,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    100
    61
    25
    36
See reviews for
127
105
19
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Having driven from Denver to Rapid city i was tired and wanted a cosy place to sleep and chill, This place is your destination let me tell you. A warm feeling is felt the second you enter the lobby. Friendly staff, great indoor pool and slide, great sized rooms and not too far from what you go to South Dakota for. The usual american chains are within a 5 min drive, also in my opinion the biggest Walmart I've ever been too is in this town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

The decor was interesting and the pool was great but I was over charged significantly from the quoted rate and the staff was less than helpful in sorting out the matter after numerous phones calls to managers. I would recommend you pass on this choice for hotels because it really soured our trip.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel was great. Swimming poo, Hot tub, Restaruent connnected to Hotel called Perkins. So good. Friendly people everyhwhere, Staff was great. Very close to freeway and shopping centers. Loved it all.

Room Tip: Great for kids also
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg PA
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Grand Gateway Hotel was recommended to us from another Military Reunion Group. We visited doing a site visit looking for the best place for our military reunion. We found it at the Grand Gateway. Bob Hodet, Director of Sales, could not have done enough for us in helping us make our visit eventful and enlightening. We felt it was the best location we could find to hold our reunion.. The rooms were very nice, bed comfortable, and it was a very homey atmosphere. The staff was helpful and made us feel at home. Our members should be very happy with this choice of reunion site.. We signed the contract and will have our reunion in September 2013.
Phil & Helen Perry

Room Tip: We had a 4th floor room. Very quiet. The Perkins Restaurant adjacent to the Hotel was a plus for b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmansville, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hospitality and great staff madeour reunion a memorable one. I would rate this hotel at the highest level to hold a group function. The names of some of the people that made this reunion great were: Bob Hodet Saes Manager & Shuttle Driver Karen Hodet Shuttle Driver Marlow Quilt-Chef, Chef Helper, Jessica-Helper atBanquet Leslie Sherry-Bartender at Banqiet and helped in the Kitchen.

Room Tip: CALL EARLY My wife has a slight handicap the staff gave us the 1st floor a shower bench,along with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Grand Gateway Plaza hotel was the best hotel we have ever used for a reunion because of the Hospitality of the Staff and their approach to meeting our needs. They went out of their way to make sure we had a great reunion.
Names of some of the People:
Bob Hodet Sales Manager and Shuttle Driver
Karen Hodet-Shuttle Drive
Marlow Quilt=Chef and everything else
John Horst-Chef Helper
Cory Roth-Chef Helper
Jesssica-Female Helper at Banquet
Darla-Bartender at Banquet
Leslie Sherry-bartender at banquet and helped in the Kitchen

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Gateway Hotel

Address: 1721 N. LaCrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Gateway Rapid City
Hotel Grand Gateway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Gateway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.