We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Gateway Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Gateway Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Gateway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1721 N. LaCrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Centennial, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Both myself and my wife stayed here in early October. The hotel is conviently located just south of I-90 and close to a LOT of conviences, Target, Walmart, shopping center, restaurants. The hotel lobby is very spacious with plenty of comfortable, inviting seating. Although the hotel is close to I-90, our third floor room was very quiet. Our room was nice and large with a spacious bathroom. Everything was very clean and maintained. There is a Perkins restaurant attached to the hotel. The bar was very nice with good service. If you are there for happy hour, you can expect discounted drinks, popcorn, peanuts, and a hot snack, bar-b-que beef sandwich when we were there. Good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    100
    65
    25
    36
See reviews for
128
108
19
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location. Tons of restaurants nearby. Also, there is a Walmart within two minutes walk. However, the rooms are not that great as advertised in the website. Old decor and not much of light in the room. The front desk staffs are not very courteous.
Comments:
1. There is a Perkins within the property which is open 24 hours. This is great, specially if you are travelling odd hours.
2. If you are visitng Mt Rushmore area, better avoid this place. You will be stuck in the downtown traffic for quite long time. I would recommend to stay in Hill City or Keystone area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Everything about the Grand Gateway Hotel in Rapid City, SD was excellent, from making the reservations, to their welcome, and businesslike way of registration, keeping the rooms clean, and the meals we were served for the 58th Fighter Association reunion were the best we have had at such an affair.
Our thanks go oiut to Chef Marlow Quilt, Managers and Hosts Bob and Karen Hodet, Banquet Captain Mike Vaughn, Bar Manager Brad, and the whole kitchen staff. The food was delicious, and served with style. Their care and concern for us as guests of the hotel was excellent,and we are very appreciative of that. Henry and Vonnie Meyer

Room Tip: All rooms we saw would be good for travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnellon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We recently attended a reunion of Air Force Veterans held in Rapid City. We stayed in the Grand Gateway Hotel. My Wife and I have travelled extensively and never before have we had such friendly, Thoughtful and competent service that we were treated to in the Grand Gateway. Bob Hodel the sales manager and parttime shuttle driver along with his wife who is a full time shuttle driver did an excellent job in moving us around the town. Marlow Hurst, the chef and more commonly known as the man who never sleeps, could be found working in any area of the hotel all hours of the day. Even so, he still found time with the help of John and Cory, his able assistants, to prpare food fit for a king. I would be remiss if I did not mention Jessica who assisted them at our Banquet. Darla and sherry who worked the bar while we were there also did an excellent job. Last, but not least was our housekeeper in room 218, whose name I think was Alecia did and outstanding job and was very friendly and helpful to both of us. Thanks to all of you for making this an unforgettable trip. Mac and Gert McCombs

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Leslie Sherry was vaulable to us for the functioning of the reunion at the Reception and the Banquet.
Bob Hodet, the Sales Manager made my job as Reunion Planner and President run very smoothly. I could not say enough about his efforts to make our reunion sucsessful.
Marlow Quilt was the Chef. He was like a magician with the appearance and taste of the food.
He also had the room and tables set up for each function, as well as the audio/video useage.
His two helpers were John Horst and Cory Roth. These two would anticipate what we want or needed before we would even ask. I can see why they where his left and right hands.
Darla kept everyone happy at the Banquet as the bartender and Jessica helped in the room at the Banquet with drinks, desert, and what ever else we needed.
I have never been so please.
I am going to recomment this hotel to another reunion I have an association with.

Room Tip: I do not believe it would make any difference what room you received. There were no compliants from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

It is a pleasure to review such a warm, friendly, clean, and courteous hotel as Grand Gateway in Rapid City, SD. My husband's Air Force Reunion was held there during the week of Oct. 2 through Oct. 7. When we arrived a gracious Bob and Karen Hodet was waiting and bags were lifted into the vans. From there we had warm conversation, sights pointed out to us, and information to aid our enjoyment. They had a room set up with tables for all those attending to just get together to talk and renew our acquaintances. The chef, Marlow Quilt, had beautifully decorated tables filled with aromatic and delicious food. His helpers, John Horst and Cory Roth were always "Johnnies-on-the-spot" waiting to serve us in any way possible. Jessica and Leslie always had a smile and offer to help. Darla is the prettiest and friendliest bartender that I can remember ever having. Bob and Karen were always available with the shuttle or whatever was needed to supply not only our needs but also our wants. I hope we go back there again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms had their own advantages. There was only one thing that bothered us until we realized wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a very nice attractive hotel. Our room was nice. It was very clean. No free Breakfast which is always a blessing.. We didn't eat at the hotel resturant. The Pool and slide is very open to the Lobby. WE didn't swim. WE usually do, but I just felt like we were on display to everyone walking in. I got our rate on Priceline for 50 dollars, so it was a good deal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Gateway Hotel

Address: 1721 N. LaCrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Gateway Rapid City
Hotel Grand Gateway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Gateway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.