We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is great but customer service needs help” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore to your Saves list
Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   445 Mt Rushmore Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Eco-Platinum Upgrade
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hotel is great but customer service needs help”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel was undergoing renovations at the time of my stay but my floor was complete and well maintained. The customer service was lacking basically due to poor training and the front desk staff were never looking professional. They never matched and you were never sure whom was whom. A bit confusing. The gift shop had nothing really in the way of gifts, it was more like a convenient store of such. But my room was great and updated. Great bed and interesting details in the room.

Room Tip: 9th floor rooms seemed to be the best
See more room tips
Green Features: They were noted but not sure how they help. I always do my fair share on the bedding side of things. But it looks as though the hotel is really trying to be eco-friendly.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karim M, Owner at Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your rooms and stay. You make a good point about the uniforms and who is whom, but at the end of the day, all the staff are empowered to take care of any of your needs.
We are hiring a lot of people as our summer season is about to start.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    154
    73
    26
    12
See reviews for
88
171
40
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caruthers
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The hotel has a beautiful lobby. Inlaid floor with Mount Rushmore and old woodwork. The room was something altogether different. The ugly mural behind the bed and the bright blue buffalo on the side wall is enough to give you nightmares. The bed had beautiful linens that didn't match anything else in the room. The bathroom had a chain mal shower curtain (yes chain) with a liner that was to long. And it was DIRTY. Not just a little hard water stains. It was Filthy. Housekeeping even left the previous guest razor cover in the shampoo cubby. The towels were nice and fluffy. But that could make up for the dirty floor and shower. My husband noticed the fire hose was missing for the fire hose box at the end of the hall. While checking out in the morning we expressed our displeasure with our room. And we shocked by the unconcerned attitudes of the girls behind the desk. If you stay here make sure have your shots and bring your cleaning supplies.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karim M, Owner at Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so sorry you did not like the decor on the 8th floor. Those rooms are designed for the motorcycle rider who travel a different road than most people. The wood on the wall with the hand painted buffalo on it is made from reclaimed wood at least 200 years old from Montana and Wyoming. The other mural is a picture of Main Sreet during the Sturgis Bike Festival with a Woman Biker. The furniture is painted with motorcycle paint and tattooed with local postcards. Harley Davidson corporate staff loves those rooms and the motif....Had you mention you did not like these high demand rooms we would have moved you to a more conventional hotel room. We have an entire floor dedicated to the motorcycle world. This area is after all, one of the best motorcycle riding area in the U.S. Again, please accept my apologies for not anticipating your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed here May 11 for 3 nights. Travelled with my son, his wife and 2 kids. We had adjoinung rooms. The rooms were perfect. Very clean and spacious. There are some renovations going on but it did not interfere with our stay. The restaurant is fabulous and a wonderful full American breakfast daily. It's location is perfect for driving to Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse and The Badlands. The staff is very friendly and very helpful! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karim M, Owner at Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Glad you and your family enjoyed your stay in the hotel. Comments such as yours are the reason we do what we do. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The landscaping works around the entrance and dislocation in the foyer were not encouraging. Our room on the fourth floor was large and quite comfortable, and the bathroom was large and functional. The decor was somewhat idiosyncratic, not to my taste and rather tired. Our sleep was disrupted by train whistles at about two thirty am, seemingly in the corridor outside our room. Breakfast was chaotic with three bus loads of tourists trying to access the rather meagre offerings.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the side of the hotel opposite the rail line that runs through town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Hotel was in the middle of construction but rooms were extremely clean, updated, and modern. The food in the restaurant and complimentary breakfast was also good with fresh fruit including papaya and pineapples. Wish I could see the hotel after renovations. I'm sure it would be even better.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karim M, Owner at Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. All of us are so glad you and your family enjoyed your visit to South Dakota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed here because it is the hotel the tour company selected. It appears to be the best hotel in Rapid City. However they are doing renovations and the hotel is messy and noisy. The breakfast which was included was very poor quality, and poor variety. However the rooms was clean and comfortable and the hotel is convenient to downtown. It is an Eco hotel so they are making an effort to do the right thing by the environment. Can be noisy at night as near railway line and near bars with music, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a. Rely renovated one
See more room tips
Green Features: A environmentally aware hotel doing lots to stick to their principles.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karim M, Owner at Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
I apologize for the inconvenience of the renovation. This winter has been long, wet and cold as such that I can not remember one this bad in twenty some years......This has delayed every outdoor project. As I write this response and the work is almost finished, It is looking spectacular.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut, USA
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I really didnt expect a lot from the Adoba Eco Hotel, and was really pleasantly surprized at how nice this place was. The rooms are real funky - but the staff shared with me many of the eco-friendly aspects of each room - and it really made a strong impression. Everything in the rooms is from recycled material or is eco friendly, or something that makes you say - that's cool. What made the Adoba special are the staff - they are so accomodating and everyone we met wanted to go out of their way to assist us. We also had a very nice lunch in the restaurant. When I return to Rapid City I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karim M, Owner at Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for your support. Isn't it awesome to find a place that is funky cool and super friendly?
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore

Address: 445 Mt Rushmore Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rapid City
#4 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#13 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adoba Eco Hotel/Rapid City is ideally located in the city’s historic downtown district, just steps away from popular entertainment options, boutiques, the President walk, and the new Main Street Square. The hotel features the 3-diamond Enigma Restaurant offering a New Fall Organic Menu. All rates include: a complimentary breakfast buffet. At Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore, we’ve struck an elegant balance between Earth-friendly and Big City Chic with our sustainable efforts, practices and newly renovated Floor. Additional upgrades include a new eco-luxury bedding package in all guestrooms, complimentary shuttle to and from the airport and local businesses and 15 Megs of High Speed Internet wired and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Rapid City
Mt Rushmore South Dakota
Radisson Rapid City
Rapid City Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.