We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore

Save Saved
You added Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   445 Mt Rushmore Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Eco-Platinum Upgrade
Ranked #11 of 52 hotels in Rapid City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“What a great surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I was traveling to Rapid City last week and a colleague recommended we stay at the Adoba Eco in downtown Rapid. What an awesome hotel. The decor is clean and modern. The beds were of the most comfortable I have ever slept in- anywhere. The room rate came with a great breakfast for free and I could not have been happier with the spot. This is now our standard for travel to the Rapid City area.

Room Tip: So hard to anticipate how good a room is going to be. This room was spacious, nicely lit as an eco f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karim M, Owner at Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Hi Steve,

Thank you for letting us set the new Standard for Rapid City. We are deeply honored. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    136
    60
    24
    13
See reviews for
85
151
36
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

First stay here during "Family Weekend" to visit our Freshman son at SD Mines, my parents had a room across the hall, we were on the 8th floor. Unique, clean rooms with SD photos and Harley Davidson mural in the rooms. Lighting was a bit dim (guess it's the "eco" thing), there were small "snake" lights available to read in a chair or in bed. Bedding was very comfortable and the staff was very pleasant. One 10pm request for an extension cord to connect a CPAP machine was immediately answered, the employee crawled around and successfully connected the machine. Breakfast buffet was good with hostess seating in a nice restaurant. Lobby coffee service during breakfast hours was "out of coffee" 2/3 mornings when I attempted to get "one for the road". The location is fantastic as you can walk to the downtown stores and restaurants. The bar offered live entertainment and a good happy hour, the gift shop/coffee bar offers extensive offerings including many made in South Dakota items. We did hear trains passing a few times a day which was not a big deal, the tracks are right next to the hotel. The shuttle service from the airport was great, the van was waiting for us when we arrived and the driver offered restaurant suggestions when asked and happily accommodated our return schedule. We will definitely return to the Eco Adoba for all future trips to Rapid City!!!

Room Tip: 8th floor was fine, train "noise" was heard from both sides which was not a big issue for...
See more room tips
Green Features: Unobtrusive. Pumps for bath wash/shampoo/conditioner distribute tiny amounts. Suggest offering a bath mat as steps to reach the dispensers are needed; the floor was slippery; I worried about my Sr. citizen parents falling. It was dangerous, will request a handicapped room next visit.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karim M, Owner at Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for expressing your high willingness to return. It is for sure the most important measure of satisfaction. We wish you lots of peace, happiness and love in your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed here on a recent trip. The hotel was nice and clean and the rooms were unique. Close to several nice places to eat and drink and a close drive to Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse. I would stay here again and highly recommend.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karim M, Owner at Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
You rated us 5 stars! it takes one to know one. You are five stars for us!
Thank you for the awesome review!
Best,
Karim Merali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We arrived at this hotel during the recent snow storm of October and they were gracious, helpful and accommodating of our stranded situation despite being stranded themselves, having worked over 48 hours straight! Fantastic location, great newly renovated rooms with all the amenities you need. Don't be distracted by the outdated outside and the lobby - the rooms are fresh, modern and large. The breakfast buffet is huge; the gym is small but has what you need; the location is prime for the city but also for the national parks and surroundings. The staff couldn't be nicer and the city is just full of wonderful unique shops/galleries, Presidents and restaurants. Makes a good base by which to visit both Mt. Rushmore and the Badlands NP. Was the best place we stayed during a 3 week road trip that included 15 States, 21hotels and 4000 miles. Outstanding - we appreciated their attitude, service level and value.

Room Tip: Some rooms have some funky decorations so look at the website first to know what suits you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karim M, Owner at Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Mafalda,
Thank you for the kind comments. Yes the recent storm in October was the worst snow blizzard since 1940! It was a difficult time for everyone stranded. Our staff will appreciate reading your praise of their efforts to make everyone comfortable. I am glad you liked our recently renovated rooms...I hope you will return to our area to witness the outside being transformed this spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendive, Montana
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My wife and I were in Rapid City for the Stomp musical, and stayed at the Adoba Hotel. Little did we know when booking the room, we had selected the PERFECT hotel for our stay. The bed was very comfortable. The amenities were terrific. Breakfast bar was delicious - and a big selection of items, many of them hot. Everything about this hotel was fantastic (except they could put a microwave in the rooms so people could warm up leftovers from dinner, and a pool would be nice). The reading light by the chair was very cool. The location....perfect! Only about a block from the theater (we had no idea beforehand!) and right on the City of Presidents sidewalk tour. Shops everywhere, including 3 or 4 Irish pubs! The price.....very reasonable for all that was included. We will stay here again, and again, and again!!!

Room Tip: We booked late and got a handicapped room. It was nice, but I would like to see some of the other r...
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally conscious. Pens are made from recycled paper and wood, shampoo is in a container to cut down on waste, etc.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karim M, Owner at Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
SurferCharlie,

Thank you for the kind response. We would love to host you again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had booked in here for 2 nights but due to the crazy blizzard that happened while we were there we ended up being there for 5 nights. I am soooo glad this was the hotel we were stuck in! The staff were absolutely amazing especially considering some had been there working for what seemed like 48 hours straight. The room was awesome and comfortable, the bar staff were really great too. (make the most of the happy hour) Everyone did an awesome job of looking after us all in a very testing time. The location is great with lots of places to eat and drink close or a supermarket right next door. I would absolutely stay here again if we ever ended up back in Rapid City and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: There were some trains that went past in the night so maybe a front room would be better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karim M, Owner at Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
You were part of our history those days! That was the worst Blizzard since 1940. I thought you should know that over 100,000 cattle have died and still counting , our golf course lost well over 500 trees and the list of damage from this blizzard goes on. Bet you have never seen snow like this before. Part of the beauty of the people that live here is they choose to be here. The rest is easy! it was our pleasure to be of service during this very testing time indeed....I am very proud of the staff ! Thank you for your wonderful and kind remarks . I know the team will enjoy reading it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore

Address: 445 Mt Rushmore Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rapid City
#3 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#12 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adoba Eco Hotel/Rapid City is ideally located in the city’s historic downtown district, just steps away from popular entertainment options, boutiques, the President walk, and the new Main Street Square. The hotel features the 3-diamond Enigma Restaurant offering a New Fall Organic Menu. All rates include: a complimentary breakfast buffet. At Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore, we’ve struck an elegant balance between Earth-friendly and Big City Chic with our sustainable efforts, practices and newly renovated Floor. Additional upgrades include a new eco-luxury bedding package in all guestrooms, complimentary shuttle to and from the airport and local businesses and 15 Megs of High Speed Internet wired and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Rapid City
Mt Rushmore South Dakota
Radisson Rapid City
Rapid City Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.