We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and smelled bad. No value for money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Rapid City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Rapid City to your Saves list
Motel 6 Rapid City
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   620 East Latrobe St, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Dirty and smelled bad. No value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Booked this the same morning because it was one of the few hotels available. Dirty room with linen that had not been changed. Dirty and with hair and stuff in beds. Husband talked to the receptionist and a cleaning lady came with him to the room with new linen. She said they change linen every third day (which I had already red on a note by the bed). But they don't seem to change them when guests leave! Husband went back with the dirty ones and asked for free wifi as a compensation. Worth about 3 dollar. Too bad it is not included. Back in room nice receptionist called and said they refund us the room fee. That was a really nice and appreciated gesture. However, floor was dirty and room smelled from smoke. Would not stay again and cannot recommend it, because this seems not like a mistake. Feels like they try to get away with such behaviour.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    23
    26
    20
    16
See reviews for
26
14
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

As soon as we walked in the smell of old urine knocked us over and a light in the bathroom was out. I called it in and someone came to our room with a bulb and bottle of room freshener. After an hour of being in the room with the air on high, it was still 90 degrees in there! We called that in and though they considered switching our rooms, they ended up just bring a fan. The fan rattled and didn't help with the super hot room! It never cooled off all night long! We awoke to 3 towels for 4 people (again Motel 6?), a filthy shower, no blow dryers left, and no hot water at the bathroom sink. Sure this place has been remodelled, but it's STILL a crappy Motel 6! Why do they charge so much for crap?? Won't ever stay at another one!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galva, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I stayed here for one night on our way to another town. I thought this place would be the same as the last place, but I was wrong. I had booked ahead of time and had asked for a fridge and did not receive one. They I guess didn't have any extras. Room was clean. Bed was worn out and hard as a rock. Room was small but bathroom large. To much noise outside, kids running around. Hard to get to. Felt like was at a apartment building. Didn't like the fact that had to pay for Wi-Fi. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Staff very friendly and accommodating. Room smaller than we usually get with Motel 6, which was OK, but definitely tight for 4 women with our suitcases. Outlets in awkward spots so it was hard to plug in all our chargers, would be nice if they added some lamps with the USB outlets. Shower needed a scrub brush to get around all the screw heads and into the corners.
Sounds like they plan on remodeling so some of these issues will be fixed then.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Another very good Motel 6 experience here. This Motel 6 must have recently gotten the big makeover, because my experience was definitely NOT like those of the other reviewers. The Motel 6s that have been given the makeover are really worth a stop. The made-over rooms are a bit spare, true, but they are so much easier to keep clean, and they look so fresh and cheerful. The bathroom at this place was rather large - no seeming reason for it, but we appreciated the extra space. The sink was outside the bathroom, the floors were that wood veneer stuff, the desk had only one chair and there is no mini-fridge/microwave (though I think you can pay extra for that). The location is slightly east of town in a complex of motels right off the highway. It was really easy to get to and despite the nearby highway, the night was quiet. There was one item in this room that I think every motel room should have: an entryway mat. No other motel we stayed at on this trip had one, and man! does it make a difference in keeping the floors cleaner. Without it, every piece of sand and gravel from your boots ends up on the bathroom floor. Yuk! The all-weather material entry mat caught everything off our shoes and the floors in the room remained clean and comfortable to walk on.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed in this Motel for 1 night due to my visiting Mount Rushmore with a tour company. It was rather costly compared to other places I had stayed but I thought it was worth it.

The room was spacious and clean, though I didn't like that you had to pay seperately for WiFi.

It was a comfortable stay and had no problems with the staff. Clean and quiet and a good night sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romania
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The property is located just off the Interstate, which makes it noisy. Rooms look old and the whole place seems worn out. As we were just passing through, it was decent, otherwise I would not recommend it to other travelers.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Rapid City

Address: 620 East Latrobe St, Rapid City, SD 57701
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Rapid City 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Motel Six
Rapid City Motel 6
Motel Six Rapid City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Rapid City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.