We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 East Disk Drive, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
2 reviews
“Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are from Texas and one of our destinations was Mt Rushmore. The hotels on the way here cost more and were nit as up to date and clean. I loved in door slide. The only thing I would change is more for breakfast to chose from. Awesome hotel We ended up staying 3 nights.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    34
    13
    8
    12
See reviews for
34
18
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

we are moving east and we stayed at this hotel it was comfortable and had a nice pool,the person at the desk was over worked with many problems and questions from guest so check in was slow also because of the bad weather of high winds we decided to leave early and the desk said we can eat 30min early but the next morning nothing was open not even coffee which they serve 24 hours a day so alot of people left without breakfast about 6 families

Room Tip: the back rooms are quietier when the wind is 30mph or more. Don't believe what desk says about e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We book with Choice Hotels because of my husband's business traveling. We booked this hotel for 4 nights, Wednesday through Saturday. At first arrival, I was happy with our room location on the first floor because we had front and back door entrances. The room was very spacious, lots of clothing storage, but almost more than we needed. The room was painted dark, and dimly lit. 3-way lamps only had 1 level lights in them and no overhead lighting. The noise coming from the hall was louder than some other locations. At times, it sounded as though people were in our foyer. Friday night got so loud, it sounded like people were dropping bowling balls on the floors above us. Maybe top floor would have been better?
The complimentary breakfast bar was good quality and quantity for the selection offered, but would have appreciated more than 2 cereals. Waffles were not offered until Saturday and Sundays. That was a good thing, because the waffle machine line stretched out into the hall on Saturday morning. For the number of hotel rooms, there should have been 2 machines.
All hotel staff were friendly and helpful. I felt sorry for the 1 desk clerk on Saturday evening. She had her hands full trying to answer customer check-in questions AND pool issues. 2 people on duty for the weekends?

Room Tip: 1st floor is convenient with outside and hall doors, but you will hear everyone else above you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Our family had 2 rooms prebooked. Upon arrival one of the rooms wasn't finished although they said it was. I came down to get the sheets and pillowcases that they claimed were made (but not in the bed).

I asked for a room away from ice machines as my son has Autism. Low and behold we were placed NEXT to the ice machine. Of course when I asked to be moved, I was denied.

The worst part about the SERVICE was after we left. Since we returned home, a few clothing items were left behind in a drawer. I spoke with HOUSEKEEPING who located them and needed to provider a CC number. When I called back the next afternoon the HOUSEKEEPING SUPERVISOR was out. For three weeks and many calls NO ONE would help.

I was told by the GENERAL MANAGER (Mitch) that only that one person could help me. He refused to look in the housekeeping lost and found (which Bree told me existed). Such poor service from a high ranking Manager.

My last call was October 1st where I was assured SOMEONE would return my call. That has yet to happen.

By now I highly doubt the items are still in the lost and found. What gets me is that your own General Manager refused to walk into the housekeeping office to physically look then take down my CC # so someone could ship the items back.

Such poor service and a serious lack of follow up.

Room Tip: 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

This was very nice--we had adjoining rooms and it worked out well. Nice Breakfast & breakfast room, but also handy to Denneys for a late arrival meal. Olive Garden was close to Freeway along with other shopping places. We stayed here while venturing out during the days to see Mt Rushmore, Sturgis, Bear Country and lots of other sites that we enjoyed on our trip from Montana with California relatives. I you have kids.. there is a great swimming pool with a slide that we even wanted to try (Senior citizens) but ran out of time. Nice stay at great rate with excellent confortable beds---Thank you!! wish all Econolodges were this nice

Room Tip: To get an adjoining room.. we were way down at the end of second floor.. there are workers staying h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

You can't beat the price for what you get. Very nice rooms clean fridge and microwave which is great for storing food if you don't want to spend so much money to eat out every meal. The continental breakfast was good can't beat free it was very busy Saturday and Sunday morning could use 2 waffle irons for sure! The pool was very busy Saturday night wouldn't have been an issue but parents were not watching their kids and the kids were climbing up the water slide I have a 6 year old so I was not impressed with the lack of supervision not the hotels fault at all but I am guessing when you stay at a less expensive hotel those are the type of people that will be there. I would for sure stay there again the black hills are very expensive to visit so it was nice not to have to spend $150 a night! Oh the staff was great as well very friendly

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

I spent three nights in room 208 and here are my experiences. Negatives: The ceiling construction is so poor that every foot step from occupants in the room above came through in loud squeaks/creaks. Housekeeping left behind a dirty towel on bathroom door hook from privious guest, did not remove after I left a note and on the 2nd day I got the floor supervisor to take care of it. Both blankets on the bed were dirty, numerous light brown stains, I called for replacements on my 1st night. Strangely, a 16oz. beer can was left behind in the bathroom vanity. Breakfast consisted of: 2 cold cereals,1 hot cereal, biscuits (good) and sauceage gravy (bad), hard boiled egg, breads/muffins (good), coffee/juice/milk but no tea or cocoa. Positives: The staff was friendly and aside from the one housekeeping issue, everyone was prompt to take care of my complaints. The refrigator has a nice freezer compartment. This hotel was not my choice and I would not have chosen to stay here, it something I made due with. This isn't a bad hotel, but many things could have been better.

Room Tip: Stay out of room 208!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 625 East Disk Drive, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Rapid City
Econolodge Rapid City
Econo Lodge Rapid City
Rapid City Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.