We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great interior, very loud” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   625 East Disk Drive, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #32 of 52 hotels in Rapid City
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great interior, very loud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The rooms in this hotel are awesome, very clean. The bathroom was huge, they had a fridge and microwave. The pool also looked awesome, it had a slide and hot tub. However, every time we went down there, it was filled with around 20 children. Also there were kids running around the hallways unsupervised, the walls were paper thin so we heard everything. We could even hear the bed in the room above us squeaking every time they moved around. In summary, the room is awesome but if it is busy beware of outside noise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. We do take pride in the cleanlinesss of the hotel as our staff does a fantastic job on that. I am sorry that you happened to be here when it was so noisy. One thing i could recommend is that on your next stay here we could put you on 3rd floor as it is much quieter thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    32
    9
    5
    12
See reviews for
31
12
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
136 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The manager of this Econo Lodge obviously takes a lot of pride in this hotel. It shows in how well maintained the property is and how frequently I see staff cleaning (for example ensuring that the floors are wiped as it gets wet with people running around after swimming and vacuuming of hallway carpets). It shows that the manager cares about the property. The fact that the staff are all very cheerful and polite is also a good reflection on the manager and suggests that they are actually happy working there. Even the maintenance staff were cheerful and usually maintenance staff have a tendency of being grumpy when you ask them to fix something. The outside of the property is also very nice and in the evening the blue lights give it a nice touch.

Inside, the rooms are also very nicely done with a modern look. The beds are comfy and the linen/blankets modern looking. The shower has good pressure and good spread. The bathoom is also modern looking. The big plasma TV is not just for show as the image quality is good too with good channel selection. The lights add a relaxing ambiance. Most importantly the rooms are clean.

Location wise its very convenient to the interstate, dining options, the mall and gas stations.

What amazes me most is the price. It is almost half the price of other hotels that are considered of higher "class". Its almost like you are paying double just so you can get a full hot breakfast at the other hotels!

There are some negatives to note however. The internet was unreliable. The wireless signal was strong and when you do actually connect the speed is good but unfortunately the actual connection to the internet comes and goes. I think it is because it is not able to handle the capacity. I say this because it is only in the evenings (when most people are around) when its unreliable. During the day the internet is excellent. I think the manager should seriously consider getting another provider other then Ethostream. The check in was extremely slow and it was kind of frustrating that only one staff member was there to check people in. The toilet and air conditioning also seems to let off an unpleasant smell.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rapid City. Everything is excellent about this place but it loses a point for the unreliable internet. There is absolutely no reason that you should have to pay over $100 for the quality you can get at this hotel. Other hotels could learn a thing or two from this place!

Room Tip: As usual if you are mobile, go for top floor if you are adverse to noises from the room above and mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We appreciate that you take time out of your schedule to write this great review. We are extremely proud of our staff and the things we have accomplished here. As for the internet we are definately getting that up and going properly. Again thank you look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The rooms have been renovated in the last year or so and were very nice. They had a good breakfast and a water slide. The price of the hotel was really great for all we got, but we were here after Labor Day so it could be cheaper than during the busy season.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We want to thank you for your time to write this review. We have made a lot of changes and really appreciate the awesome review and glad you had a great stay. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for the night (not our first choice) & were surprised to find a large, clean place a'buzz w/guests. Then my grandson saw the elaborate waterslide pool & there was no turning back. We found a clean, spacious room with two doors (bonus). Grandson loved the pool, grandma loved meeting the rest of the adults who were there for the same reason as me & we got a good night's sleep. Breakfast room was too crowded (tour busses) so we hit the road.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feed back. So glad your grandson loved the slide. I do appologize for the crowded breadfast area. We are working on a solution for that. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at his property twice in one month. First time we found the curtains let in a lot of light, bed not comfortable, lots of noise from room above and in the hallway. All made for difficult sleeping. Next time we asked for top floor. Noise was better but a/c blew directly at the bed and you could not adjust that. I will say the linens were very nice and room was beautiful. Employees were friendly but not efficient. Check in was agony. A little spendy for an economy hotel.

Room Tip: ask for 3rd floor to eliminate some noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I am glad that your tried the top floor as it is much quieter with no one walking and stuff above you. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback as this is how we can improve. Thanks again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

During a recent visit to Rapid City for work I booked a stay with econo lodge and had the Jucuzzi King Suite. When I got there it seemed that there was loud work going on in a room across the way and there was duck tape everywhere in the tub and on the walls. I am not sure as to why there was tape everywhere but I addressed the odd manner with the General Manager, Jamie, and she was an absolute wonder in helping me. I was very frustrated at what seemed like me being ignored and she was able to help out in the matter. My work has it to where I am constantly staying in new locations meaning several hotels, traveling all accross the united states, never have I had the opportunity to actually have a frustrating matter resolved and was wanting to go back. I now know that anytime I will be staying in Rapid City I will be only staying at Econo Lodge because of the respect and honor that Jamie held with her company. Wonderful staffing, loved the layout of the place, and won't waste time going anywhere else, as I know confidently I will be well taken care of here. Thank you so much. It is rare and far between to see such honest and respectful people. I appreciate it highly!

K. Darling
Digital Power System

Room Tip: Jucuzzi Suite is great, 101 is a corner suite, has great parking, and closest to restaurant and gas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
That is very awesome to hear. Thanks for taking time out of your life to give us such a fantastic review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedalia, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We recently stayed at this Econolodge (2adults,3children) and were quite pleased. You never know what you are going to get when you book online and I put a lot of faith in these reviews. The staff is quite friendly and helpful. The room was clean, nice bedding, extra pillows,decent furniture and a large tv, and they have in-room coffee as well as 24hr coffee in the breakfast area. Something I really appreciate. The bathroom was clean and modern. The 3story corkscrew slide in the pool is awesome for kids. Breakfast items included waffles, cereal, hardboiled eggs, toast, etc., the usual fare. The lady working the breakfast area was really attentive and hustling to keep the area and tables clean. I have absolutely nothing negative to say about this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We were close to the pool and did not hear any noise from it until we went into the hall. Ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara M, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much. We are very proud of our staff here. They take a lot of pride in their work. We appreciate you taking the time to give us this great feed back. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 625 East Disk Drive, Rapid City, SD 57701
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Rapid City
Econolodge Rapid City
Econo Lodge Rapid City
Rapid City Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.