We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real budget gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn I-90

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn I-90 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn I-90
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1550 North Lacrosse, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 52 hotels in Rapid City
Thornton, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A real budget gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

In the budget category - this hotel was a real gem. We stayed in one of their family "suites" for an incredible on-season price and enjoyed very comfortable, clean, roomy and well kept accommodations. Everything worked, everything was generous. The sound protection in the room was outstanding. The air conditioning was spectacular for multiple 105 deg F days in a row. The beds were adequately comfortable. The bathroom was perfectly good enough.

When I take in the context of price, location and season and add-in the value we received for the room, the building, the incredible breakfast and most of all the A+ friendly over-the-top service - this becomes a five-star experience for my family.

Greatest Pros:
* Service
* Price/Value
* Breakfast
* The rooms in general
* Location: The hotel is right in the middle of tons of nearby services and shops you might want to access. It's ridiculously convenient. Rapid City itself is a great "base" for a SD vacation.

Areas that could use some improvement:
* Pool: I can appreciate that there is no hotel budget for lifeguards and that the staff are very busy attending to guests... but when the pool is overrun by 10-year-old jerks who's parents aren't around and are running and canon-ball jumping into the pool from every direction, it's sort-of hard for anyone else to enjoy it. I'm not sure how a hotel staff would address this kind-of a sensitive issue without ticking off the families that were implicated in bad behavior but the other families in the hotel are certainly disappointed when they can't swim.

One more additional note: I can't say enough good things about every single staff person we encountered. All of them from the front desk through the maid-service seemed totally friendly, approachable, and committed to customer satisfaction in every way. I particularly enjoyed the kindly older lady (probably a property owner?) who walked around the breakfast area engaging with customers in a personal way.

I traveled with family this time for a vacation - boys 6 and 8, my wife and I, her parents.

Room Tip: Ask for the two-room suite - it's the best deal in the newest part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    85
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
111
75
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here, I liked that it was away from Mt. Rushmore as you did not have a million kids running through the hallways. The pool was cold but we loved the hot tube. The breakfast area was clean and filled with fresh food. The room was nice although a bit outdated. I would definitely stay there again.

If you want to see Mt. Rushmore at night also, it is 30 minutes away at the light show does not start until 9-930.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Decorations and quality are a little dated; noisy window-type air conditioners which were hard to regulate. Did not have a clean odor in room. Beds were of average comfort. Fair location to see Mt. Rushmore area. Stayed two nights.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Even though I live very close in Spearfish, South Dakota.. I stayed at this hotel last weekend after having a horrible flight experience in Minneapolis. Ended up calling off my trip and coming back home, and ride was not able to come back and get me until the next day so, I checked in here for some much needed rest.

Airport shuttle took me here in a breeze! Shuttle is not free though, cost is almost $9, but they will add it onto your hotel bill.

Hotel front desk staff was very nice. They could clearly see how exhausted I was and let me check in early at about noon! Hotel is close to many places to eat and also close to Wal Mart.

Room was very lovely. Clean and nicely decorated. Air conditioner was super cold! It was like heaven! Room had a safe in it, which I didn't use (tell them the next day and they'll take that charge off of your bill).

Pool and hot tub was very fun and relaxing!

Breakfast was delicious and well staffed. Such a huge variety of foods to eat. Surely something for everyone. Only complaint is they need more tables and eating areas! Place was packed!

Overall and nice place in a great location. Lacross Street is super busy, but I didn't hear a sound!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Our family stayed for two nights in the fine establishment. Breakfast was plentiful and well staffed. The highlight came when exploring the Black Hills, I could not find my new iphone. On the chance I had left it in the room, I called the front desk and Luke took it upon himself to check. Lo, and behold he found it, and made my day. Thank you for this service beyond the call of duty.
Mark B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Thought the hotel was great place to stay. The rooms and hallways were clean and nice. Breakfast was good and well kept/maintained. Pool was nice temp (kind of small, but that is my opinion). Definitely would stay here again!

Room Tip: A nice feature are that some rooms on the ground floor have their own outside door that you can park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

a fairly new comfort inn. Staff friendly and the typical continental breakfast. no complaints on this one

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn I-90? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn I-90

Address: 1550 North Lacrosse, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#6 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn I-90 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn I-90 is ideally located in the heart of town, just south of Interstate 90. This Rapid City hotel provides easy access to many attractions and events, including Mount Rushmore National Memorial, the Black Hills National Forest, Stage Barn Crystal Cave, the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally, Rushmore Mall and Reptile Gardens. Rapid City offers something for everyone, including indoor activities, outdoor recreation, museums, art and entertainment. The surrounding area is home to many annual festivals, art exhibits and events, including the Festival of Lights, Pioneer Holiday Traditions and the Black Hills Corvette Classic. Many restaurants and lounges can be found around Rapid City, including several near the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn I-90 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn I-90, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.