We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun local place with great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial House Restaurant

Colonial House Restaurant
2501 Mount Rushmore Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701
605-342-4640
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 205 restaurants in Rapid City
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Hamburgers, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: A family owned favorite for 30 years offering American cuisine for breakfast lunch and dinner. Be sure to try the South Dakota Buffalo, a delicious summer staple. Named ‘Best Favorite Restaurant’ by the RC Journal, the staff is devoted to community partnership and civic endeavors.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun local place with great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We actually ate here twice - once for lunch and once for breakfast. The lunch was good, but the breakfast was outstanding. Best cinnamon roll ever!! Our server (I think her name was Mikayla) was super friendly and very attentive. We had her both times. Lots of locals eating there which we took as a good sign. I would absolutely recommend for breakfast or lunch - I had a big breakfast with eggs, bacon, country fries and toast - and it was fantastic. The pies we had at lunch were also awesome (almond cream and sour cream raisin).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    200
    125
    48
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“A real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

No frozen crap here, everything was house made and delicious. Buffalo burger was yummy and cooked perfectly. Onion rings were sweet and cane with some of the best ranch dressing I've ever had. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Miami, Fl
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

"Don't judge a book by its cover" comes to mind. When we drove up to the restaurant it didn't look appealing but were we ever wrong! Their spinach artichoke dip was yummy. We had their flat iron steak, Bunkhouse burger, and ribs and they were all very delicious. They cook the steak and burger just the way you ask them to. You have to try the desserts...they are the best! We had the creme brûlée, triple chocolate mousse, and the chocolate hazelnut torte! Plus, the service was excellent and the prices were reasonable :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muldrow, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had dinner here since it was walking distance from our room. Dinner was excellent, breakfast not so much. Had the buffalo sausage, don't recommend it. Eggs were not cooked. Waiter for breakfast was more concerned visiting with a couple of the locals even though they were at the booth next to us and it was clear we were finished. Wasn't until I put my purse straps on my shoulder that he tore himself away to give us our ticket.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were in Rapid City and wanted a restaurant that wasn't a chain. I had seen the reviews and we decided to try Colonial House. We were not disappointed. Our waitress recommended her favorites and so 2 of us had the grilled Canadian Walleye. A huge filet that covered the plate. Another had the top sirloin very tender and was cooked just right. The buffalo flat iron was tender and cooked to a medium rare. The only negative was, we ordered the wild rice that was a tad undercooked and chewy. For desserts they have every pie that you can imagine. Since we had arrived late into dinner service they were out of the pies that we wanted to try so we settled on the peanut butter crunch bar and the revel bar. These were so big that we were able to munch on them for a couple of days.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonial House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Colonial House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.