We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial House Restaurant

Colonial House Restaurant
2501 Mount Rushmore Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 204 Restaurants in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A family owned favorite for 30 years offering American cuisine for breakfast lunch and dinner. Be sure to try the South Dakota Buffalo, a delicious summer staple. Named ‘Best Favorite Restaurant’ by the RC Journal, the staff is devoted to community partnership and civic endeavors.
Miami, Fl
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

"Don't judge a book by its cover" comes to mind. When we drove up to the restaurant it didn't look appealing but were we ever wrong! Their spinach artichoke dip was yummy. We had their flat iron steak, Bunkhouse burger, and ribs and they were all very delicious. They cook the steak and burger just the way you ask them to. You have to try the desserts...they are the best! We had the creme brûlée, triple chocolate mousse, and the chocolate hazelnut torte! Plus, the service was excellent and the prices were reasonable :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muldrow, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had dinner here since it was walking distance from our room. Dinner was excellent, breakfast not so much. Had the buffalo sausage, don't recommend it. Eggs were not cooked. Waiter for breakfast was more concerned visiting with a couple of the locals even though they were at the booth next to us and it was clear we were finished. Wasn't until I put my purse straps on my shoulder that he tore himself away to give us our ticket.

Visited June 2013
Thank SherryH334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were in Rapid City and wanted a restaurant that wasn't a chain. I had seen the reviews and we decided to try Colonial House. We were not disappointed. Our waitress recommended her favorites and so 2 of us had the grilled Canadian Walleye. A huge filet that covered the plate. Another had the top sirloin very tender and was cooked just right. The buffalo flat iron was tender and cooked to a medium rare. The only negative was, we ordered the wild rice that was a tad undercooked and chewy. For desserts they have every pie that you can imagine. Since we had arrived late into dinner service they were out of the pies that we wanted to try so we settled on the peanut butter crunch bar and the revel bar. These were so big that we were able to munch on them for a couple of days.

Visited June 2013
Thank katiesmom1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Colorado
Level Contributor
128 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Fun and tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The wait staff was very friendly here. The owner collects lots of different things, so lots to look at...home cooking...not overly noisy either...is in front of a Best Western, so there is lots of parking.

Visited April 2013
Thank Telkbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good old time dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The food is old school and mouth watering. The breakfast is the best in my opinion. The service is friendly and really accommodate kids. It's usually very busy, so get there at the right time or wait in line.

Visited December 2012
1 Thank StacyB622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonial House Restaurant also viewed


Been to Colonial House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing