We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and tasty!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial House Restaurant

Colonial House Restaurant
2501 Mount Rushmore Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701
605-342-4640
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 213 Restaurants in Rapid City
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Hamburgers, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: A family owned favorite for 30 years offering American cuisine for breakfast lunch and dinner. Be sure to try the South Dakota Buffalo, a delicious summer staple. Named ‘Best Favorite Restaurant’ by the RC Journal, the staff is devoted to community partnership and civic endeavors.
Henderson, Colorado
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Fun and tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The wait staff was very friendly here. The owner collects lots of different things, so lots to look at...home cooking...not overly noisy either...is in front of a Best Western, so there is lots of parking.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    143
    50
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Montana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good old time dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The food is old school and mouth watering. The breakfast is the best in my opinion. The service is friendly and really accommodate kids. It's usually very busy, so get there at the right time or wait in line.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

The entire staff was friendly and the food was excellent and a great value. But even better was the dessert selection and taste. The Snicker'd Pie was one of the best desserts I've ever had. The pies and carrot cake were also excellent. The server and manager even gave us a pie for free because of my in-laws 40th anniversary. This kind of unexpected kindness really elevates a restaurant from good or great to fantastic and memorable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I had better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We are on an east to west coast trip. Decided to have dinner here upon reading prior reviews. Usually the reviews are a good reference point but not with this restaurant. We had to wait 10 minutes even though tables were empty. Then we were seated right next to a very large group and me and my husband could not have a decent conversation without yelling at each other. So this is not a date night/evening place at all. I had the Liver and Onion with mashed potatoes and it was ok but not great. My husband had asked for water and a beer and we had to remind the waitress to bring the beer after 15 minutes. My husband had the salmon and a baked potato. The salmon was not fresh and i personally think chain restaurants do a better job. The baked potato was the smallest we had ever seen. We ordered key lime pie to go and the slice was literally a joke. We shared it because thats what we do but even for one person it was very very small. I would not recommend this restaurant and will not come here again if we come back this way.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“How many types of pie do you have?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Wonderful pie and superb bison burgers. Locally owned ad]nd run for over 30 years. A bit cheesy looking form the outside, but press on...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonial House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Colonial House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.