We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Food, Save Room for Dessert!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial House Restaurant

Colonial House Restaurant
2501 Mount Rushmore Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701
605-342-4640
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 219 Restaurants in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Dessert, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: A family owned favorite for 30 years offering American cuisine for breakfast lunch and dinner. Be sure to try the South Dakota Buffalo, a delicious summer staple. Named ‘Best Favorite Restaurant’ by the RC Journal, the staff is devoted to community partnership and civic endeavors.
Peoria, IL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Awesome Food, Save Room for Dessert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just left this place and couldn't wait to write a review. I had the best coconut cream pie, all made from scratch, that I've ever eaten. This place boasts of the best pastry chef in South Dakota, and I'd have to say that is probably right. The dessert case was full of so many different choices that I had a hard time choosing. The portion size is generous, so be sure to save room after your meal.
Dinner was quite good as well. I had the Blue Walnut Salad, and the smaller portion was just right, in keeping with my plan to save room for dessert. My husband had the special, which was barbeque chicken with their own barbeque sauce, baked beans, cole slaw and cornbread. He said it was all very good.
Their homemade breads are to die for as well. The offering this particular evening was salted rosemary, a sweet bread, which was served warm.
The waitress who served us was very friendly and welcoming and the service was great. No complaints on this one!
We will most likely go back for breakfast in the morning, we liked this place so well.
You can't go wrong with choosing this restaurant but you will have a hard time choosing your dessert. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    148
    53
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Reastaraunt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Colonial house was a nice restaurant in rapid city, great change from the big chains. Its a little pricey but the food and selection are great, They also have a nice bar area in the restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Service and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We enjoyed dinner at this busy busy place on a Friday. We got there around 5:15 to beat the crowd and glad we did because by 6 there was a line. Prices were in line. The 2 of us got out for $40 including appetizer and two entrees.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Quirky place with good menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

From the outside, this place looks like it would be your typical "denture haven" but the menu is surprisingly modern: walleye fingers, hummus and pita plate, spitfire pasta are all pretty good but I absolutely go here for the blue walnut salad with grilled salmon--always good!

There's a rotating selection of pies available by the slice. Sticky rolls are cookies are available in the front case to go (unless sold out).

Kooky Wizard of Oz decor is interesting, service is good. Nice place for families, can also accomodate large groups.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Kitschy and Delish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband ate here for breakfast one morning since our hotel did not offer free breakfast and was so enamored that we returned at night for dinner. He had the elk prime rib and I had a menu special. Our waiter was attentive but not overbearing and was quick to keep our water glasses full and even brought out more home-baked bread without us asking. My husband's steak was perfectly cooked and even my broccoli was not overcooked as is common in many restaurants. However, the creme de la creme was dessert. With over a dozen different pies to choose from, we each got our own slice: he banana creme and me strawberry rhubarb. I confess, his was better but both were exceptional. Go here for breakfast, lunch, or dinner--you won't be disappointed in the food, service, or price.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonial House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Colonial House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.