We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willow Springs Cabins Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Willow Springs Cabins Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Willow Springs Cabins Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
11515 Sheridan Lake Road, Rapid City, SD 57702   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Rapid City B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I rented a cabin for 6 nights on our recent trip to South Dakota (in early Sept 2012) The cabin we had was great for 2 people. It had amenities you would need. Coffee Maker, nice bed, dining table, microwave, dishes and utensils, couch, flat screen tv, etc. Outside, there was a porch swing, picnic table, hot tub and a nice yard area to look across the small valley into the forest. Like many other reviewers, we saw a lot of deer, birds and other animals. While being somewhat secluded, WSCBB wasn't too far from Rapid City and was a nice mid-point between the southern Black Hills attractions (Mount Rushmore, Custer Park, Crazy Horse, etc.), and the cool areas to the north like Spearfish, Deadwood, etc. Joyce, Russ and Phoebe (their doggy) were great. The cats (forgot their names) were cute and friendly as well. It was nice to have them there when we missed our cat and needed some furry time.

Now to breakfast. After running around for 12 hours each day and sleeping like the dead at night, we'd wake up to a tasty treat each morning, delivered by Joyce and Phoebe. My wife and I are somewhat picky eaters (she's a vegetarian, I don't like eggs, mushrooms, and other stuff). We gave Joyce this info and she adjusted the menu each day based on our picky palettes. We always had just enough food and coffee and her recipe choices always were filling but healthy as well.

While at the B&B, we explored the woods on the property. We took a hike along the abandoned railroad tracks one day, and went down to the swimming hole to lounge in an innertube, all by ourselves.

After long days, our evenings were spent drinking coffee, recounting the day's photos and activities while swinging on the porch swing. So fun yet relaxing. One piece of advice - either eat dinner before you return to the B&B or buy dinner and bring it back with you. Once you are there, you won't want to leave until the next morning. It's just hard to leave a porch swing.

Overall, our trip to the Black Hills area was even better than expected. There's so much to do and see, which made it tough for go-getters like us to stay at the Cabins during the day time.

Go now. Really. I'm not kidding.

Room Tip: If you have issues walking up fairly steep hills, don't go for the Frontier cabin. It's at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Carrollton, Ky
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We loved, loved, loved this place!! Two cabins in the woods, with great amenities, private outdoor hot tub, picnic table & chairs for relaxing, sipping wine, & watching the deer, turkeys, birds, etc. We stayed 3 days but could've stayed longer. Joyce & Russell are amazing, interesting, & caring hosts. Breakfasts are fantastic, delivered by Joyce each morning. A nice swing on the front porch & very cozy inside the cabin with everything one could need. We WILL return one day!!!

Room Tip: Great base location for all the wonderful Black Hills activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

This place is fantastic. My wife and I spent 4 days here and wish it would have more.

The cabin we stayed in is very private and features a hot tub right outside the front deck. The cabin overlooks a little creek and the beautiful surrounding hills.

Breakfast is delivered at your desired time and is amazing.

I can't say enough good things about this place - you need to go there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I am so pleased to have found Willow Springs Cabins. Planning a tour from DC out to the South Dakota plains, I love to find B&Bs where we can meet the locals and just relax for a few days - this we could certainly do at Willow Springs Cabins - thank you Joyce and Russell. The breakfasts were delicious (so much so, I asked for the recipes), the cabin was delightful and fully equipped and extremely comfortable, and the surroundings were beautiful. The extra bonuses were Phoebe, the Golden Retriever and the swimming hole - both a big hit with all of us.
Thank you again, Joyce and Russell for making our trip so memorable and special.
Amanda, Ian, Polly and Sean

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We rented both cabins for 2 nights on our recent trip to South Dakota and were "wowed" by how fantastic our experience was. The cabins were adorable; perfectly decorated with all of the amenities you would need. The location is secluded but is an easy drive to Mount Rushmore, Custer Park, Crazy Horse, etc. Joyce (the owner) was extremely nice and SO helpful. As an added bonus we got to visit with her Golden Retriever Phoebe (we are dog lovers and were missing our own dogs when we arrived!)
We had jam-packed our days with sites to see around Rapid City/ Keystone, but took a few hours one afternoon to just sit on the porch and relax; deer came right up to the area in front of the cabins to eat while we sat there. Breakfast was fantastic as well! A wonderful, wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bend, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

comfortable - cozy - private - peaceful! We stayed for 5 nights and it was just long enough to do all the touristy things and still have a little time for some R & R. Having a hot (delicious) breakfast delivered to your door was every morning was worth it's weight in (black hills) gold!! We loved it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We've just spent four nights at Willow Springs and can recommend it highly. It is completely secluded yet only about 20 minutes to all the services of Rapid City. In about the same travel time Sheridan Lake Rd. in the opposite direction takes you into the heart of the Black Hills and avoids all of the high traffic and "touristy" jumble of the other more travelled roads in the area. Joyce and Russ are born to the roles of B&B hosts, they're knowledgable about the area, keep the place in perfect condition and Joyce delivers amazing breakfasts in a wicker basket on her ATV. The sound of Joyce coming up the road to the cabin in the morning will cause a Pavlov's dog type reaction after a day or two. The talk of the night before was always "I wonder what's for breakfast?"! Our cabin was spotless and comfortable, a fine bed, decorated in an attractive mountain theme with ample outdoor furniture and a pretty adjoining garden. Phoebe, the young Golden retriever was a regular visitor, she is well behaved though. Days were warm during our stay but we never used the AC, the open windows and cross ventilation worked well as the nights cooled off quickly. We'll definitely be back, Chuck and Pam T

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Willow Springs Cabins Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow Springs Cabins Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11515 Sheridan Lake Road, Rapid City, SD 57702
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willow Springs Cabins, B & B has been graciously welcoming guests to their Black Hills Retreat for 25 years. Our family estate is surrounded by the Black Hills National Forest, we are secluded, quiet and very quaint. We offer two private cabins each with there own outdoor hot tub. Gourmet basket breakfasts are delivered daily. While it feels like you are a million miles away from daily life you are just minutes away from all the Black Hills attractions - Mt Rushmore, Custer State Park, Badlands National Park and the like. Come stay with us and experience the pleasures of Willow Springs. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willow Springs Cabins Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.