We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willow Springs Cabins Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Willow Springs Cabins Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Willow Springs Cabins Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
11515 Sheridan Lake Road, Rapid City, SD 57702   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Rapid City B&B and Inns
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We've just spent four nights at Willow Springs and can recommend it highly. It is completely secluded yet only about 20 minutes to all the services of Rapid City. In about the same travel time Sheridan Lake Rd. in the opposite direction takes you into the heart of the Black Hills and avoids all of the high traffic and "touristy" jumble of the other more travelled roads in the area. Joyce and Russ are born to the roles of B&B hosts, they're knowledgable about the area, keep the place in perfect condition and Joyce delivers amazing breakfasts in a wicker basket on her ATV. The sound of Joyce coming up the road to the cabin in the morning will cause a Pavlov's dog type reaction after a day or two. The talk of the night before was always "I wonder what's for breakfast?"! Our cabin was spotless and comfortable, a fine bed, decorated in an attractive mountain theme with ample outdoor furniture and a pretty adjoining garden. Phoebe, the young Golden retriever was a regular visitor, she is well behaved though. Days were warm during our stay but we never used the AC, the open windows and cross ventilation worked well as the nights cooled off quickly. We'll definitely be back, Chuck and Pam T

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed here for our first anniversary twelve years ago and it was love at first sight, and second, and many more to come. The setting is incredible with the seclusion, nearby creek with swimming hole, hiking trails galore, wildlife, and more. You are at the end of the road but at the same time just off the highway and close to the many Black HIlls attractions. Joyce is a devine cook and very well suited to the hostess role knowing when to be non-intrusive and when to be a friend with tons of information and informed opinions. The cabins are rustic but very comfortable as Russ is a master carpenter by trade and he has built and refurbished everything with loving care on this property that came down from his pioneering grand parents.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

My new wife and I came here last July and we absolutely loved the experience! One year later, we're planning another trip back to Willow Springs. The views, hikes, and service make for a superior experience in South Dakota.

Room Tip: If you're looking for the more private atmosphere, the Frontier Cabin is where you want to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoycePayton, Owner at Willow Springs Cabins Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for the positive review. We are looking forward to having the two of you stay with us again this summer. We can't wait to show you our new hot tub. It's wonderful under the stars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

This B&B should be at the top of everyone's lists. One of the most beautiful, charming, comfortable places we have ever stayed. There are only two cabins - we were in the Frontier Cabin which is up a small hill - well worth it for the feeling of complete privacy in beautiful wilderness. The cabin is decorated with such attention to detail and charm, and all the furnishings are so comfortable. They manage to pull off a rustic look without sacrificing quality and atmosphere. You are surrounded by trees, stars, and hills. The outdoor hot tub is AMAZING. Joyce and Russell are wonderful hosts, extremely knowledgeable about the area. The breakfast was delicious and delivered right to your cabin porch so you can eat it at your leisure. We cannot say enough good things about this place. We were kicking ourselves that we couldn't stay longer. It's just perfection, down to the tiniest detail.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Willow Springs is one of the most magical places! We felt instantly relaxed when we arrived after a long trip visiting family. We just didn't want to leave. If you need a place to get away from it all, it doesn't get any better. Same goes for the breakfast. What a treat!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuyFls, Ohio
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

We were here only two nights, but it was the best stay of our month long western trip. This is a good place to see Mt. Rushmore, Custer St. Park, Wind Cave and Jewel Cave. Usually, we are in no hurry to return to our lodging from seeing the sights. This was an exception! Hidden behind a rustic facade is a clean, cozy nest. We did not use them, but there is a TV and radio/CD player. We appreciated the fridge and microwave. We enjoyed the very private hot tub. It gets REALLY dark here and the stars overhead were beautiful shining through openings in the pines. Bring your sandals to cover the few steps to the hot tub. This is an exceptionally large property and the owner made some great suggestions for my early morning runs and for a hike with my wife. Each morning, the hum of an ATV engine signaled the approach of a wonderful breakfast. Joyce served stuffed french toast with meat, fruit and juice one morning and a delicious egg and artichoke dish the next. Joyce made accommodation for a gluten diet. Before our hot tub time the second night, we sat on the porch and watched a distant lightning storm as the sun set. If we get the chance, we will relax and stay for a longer time. Tip: because this is in an out-of-the-way spot, eat supper before you return from sightseeing. Nearest restaurants are about 20 minutes away. Joyce can make good recommendations.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoycePayton, Owner at Willow Springs Cabins Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Hello Ohio Friends! It is so nice to read your review on Willow Springs Cabins. I am truly happy that you enjoyed your stay here enough to share your experience with others. Thank You. The Frontier Cabin and the star filled sky is waiting for you to return for yet another peaceful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maiden, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Stayed here for a few nights, the Frontier cabin is amazing, seculded and so charming. The breakfast was great and on time each morning. Would recomend to anyone, this place is a gem!!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Willow Springs Cabins Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow Springs Cabins Bed and Breakfast

Address: 11515 Sheridan Lake Road, Rapid City, SD 57702
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willow Springs Cabins, B & B has been graciously welcoming guests to their Black Hills Retreat for 25 years. Our family estate is surrounded by the Black Hills National Forest, we are secluded, quiet and very quaint. We offer two private cabins each with there own outdoor hot tub. Gourmet basket breakfasts are delivered daily. While it feels like you are a million miles away from daily life you are just minutes away from all the Black Hills attractions - Mt Rushmore, Custer State Park, Badlands National Park and the like. Come stay with us and experience the pleasures of Willow Springs. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willow Springs Cabins Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.