We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So lucky to have found the Sweetgrass Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
9356 Neck Yoke Road, Rapid City, SD 57702 (Formerly Hayloft Bed and Breakfast)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 24 Rapid City B&B and Inns
1 review
“So lucky to have found the Sweetgrass Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

A friend and I were spending a week in and around Rapid City and looked for a Bed and Breakfast in a great location. We found it in the Sweetgrass Inn. We stayed in the Prairie Room which has two double beds and is very roomy, including the bathroom. Everything was clean. There was a great view from our window. Shari was a great hostess and breakfast was never the same but always very good! She enjoys spending time with her guests and we enjoyed talking with her over coffee each morning. Her husband Lee was also very friendly and we enjoyed talking with him as well. As I said, the Sweetgrass Inn is in a wonderful location. I would definitely stay here again if I come back to this area.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
47
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We just hoped to find something affordable during the bike rally, I couldn't believe we found an actual B&B with the most competitive prices in the area!

Sheri & Lee were kind & helpful with everything from suggestions & directions to printing our boarding passes, the room was quiet & cozy, the breakfasts were made-to-order every morning, & the location was perfect--in the middle of all the action, North to Deadwood & Sturgis, South to Mt. Rushmore & Custer State Park. I especially liked the easy access to the airport for our 6AM flight home!

This place felt like home on the first night, we really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, & we are already planning another stay!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our stay was most pleasant; firm beds and hot showers felt great after touring Mt. Rushmore, Custer, National Badlands, Mammoth Site, Devils Tower, Jewel Cave, Deadwood, Lead, Crazy Horse Monument and more! A hearty breakfast each morning served us well into lunchtime. B&B hosts, Shari and Lee, gave us helpful tips on best ways to tour based on our agenda - it would have been a disaster without their guidance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We went to see Mount Rushmore and experienced so much more. Sweetgrass was the perfect place to stay. The breakfast was delicious and a great way to start a busy day of exploring. Shari takes care of breakfast and Lee handles dinner at Shipwreck Lee's next door. Every morning both were at breakfast to chat and offer travel advice. They won't steer you wrong. Our room was very spacious and clean. It had everything we needed and more. Location is very close to all the great sites (and yes, there is much more than just Rushmore!). It is out in the country so every morning you wake up to a beautiful view. Highley recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Shari and Lee are welcoming innkeepers with good breakfast (pancakes are my favorite) and interesting conversations. Our room was light and airy and very comfortable. And well maintained. Loved the stay at Sweetgrass Inn and loved exploring. We could have stayed for a couple of weeks instead of 4 days.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I picked this place based off reviews from Trip Advisor, and I was very pleased. We stayed in the Meadowsage room, which was trendy and nicely decorated. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and the room very comfortable. You feel like you're staying in someone's really nice guest room, while still feeling like you're on vacation.

Shari cooked a nice meal and was willing to give us pointers about where to go. We stayed 2 nights and had a nice morning meal, chatting with another couple who was also staying there. I always like meeting others on vacation- you always come away learning something new.

There's a convenient common area where you can get brochures, store your food (like our leftover Little Caesar's pizza) and some tables on a patio where you can eat outside.

It's pretty remote looking when you pull up, but the rooms are very nice. Great place to stay. It is a little out there distance wise, but we go on vacation for peace and quiet, right? Glad I chose to stay there!

Room Tip: Meadowsage was great. Jacuzzi tub, on the first floor, and nicely decorated in aqua and brown color...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Shari and Lee at the Sweetgrass Inn were so sweet. Shari cooked us a delicious breakfast that we ordered off of a mini-menu. We stayed in the Meadow sage room, which was very pretty and comfy. But the biggest plus was the jacuzzi in the bathroom that was big enough for two. The only downside we experienced was that it was a little too far out of town to get delivery to the room, and the TV only got four channels, so we couldn't watch our basketball team playing in the playoffs! But it is a wonderful place to relax on a road trip, and it was a great value for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 9356 Neck Yoke Road, Rapid City, SD 57702 (Formerly Hayloft Bed and Breakfast)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's so much to do and see and Sweetgrass' location is very convenient - within 1-49 miles of all the Black Hills attractions. Sweetgrass offers you beautifully appointed rooms, many amenities, several breakfast choices every day (served over the course of several hours) and much more. We're 6 miles south of Rapid City in a little valley as you head into the Black Hills towards Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse. Each room has a private bath (some have a jetted spa tub), flat screen TV/DVD combo, coffee/tea tray, loveseat and a table with chairs and/or a desk. Your memories start when you check in to the Sweetgrass. When you leave, take with you pleasant memories of your visit to Sweetgrass and the remarkable Black Hills of South Dakota. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.