We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweetgrass most welcoming and centrally located to major monuments and sites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast
9356 Neck Yoke Road, Rapid City, SD 57702 (Formerly Hayloft Bed and Breakfast)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 24 Rapid City B&B and Inns
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
“Sweetgrass most welcoming and centrally located to major monuments and sites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our stay was most pleasant; firm beds and hot showers felt great after touring Mt. Rushmore, Custer, National Badlands, Mammoth Site, Devils Tower, Jewel Cave, Deadwood, Lead, Crazy Horse Monument and more! A hearty breakfast each morning served us well into lunchtime. B&B hosts, Shari and Lee, gave us helpful tips on best ways to tour based on our agenda - it would have been a disaster without their guidance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We went to see Mount Rushmore and experienced so much more. Sweetgrass was the perfect place to stay. The breakfast was delicious and a great way to start a busy day of exploring. Shari takes care of breakfast and Lee handles dinner at Shipwreck Lee's next door. Every morning both were at breakfast to chat and offer travel advice. They won't steer you wrong. Our room was very spacious and clean. It had everything we needed and more. Location is very close to all the great sites (and yes, there is much more than just Rushmore!). It is out in the country so every morning you wake up to a beautiful view. Highley recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Shari and Lee are welcoming innkeepers with good breakfast (pancakes are my favorite) and interesting conversations. Our room was light and airy and very comfortable. And well maintained. Loved the stay at Sweetgrass Inn and loved exploring. We could have stayed for a couple of weeks instead of 4 days.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I picked this place based off reviews from Trip Advisor, and I was very pleased. We stayed in the Meadowsage room, which was trendy and nicely decorated. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and the room very comfortable. You feel like you're staying in someone's really nice guest room, while still feeling like you're on vacation.

Shari cooked a nice meal and was willing to give us pointers about where to go. We stayed 2 nights and had a nice morning meal, chatting with another couple who was also staying there. I always like meeting others on vacation- you always come away learning something new.

There's a convenient common area where you can get brochures, store your food (like our leftover Little Caesar's pizza) and some tables on a patio where you can eat outside.

It's pretty remote looking when you pull up, but the rooms are very nice. Great place to stay. It is a little out there distance wise, but we go on vacation for peace and quiet, right? Glad I chose to stay there!

Room Tip: Meadowsage was great. Jacuzzi tub, on the first floor, and nicely decorated in aqua and brown color...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Shari and Lee at the Sweetgrass Inn were so sweet. Shari cooked us a delicious breakfast that we ordered off of a mini-menu. We stayed in the Meadow sage room, which was very pretty and comfy. But the biggest plus was the jacuzzi in the bathroom that was big enough for two. The only downside we experienced was that it was a little too far out of town to get delivery to the room, and the TV only got four channels, so we couldn't watch our basketball team playing in the playoffs! But it is a wonderful place to relax on a road trip, and it was a great value for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Sweetgrass inn B & B. It's very convenient for the sights around Rapid City, SD. Shari and Lee are wonderful hosts, and our room was private and very nice. Lots of choices for breakfast, and nice that one doesn't have to be at breakfast at a specific time - we had a 2 hour span in which we could show up when we wanted. We were very comfortable there, and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheney, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary, September 26-28. The Inn is spectacular. It's clean, inviting and very tastefully decorated. Sheri is the one of the most warmest, friendliest and accommodative people you could ever meet. She has a small but adequate breakfast menu and she lets you decide what you want to eat and it is cooked to order. My husband has a few food allergies and she was very accommodating with that as well. It wasn't any sort of big deal to her at all. Even when my husband asked for Potato Bread and she didn't have any, she had some for him the next day. And she's pretty flexible with the times, as well. She had no problem with making breakfast for my husband and me around 7am, while the other guests staying there, didn't eat usually until 8am-8:30am. And the location. We couldn't ask for a better one. It's so close to anywhere you want to go whether it be be a drive through the Black Hills, a tour of Mt. Rushmore, the Jewel Caves or the Wind Caves, it's in a good centralized location. It is just off of the highway but you really don't notice the traffic much. As I said, rooms are clean and tastefully decorated. Beds are extremely comfortable and the rooms were spacious. We stayed in the Rose of Sharon Room the first night and the Queen Anne's Lace room, the last 2 nights. The latter of which had the wonderful jacuzzi tub, perfect for those like my husband and I, who love to do a lot of hiking and exploring. We definitely want to return, as we ran out of time to tour the Bad lands. When we do return, we will be sure and make a reservation @ the Sweetgrass Inn. Thank You so much, Shari, for your generous hospitality!!! P.S. Shari is good with recommending places to eat or "play". She either has personal knowledge or can provide feedback from previous guests.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 9356 Neck Yoke Road, Rapid City, SD 57702 (Formerly Hayloft Bed and Breakfast)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's so much to do and see and Sweetgrass' location is very convenient - within 1-49 miles of all the Black Hills attractions. Sweetgrass offers you beautifully appointed rooms, many amenities, several breakfast choices every day (served over the course of several hours) and much more. We're 6 miles south of Rapid City in a little valley as you head into the Black Hills towards Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse. Each room has a private bath (some have a jetted spa tub), flat screen TV/DVD combo, coffee/tea tray, loveseat and a table with chairs and/or a desk. Your memories start when you check in to the Sweetgrass. When you leave, take with you pleasant memories of your visit to Sweetgrass and the remarkable Black Hills of South Dakota. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list